Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?
That goes without saying. The revamped will make parents more determined to give their children that extra push!
I guess school affiliation no longer matters then?
Technospaz:
I guess school affiliation no longer matters then?
Affiliated schools can still offer discount -
Since.kids.wont.be gauged relative to one another, all we see a return to killer papers? Easy papers will mean a deluge.of 4s?
Ikid:
:skeptical: then most of them will be wasting their money.Many parents will send their children to enrichment when they're 2-3 yo,
to have a headstart and to have more time to identify the child's
talent / potential? -
based on new scoring, to get into express means an average score of 65% and above. Is that equivalent to current times based on 200 T-score? I feel quite difficult to attain leh for 67% of the PSLE cohort (currently 33% are streamed to NA or below)
sembgal:
These updates will make parents extra kiasu. They will prep their children for DSA when they are in their early childhood and 不惜一切 to make sure the child will not be beaten out by others. This may implicate the whole system and changes could mean the primary school is revamping the scoring system. Very soon, the below 7 years old are going to get affected. The spiral effect that goes down. Wait and see what changes will happen to those below 7 in next 2 to 3 years.
The DSA is also under review as well and it will be likely done in line with the PSLE changes
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/direct-schools-admission/2676764.html -
I have read about the new PSLE /S1 Posting n would like to know - will there be any moderation of marks (no shifting of bell curve)as I see AL is based on raw score. If no moderation, the smart ones will definitely do better?
Yearly PSLE cohort of about 40,000 students on a range of 29 possible PSLE score range - on average, every score point has about 1,379 students :roll: That is not even taking into consideration the lower level range (28-32) may not have as many students, so the mid to high range may be having more students.
Now, consider that most mid to top school cohort averages around 400 per school, :yikes: ouch......I really foresee keen competition going forward!
:nailbite: (heng ahh.....over liao!!!
) -
Pen88n:
Actually I think we will end up depending on lady luck. If among those who get 4 points, then become lucky draw like balloting for flats. In theory, the new system makes it harder to differentiate the kids so it could actually pan out such that the 2021 top scorer may not get his first choice, unlike today.Yearly PSLE cohort of about 40,000 students on a range of 29 possible PSLE score range - on average, every score point has about 1,379 students :roll: That is not even taking into consideration the lower level range (28-32) may not have as many students, so the mid to high range may be having more students.
Now, consider that most mid to top school cohort averages around 400 per school, :yikes: ouch......I really foresee keen competition going forward!
:nailbite: (heng ahh.....over liao!!!
)
DSA via academic may be the loophole around this so hopefully they will put a stop to that.
Of course, they could muck it up like the 'O' levels and introducing more bonus points (take HMT ? -2 points, CCA distinction? -2 points etc). Given that in the new system, HMT only benefits those who want to go to SAP schools, I am hopeful this won't happen.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.