Hehehe.. But some chengyu I see already also blur. Too cheem... Now dd's moxie some words also got to ask dh.
Chinese powderful is very good. Won't get suan-ed in public forums, haha.Happy Mama:
Me ah... quite balanced, since I got same grades for both Chinese and GP during A-levels (though like I mentioned, I don't know how I got distinction for Chinese).
I was just plain lucky!
Lizhi,
I am just wondering since CA1 will be tested till 第五课, do they have to do 习字 for 第五课. According to my dd, teacher told them to stop writing at 第四课. Next week, they will be having 听写/默写 on 第五课 so I find it strange that if usually the words were being reinforced by writing in their 习字 before 听写, why didn’t they have to do it for 第五课?
Btw, how did your dd find the Science Quiz on Monday? Do you think that they were sufficiently equipped by the teacher (not the parents) to attempt the Quiz? My dd said that some of the questions were not exactly taught by the teacher but she could do them because of the "work" she did at home. -
E3:
some of the questions were not exactly taught by the teacher but she could do them because of the \"work\" she did at home.
This is certainly not unusual. Every subj has at least 10% out of textbook/classroom teaching. -
Hi Mummies,
Son has this new thing in his CL activity book…actually not exactly new.
He has to find a 词语 from the passage…it’s so stupid bcos the passage is so long and I have problems finding it, let alone a kid. Can’t MOE indicate the paragraph to find the 词语 ? :x :x
We struggle with this all the time, in the end I tell my son to write anything since I simply can’t locate it. This is CHINESE. -
You are right. Perhaps it's easier to accept that fact for other subjects. Science is a subject that requires a lot of information, but with just 3 periods of Science per week, it's really not sufficient to teach everything. I guess the kids have to acquire their own Science knowledge via reading and applying.E3:
some of the questions were not exactly taught by the teacher but she could do them because of the \"work\" she did at home.
This is certainly not unusual. Every subj has at least 10% out of textbook/classroom teaching.
I somehow recall having this conversation with you saying the same thing before ...very long time back...must be getting old liao. :roll: -
This type of qn will appear in compreh.Hi Mummies,
Son has this new thing in his CL activity book...actually not exactly new.
He has to find a 词语 from the passage...it's so stupid bcos the passage is so long and I have problems finding it, let alone a kid. Can't MOE indicate the paragraph to find the 词语 ? :x :x
We struggle with this all the time, in the end I tell my son to write anything since I simply can't locate it. This is CHINESE. -
E3:
You are right. Perhaps it's easier to accept that fact for other subjects. Science is a subject that requires a lot of information, but with just 3 periods of Science per week, it's really not sufficient to teach everything. I guess the kids have to acquire their own Science knowledge via reading and applying.Jennifer:
[quote=\"E3\"]some of the questions were not exactly taught by the teacher but she could do them because of the \"work\" she did at home.
This is certainly not unusual. Every subj has at least 10% out of textbook/classroom teaching.
I somehow recall having this conversation with you saying the same thing before ...very long time back...must be getting old liao. :roll:[/quote]U not old lah, just busy.
One more week to CA1 and we still hv not revised Sci and Maths :!: -
Ytd my P4 boy brought back a MA worksheet "Review 1" to do at home. He wanted me to vet his ans. I asked for the reason since this was the 1st time this year he made such a request. Turned out the MA teacher told the class that anyone who makes silly mistakes wld hv his/her worksheet flash on the visualisor and his/her name made known to the whole class.
Can this be considered public shaming?
I can understand the need to push for the child to be more careful, but is it necessary to make known the child’s name too? Somehow not comfortable with this arrangement.
The last EL compo, the EL teacher also flashed on the visualisor a well written compo and a not too good one to highlight to the class her expectations. No names were mentioned. -
I also do not agree to such practise.Ytd my P4 boy brought back a MA worksheet \"Review 1\" to do at home. He wanted me to vet his ans. I asked for the reason since this was the 1st time this year he made such a request. Turned out the MA teacher told the class that anyone who makes silly mistakes wld hv his/her worksheet flash on the visualisor and his/her name made known to the whole class.
I can understand the need to push for the child to be more careful, but is it necessary to make known the child's name too? Somehow not comfortable with this arrangement.
The last EL compo, the EL teacher also flashed on the visualisor a well written compo and a not too good one to highlight to the class her expectations. No names were mentioned. -
If it is done for the whole cohort, then I think it is wrong because some pupils just cannot do MA no matter how you teach. But we are talking about M1 class here. So probably the teacher has very high expectation of them all. Even if they make silly mistakes, the mistake must be silly in every sense of the word, in that it is not that they can't do it, it is due to carelessness or something. It will make the kid be more careful in future. but i dont think they will be demoralized as these kids know they can do better. IMHO only.Ytd my P4 boy brought back a MA worksheet \"Review 1\" to do at home. He wanted me to vet his ans. I asked for the reason since this was the 1st time this year he made such a request. Turned out the MA teacher told the class that anyone who makes silly mistakes wld hv his/her worksheet flash on the visualisor and his/her name made known to the whole class.
I can understand the need to push for the child to be more careful, but is it necessary to make known the child's name too? Somehow not comfortable with this arrangement.
The last EL compo, the EL teacher also flashed on the visualisor a well written compo and a not too good one to highlight to the class her expectations. No names were mentioned.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.