Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 519.3k Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

lee_yl:
      Thanks for the advice. I would also like to stay around my current vicinity too.

My current unit is 3+maid's room, I wound like a 4+maid's room. Not much choice over here as I have studied many projects in my area, majority are 3 bedders and 2 bedders.

For example Soleil's 4bedder, next to MRT but 99yr with a asking price of $3mil. At such a price tag, I might as well buy FH landed elsewhere.
      Btw, I have also checked Hillcrest Villas and was surprised to find that the current price was not very far from its launched price 10years ago. :scratchhead:
      99yr cluster 3000+ sqft, 5 mins walk to DTL Tan Kah Kee, with NJC, NYGH, RGPS all within walking distance. But problem is, for cluster housing, owner cannot tear down and rebuild unlike for other landed properties.
      go FH better la I think.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
        MrsKiasu

lee_yl:
        sleepy:

[quote=\"lee_yl\"]
        If there's no jam, it usually takes me 7 mins to reach school. On some days, I ask both to come back on their own or either one wait in the library to finish up her homework before I pick both of them up.

Luckily for our place, 5-10mins walk to MRT & 3 shopping malls. Dds are now old enough to walk to attend enrichment classes on their own, if relocate far, I must send/fetch. Same like you, our household also has only 1 car. Purposely one, to make DH walk to his office, not far from home.

Wow this is super ideal. You don't need to move at all leh. So convenient!
        Maybe you can consider buying a bigger unit within the same development?

Dh's office location is quite ulu. Definitely not within walking distance regardless where we shift to and I most certainly won't want to buy a house near his office 😂

Haha, yes, ideal location. And it's next to a reputable primary school with affiliation someone. So everything is within walking distance. But 人算不如天算, mine are all girls, the primary school downstairs is a boys school. 算了,留来给孙子用吧!

Btw, fastest way may be to rent out your current place and use the rental income to rent another place next to your DDs' sec sch for a period of time?[/quote]was blur blur when buy our place. not yet preggy so never thought of near schools also.but sleepy rent out her place, her heart will be very painful unless she is prepared to go for another reno when taking back the place.

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

MyPillow:
          lee_yl:

Thanks for the advice. I would also like to stay around my current vicinity too.

My current unit is 3+maid's room, I wound like a 4+maid's room. Not much choice over here as I have studied many projects in my area, majority are 3 bedders and 2 bedders.

For example Soleil's 4bedder, next to MRT but 99yr with a asking price of $3mil. At such a price tag, I might as well buy FH landed elsewhere.
          Btw, I have also checked Hillcrest Villas and was surprised to find that the current price was not very far from its launched price 10years ago. :scratchhead:
          99yr cluster 3000+ sqft, 5 mins walk to DTL Tan Kah Kee, with NJC, NYGH, RGPS all within walking distance. But problem is, for cluster housing, owner cannot tear down and rebuild unlike for other landed properties.

Is Yours a FH now?
          Hmmm.. if so really must think the pros to chg to 99 y LH for more living space ?

Heard rental now is alot of Indian nationals
          Tenants. If dun mind easier to rent out. Dh difenitely mind , he has a fren who told him his house need to re paint with special paint products to rid off those spices smell in the house 😞 two of my relatives just rent out their units to Indian national too - :gloomy:

Yes, mine is FH. As I don't intend to dispose off my current house and pocket is only that deep, thus, getting a bigger unit which is LH, I pay $500k-$1mil less leh!

Yes, need to think through the pros and cons. Just wondering if I had bought Hillcrest Villas 10 years ago and now only went up by a bit, after reno, maybe can't make much profit whereas other units could have increased 2-3 times in value over the past 10 years. So I am not sure if it is due to it being cluster housing or LH.

Actually for my area, I don't see a large Indian community here but more of Korean/Jap/angmos. If really rent to Indians I'm ok lah, because if I relocate, probably I won't move back for the next 20years or so. Want to rent out need to close one eye. Actually last time my Balestier unit rented to 3 Indian IT professionals, they were quite good actually. Worst is PRC. One of them smoke with the aircon on and windows wide open. Shortly, the room's aircon kaput! :faint:

• lee_ylL Offline
            lee_yl

MrsKiasu:
            lee_yl:

Haha, yes, ideal location. And it's next to a reputable primary school with affiliation someone. So everything is within walking distance. But 人算不如天算, mine are all girls, the primary school downstairs is a boys school. 算了,留来给孙子用吧!

Btw, fastest way may be to rent out your current place and use the rental income to rent another place next to your DDs' sec sch for a period of time?

was blur blur when buy our place. not yet preggy so never thought of near schools also.but sleepy rent out her place, her heart will be very painful unless she is prepared to go for another reno when taking back the place.

Ya, same here. Last time when I bought my place also blur blur one. Didn't really care FH or LH. Got primary school downstairs even better, I imagined my sons could go but too bad, mine all girls. Only thing in mind then was DH could walk to work cos if possible I don't want him to drive (later pick up other women how?) 😉

Reno ok, lah. Can get modern new look, fresh coat of paint, 香香的,so nice! Actually the best return is to rent out HDB and use the money to cover a condo mortgage. Sleepy, get a 2 bedder lah, next time 两老 stay in a smaller unit easy to upkeep. That's another alternative.

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

Saw one cluster (resale) housing over the weekend. I think in terms of psf, it is very cheap but maintenance fees are high at $1100 per month maybe bcos of a private lift in the unit and 2 mechanical car lifts in the cluster. The lap pool & gym are as good as not having any.

The owner is letting go at the launch price he paid for 8-10 years ago. So I guess cluster housing can’t make much profit??

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

lee_yl:
                Saw one cluster (resale) housing over the weekend. I think in terms of psf, it is very cheap but maintenance fees are high at $1100 per month maybe bcos of a private lift in the unit and 2 mechanical car lifts in the cluster. The lap pool & gym are as good as not having any.

The owner is letting go at the launch price he paid for 8-10 years ago. So I guess cluster housing can't make much profit??
                how about those don't need maintenance fee? it's a lot to pay.

• lee_ylL Offline
                  lee_yl

MrsKiasu:
                  lee_yl:

The owner is letting go at the launch price he paid for 8-10 years ago. So I guess cluster housing can't make much profit??

how about those don't need maintenance fee? it's a lot to pay.

Cluster housing usually comes with minimally a pool, gym, BBQ (limited facilities) and has a MCST, definitely needs maintenance fees. $1100 a month is on the high side, though.

sleepy

Freehold?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                      starlight1968sg

Referring to the recent article on some condo owners lose cool over air-con ledge space, are you ok with yours?

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

sleepy:
                        Freehold?

Yes, Freehold. 1km to SCGS/ACS. Next time can sell to those who want the address for P1 registration as these schools won't relocate anytime soon.

I think it's quite value for money bcos you are buying at the launch price a decade ago!! :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 113 / 260