MOE says 15 marks of the Mathematics PSLE paper are challenging. So average students can only hope to score 85% max?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    128 Posts 23 Posters 40.2k Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2075548\" time=\"1658392751\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2075548 time=1658392751 user_id=53606]
      I do not know. It’s probably too “simple” for PSLE.

I could solve it in few minutes without prior exposure. DH could not. DS could not either. But now they both know how. DS could eventually understand the Hexagon but not skii’s “intersecting” theorem.

Exposure is fine but there is no end to it if u want to keep chasing such qns, which may not come out in the end.[/quote]
      A lot of this is whether you \"see\" it, or have the mental nimbleness to figure things out quickly under exam conditions. Practice can help, but only to the same or similar questions. For questions that are less similar, it depends on whether the person's mind has the ability to extrapolate that way of thinking and \"seeing\" to different applications, and this varies widely and is largely inborn. And I'm sure MOE exam setters will try to keep developing \"less similar\" questions, because they know tthat many kids will be asked to practise every question that has appeared in the past.

Again, I would say that how much prep and exposure you want to give the student depends on his ability. If the student is coping well with the 85% less-challenging questions, then by all means expose him to more difficult questions to stretch him. But one who is still struggling with the 85% would do better to focus on those - some exposure to challenging questions is fine, but it could be discouraging and the time and energy could be better used.

Mr.025413Clumsy

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2075548\" time=\"1658392751\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2075548 time=1658392751 user_id=53606]
        I do not know. It’s probably too “simple” for PSLE.

I could solve it in few minutes without prior exposure. DH could not. DS could not either. But now they both know how. DS could eventually understand the Hexagon but not skii’s “intersecting” theorem.

Exposure is fine but there is no end to it if u want to keep chasing such qns, which may not come out in the end.[/quote]
        Mr.Clumsy couldn't either so Mr.Clumsy is glad that Mr.Clumsy isn't taking the PSLE.

• Imp75I Offline
          Imp75

I also dunno how to solve zacmummy question hahaha…old liao don’t wanna use my brain too much…

• eurostarE Offline
            eurostar

naturally lah ...15 marks gone + few careless (hopefully not) still got AL3-4 mah

with DSA still manageable to squeeze through for most here 😄

cpcm9

tinker_bell\" post_id=\"2074597\" time=\"1657869767\" user_id=\"194652:

Please share TIA 🤗 !

I wish to boost my kid's problem solving ability and confidence for those 4-mark and 5-mark type of difficult PSLE maths questions.

I have already bought the https://www.ammielwan.com.sg/publications-1 from Ammiel wan math academy. The solutions are clear and give step by step instructions. My kid enjoys the challenge and requested for more similar practice.

https://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/attachments/1467959554830-jpg.646383/\">

I am also trying to buy the http://www.nicklebeetutors.com/p/math-resources.html p5 & p6 notes. The picture is from @mummyof3angels who has already sold her copy. Can't find on Carousell too. I called Nicklebee tutors but they don't sell to non-students. If anyone has a copy for sale please let me know.

https://i.imgur.com/nzIgKh6.jpg\">
              Where to buy this \"NickleBee Math Worksheet Set\"?
              Tks!

• eurostarE Offline
                eurostar

think too late to buy now imo

this few days prepare for oral

than just practice what is remaining paper bah

this year full syllabus tested

hope setter dun come out funny funny questions haha

• tinker_bellT Offline
                  tinker_bell

https://i.imgur.com/g4gSGM3.jpg\">

Heard that 2022 PSLE mathematics exam was very manageable with no major surprises. I think Ivan and Helen both went on a holiday liao lor..... 😆

• tinker_bellT Offline
                    tinker_bell

Saw that the parent groupchats were discussing about there being a pattern to which year's PSLE mathematics examination is challenging or easy. Would you agree?

2017 - Challenging ( example ; Ribbon question )
                    2018 - Easy
                    2019 - Challenging ( example : Semicircle question )
                    2020 - Easy
                    2021 - Challenging ( example : Ivan & Helen question)
                    2022 - Easy
                    2023 - ???

mifffy80

I am signing for Bluetree Centre for science and maths. There is a referral discount - referrer and referee will receive one free lesson each.

Pls email me at [email protected] if u can refer!

Thanks very much 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 13