2013 P1 Registration Exercise for 2014 In-Take

3.7k Posts 210 Posters 739.7k Views 1 Watching
      lynn2009

miu miu:
      lynn2009:

Your friend is doing a good deed. Imagine all eyes were on the couples, so stressful. Did they manage to successful register for their school of choice?

Thanks, yes indeed. My friend decided to make things easy for everyone thus she decided not to withdraw from another school and go for balloting at the school she had registered.

wise move. :rahrah:

marzipan

marzipan:

Thanks! It's been indeed a roller-coaster ride for me... I didn't get my 1st choice sch in the end but I'm happy with my decision (albeit rather last minute) to put my boy into Alexandra Pri Sch šŸ™‚

I presume you don't have to go through balloting? I heard APS only requires balloting for PRs.

Yup no balloting for me. Thankfully!

patlsy79

marzipan:

[quote=\"marzipan\"]Thanks! It's been indeed a roller-coaster ride for me... I didn't get my 1st choice sch in the end but I'm happy with my decision (albeit rather last minute) to put my boy into Alexandra Pri Sch šŸ™‚

I presume you don't have to go through balloting? I heard APS only requires balloting for PRs.

Yup no balloting for me. Thankfully![/quote] :celebrate: no need to be stressed over the 6/8 balloting hor hehe...

manyoo692005

Congrats to all who were successful in getting their kids into their choice schools in P2C. For those who need to ballot, and there are many, all the best next Tues! :xedfingers: Keep faith and it is really not the end of the world if u fail to get in. Our kids can still do well in the other schools too given our support.

I myself was balloted out at 2B this year and wouldn't wish that on anyone. That is one of those low moments in life not having your number called. At 2C, due to proximity, I didn't even have a chance to try registering in the same school 😢 But with the network of info and sharing by all, I was able to get my DS into our backup school.

Thanks to Chief Kiasu again, :udaman: for his foresight in coming up with and diligence in maintaining this incredible website. It was here I managed to get my DD into her school 2 years ago. And here again, I had relied on KSP to strategize my latest registration. Like I said 2 years back, long may this website be around to help concerned parents make the right choices.

Thanks also to all the forum participants who shared info and figures so willingly and expeditiously. Your contributions are what keeps all of us informed and what keeps this forum/site alive.

manyoo692005:
              Thanks to Chief Kiasu again, :udaman: for his foresight in coming up with and diligence in maintaining this incredible website. It was here I managed to get my DD into her school 2 years ago. And here again, I had relied on KSP to strategize my latest registration. Like I said 2 years back, long may this website be around to help concerned parents make the right choices.

Thanks also to all the forum participants who shared info and figures so willingly and expeditiously. Your contributions are what keeps all of us informed and what keeps this forum/site alive.
              Thank you manyoo692005! Indeed it is really through the selfless sharing of parents that we can make a difference in other's lives. I have learnt much myself in this process. We are grateful to all our moderators and parents who are unselfish in providing real time information and clarifying doubts so that everyone can go through the registration process with their eyes wide open.

Aleixis

marzipan:
                Thanks! It's been indeed a roller-coaster ride for me... I didn't get my 1st choice sch in the end but I'm happy with my decision (albeit rather last minute) to put my boy into Alexandra Pri Sch šŸ™‚

Yup no balloting for me. Thankfully![/quote]

:celebrate: no need to be stressed over the 6/8 balloting hor hehe...[/quote]

Congrats Patisy and Marzipan!!! This is all OVER! :rahrah:

• anxious.01501dadA Offline
                  anxious.01501dad

Of the 27 planning areas that the primary schools are segregated into, it is interesting to note that only three areas do not have sufficient vacancies to fulfill the number of registration: Bukit Timah, Marine Parade and Serangoon.

