Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
I just saw the photos of last night’s mini-run. What do you guys buy from Msia?
I don’t find that I buy a lot of Msian food produce. I can only think of lady’s fingers, tricolour capsicums, brinjal, ginger, french beans?
I don’t like Cameron Highlands leafy veggies, salad and cherry tomatoes or big tomatoes. I buy Jap / OZ tomatoes only. I also don’t buy Msia potatoes. I only buy US/Dutch/French potatoes. Sometimes I buy Indon potatoes…
We sometimes buy NZ okra, India’s okra/ brinjal or Oz aubergine/eggplant. I just discovered Ginger oil which saves me some time, so I don’t need stem ginger now.
All my leafy greens are 100% from China mainland and HK. I recently bought Thai short-stem kailan which is really delicious. I also like Kenyan long-stem broccoli from Dairy Farm supermarkets.
I don’t eat much Msian tropical / kampong fruits, except durians. I eat Sumifru bananas from the Philippines.
I only buy Seng Choon and Chew’s chicken eggs and quail eggs. I sometimes buy the white eggs, but I don’t know where they are from. I don’t buy Msian eggs from small provision shops, as I trust SG brands more.
The only thing that I am worried about is CHICKEN meat. As for other types of red meats, I buy Indon, US, Jap ones. My fish & seafood are from SG fish farms, Pacific, Atlantic, Jap and Oz/NZ. I don’t eat much Msian Ikan like kuning, toman, batang, ngor fish.
Fresh Milk - from Oz, NZ and Jap, so not scared.
Rice - plentiful from stockpile and Vietnam + Thailand
Yoghurt, cheese, butter (non-essentials) - From Down-under or EU
Bread / Noodles - We have a lot of flour sacks in our national stockpile. U can DIY! -
There are downstream effects when one supplier is down. Prices from other suppliers will go up.
I don’t really pay attention to where the food comes from, I shop mainly by price and, to some extent, quality. I’m unfussy, so quality probably isn’t a major factor.
I was at a Fairprice Finest this morning, stocking up a bit because my husband and I are going on a weekend staycation, and I want to leave enough "easy" things for my daughter. The queues were longer than usual, but the shelves were mostly well stocked though 2-3 types of veg were cleared out. I didn’t look at toilet paper, though! -
.zeit\" post_id=\"1967388\" time=\"1584417666\" user_id=\"171271:
Washington apples and Thai fragrant rice.
I just saw the photos of last night's mini-run. What do you guys buy from Msia?
I don't find that I buy a lot of Msian food produce. I can only think of lady's fingers, tricolour capsicums, brinjal, ginger, french beans? -
Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1967377\" time=\"1584414009\" user_id=\"15571:
chye tao kuey no eggs?
2 weeks later, want eat chicken rice - no chicken, prawn mee - no prawns.lee_yl\" post_id=\"1967371\" time=\"1584409959\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1967362 time=1584403298 user_id=43981]is this to take care of the recent event that may cause a big cluster in specific? if yes, maybe not so jialat? hopefully 2 weeks only

Think it was not that long ago we kena before, like eggs & poultry shortage...was it in the 200x?[/quote]Don't worry that eggs will run out cos can use powdered eggs. I am more worried poultry will run out cos I cook it almost every day. I have constantly stocked up a few packs which should last for about 2 months and replenish every other week depending on how much I have cooked. For vegetables, just use the frozen ones if fresh is not available. No prawns for prawn mee than cook 干捞面. If the Malaysia lockdown is extended then go on a 40 days fast. Wait a min, I started the fast 2 years ago but haven't completed it yet.
I guess from bz point of view, you try not to give too much opportunities for your customers to source from other suppliers ba… we may be inconvenienced a little now but we may have more lobangs after this?
Wherever I go, I see pple carrying toilet paper! The last thing I would buy is toilet paper.
I noticed toilet paper is important..esp when the kids are at home. We using up fast..need chop many trees
but most time 1 have quite alot of stocks..toilet papers/tissue papers/kitchen towels and wet tissues. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1967396\" time=\"1584419596\" user_id=\"43981:
maybe u have more female, i suppose leeyl used more too
I noticed toilet paper is important..esp when the kids are at home. We using up fast..need chop many trees
but most time 1 have quite alot of stocks..toilet papers/tissue papers/kitchen towels and wet tissues.
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1967397\" time=\"1584419928\" user_id=\"70594:
yalor you are right haha.. when buy online, need buy by carton of10 say for wet tissues..buy small one for outside usage and big one for home usage, more than 1 year of supply liao.
maybe u have more female, i suppose leeyl used more tooMrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1967396\" time=\"1584419596\" user_id=\"43981:
but most time 1 have quite alot of stocks..toilet papers/tissue papers/kitchen towels and wet tissues.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.