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
                  1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
                  2\tBedok\t335
                  3\tBishan\t67
                  4\tBukit Batok\t208
                  5\tBukit Merah\t178
                  6\tBukit Panjang\t200
                  7\tBukit Timah\t-16
                  8\tCentral\t37
                  9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
                  10\tClementi\t46
                  11\tGeylang\t146
                  12\tHougang\t142
                  13\tJurong East\t88
                  14\tJurong West\t139
                  15\tKallang\t113
                  16\tMarine Parade\t-14
                  17\tNovena\t76
                  18\tPasir Ris\t290
                  19\tPunggol\t95
                  20\tQueenstown\t77
                  21\tSembawang\t165
                  22\tSeng Kang\t193
                  23\tSerangoon\t-54
                  24\tTampines\t334
                  25\tToa Payoh\t86
                  26\tWoodlands\t253
                  27\tYishun\t159
                  \t\t
                  \tAvailable vacancies for Phase3 =\t3866

• sembgalS Offline
                    sembgal

Aleixis:
                    sembgal:

[quote=\"absolut_vodka\"]I think we should push for schools/MOE to provide more information regarding the registrations at all phases, i.e. breakdown of SC/PRs, no of applicants in the 3 home/school distance category so as to minimise the balloting situation. I think most parents will make a wise decision to avoid balloting if given the necessary information upfront.

I give kudos to those schools who turn parents away if they expect overwhelming responses...

I agree with you that MOE should publish the vacancies breakdown according to <1km, 1 - 2 km and >2km for SC or PR who registered. It was a tedious process for parents like me to keep track and made the swift move to register in a relatively good school that requires no balloting. MOE should seriously consider implementing updating all primary schools' websites with the latest statistic figures. Otherwise the poor admin has to answer high volume of calls.

Completely and 200% agree!! The information provided by MOE at the end of each day is not relevant or adequate for parents to assess their chances.

Sembgal, good morning! The feeling that it is all over today is unbelievable right? All the stress, work and preparations leading up to this......took a few days for it to sink in that this is all and finally over![/quote]I slept well last night. Appetite also returned.

• sembgalS Offline
                      sembgal

anxious.dad:
                      Of the 27 planning areas that the primary schools are segregated into, it is interesting to note that only three areas do not have sufficient vacancies to fulfill the number of registration: Bukit Timah, Marine Parade and Serangoon.

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
                      1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
                      2\tBedok\t335
                      3\tBishan\t67
                      4\tBukit Batok\t208
                      5\tBukit Merah\t178
                      6\tBukit Panjang\t200
                      7\tBukit Timah\t-16
                      8\tCentral\t37
                      9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
                      10\tClementi\t46
                      11\tGeylang\t146
                      12\tHougang\t142
                      13\tJurong East\t88
                      14\tJurong West\t139
                      15\tKallang\t113
                      16\tMarine Parade\t-14
                      17\tNovena\t76
                      18\tPasir Ris\t290
                      19\tPunggol\t95
                      20\tQueenstown\t77
                      21\tSembawang\t165
                      22\tSeng Kang\t193
                      23\tSerangoon\t-54
                      24\tTampines\t334
                      25\tToa Payoh\t86
                      26\tWoodlands\t253
                      27\tYishun\t159
                      \t\t
                      The Serangoon area residents risk going for balloting at Rosyth. If they failed to get balloted in, their children will have to register in Hougang or Ang Mo Kio area.

sweetiepie

anxious.dad:

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
                        1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
                        2\tBedok\t335
                        3\tBishan\t67
                        4\tBukit Batok\t208
                        5\tBukit Merah\t178
                        6\tBukit Panjang\t200
                        7\tBukit Timah\t-16
                        8\tCentral\t37
                        9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
                        10\tClementi\t46
                        11\tGeylang\t146
                        12\tHougang\t142
                        13\tJurong East\t88
                        14\tJurong West\t139
                        15\tKallang\t113
                        16\tMarine Parade\t-14
                        17\tNovena\t76
                        18\tPasir Ris\t290
                        19\tPunggol\t95
                        20\tQueenstown\t77
                        21\tSembawang\t165
                        22\tSeng Kang\t193
                        23\tSerangoon\t-54
                        24\tTampines\t334
                        25\tToa Payoh\t86
                        26\tWoodlands\t253
                        27\tYishun\t159
                        \t\t
                        Just wonder why these 3 areas are not provided enough vacancies for kids living around there. Is it because vacancies are taken up by phase 2A or there is insufficient school to provide for the growing population? These kids have to travel out further for 6yrs of their education....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 312 / 374

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo