Newton Kindergarten

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    525 Posts 65 Posters 234.8k Views 1 Watching

dear Newton parents,

as we prepare our child for Primary school - the emotional part in a child is also very important.

Like resilience, self discipline, self esteem, preparing the child how to deal with and handle setbacks and challenges, subsequently in later part of his school life, during his defiant teenage years and adulthood.

below are two very good SFE (Singapore Family Education) Parenting talks coming up next month (September & October), at Pei Tong primary.

Admission costs ?
      $2 per parent / $3 per couple
      (Registration and Light Refreshments - start from 9.30am)

refer:-
      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=25286

next Thursday is Teacher’s day.

any idea what to give?

Newton parents who attended Montessori Training programmes before to train their child at home (example: children facing learning difficulty), and who wish to buy Montessori training material, can refer:-

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=12109

postpet

Any experienced parents able to tell what are the chances for successfully registering our kid at Newton kindy next year? Its my first child so I dun think there is any priority. I am planning to register for N1 in 2013.

vivienpg

I have signed up my child for pre-nursery next year but am now worried that he can’t cope with the afternoon at home cos he is a very restless boy… wondering those with children in the morning session, how do your child spend their afternoons? I have a maid at home who will be busy with chores and my MIL is taking care of my baby…

chrisbear

Hi, I have been trying to access the Newton website for the last couple of days but couldn’t seem to be able to find the site. Any idea what’s going on?

Also, I’ve registered my daughter for the pm playgroup next year but due to some change in plans, may have to put her in am instead. Any advice?

duriz

:rahrah: :imanisland: :welcome: Newton kindergarten :imanisland: :rahrah:

updated name list, for 2013:-
                  ====================================

K2 – no info … maybe K2 mommies busy preparing child for P1, so no time chit chat forum ?

K1 – porcupine12trade, junietan, Em, MummyThreeStreams, octbride, jazz, phtthp.

N2 – Breadandmuffins, Mrs_SingRat, stsy_26, GuniBabe.

N1 – jazzychloe, chrisbear.

=========================
                  hi,

anyone’s child not report in yet (hope I didn’t miss out anyone)?
                  let us know which level your child is in.
                  everybody welcome you, dear ! :grphug: 🕺 :grphug:

hi moom,
                  may I know your child is in which level now, in our kindy ? :imcool:
                  phtthp,

Do you mean 2012 instead of 2013?

My DD is starting Newton Kindy PG (or N1) in 2012.

But I have yet to receive any information from them regarding orientation, uniforms, text etc.

duriz

chrisbear:
                    Hi, I have been trying to access the Newton website for the last couple of days but couldn't seem to be able to find the site. Any idea what's going on?

Also, I've registered my daughter for the pm playgroup next year but due to some change in plans, may have to put her in am instead. Any advice?
                    Hi chrisbear,

My DD is starting PG (AM session) in Newton Kindy in 2012 as well. Just like you, I have not been able to access their website. I have yet to receive correspondence or information from them regarding orientation and starting of class.

Have you heard from them?

duriz

vivienpg:
                      I have signed up my child for pre-nursery next year but am now worried that he can't cope with the afternoon at home cos he is a very restless boy.. wondering those with children in the morning session, how do your child spend their afternoons? I have a maid at home who will be busy with chores and my MIL is taking care of my baby..

Hi vivienpg,

My DD will be starting PG (playgroup/N1), AM session, in Newton Kindy in 2012 as well.

She now naps between 11.30am to 1.30pm. But when she starts school, I'd have to adjust that to 12.30pm to no later than 2pm. This is because she goes to bed at 8pm.

When she starts school, I hope to keep her bedtime at 8pm as she needs to wake up at 6.30am to get ready for school, which starts at 8am. Taking into consideration, her slow-coach eating habits (breakfast) and traffic conditions for me to drive from Thomson to Newton.

For now, in the afternoons, we usually go swimming; to the library; playground (for no longer than 30 minutes); nature walks; playing with her toys; watching one dvd (sometimes a movie, sometimes an educational dvd). You can (get your MIL to) try a combination of those activities?

Currently, DD attends playgroup at GUG (United Square) on Sundays for 1.5 hours. But I intend to cancel that when she starts Newton Kindy as that is a 5-day program and I hope for her to rest and relax during the weekends.

Kids will be kids. Between the ages of 2-3, they are restless as they are constantly absorbing information and processing that into useful knowledge. At the same time, they are learning to apply that knowledge into making themselves coherent to others. But they do understand more than they display. They are just digesting information and waiting for an opportunity to participate and show their abilities. Which is why some parents are pleased when they hear a \"big word\" (more than 2 syllables) OR alarmed when they hear the first vulgarity come from the mouths of their little ones. Better watch our language 🙂

My DD's first word was \"rooster\" and her current favorite word is \"calculator\". I often have to stop my DH from cursing when he's driving, so that DD sdoes not pick up any colorful words 🙂

hi chrisbear, duriz, vivienpg, postpet,

:rahrah: Welcome to Newton kindergarten ! :rahrah:

your kids coming in 2012 N1 ?
                        a new milestone, a new chapter going to open up in their lives soon, yeh ! ... 😄 you must be a very excited parent ! 🕺

- the website was down, because those PC vendor guys outsourced to maintain the school's website are trying to fix something to our school server. If you have pressing urgent qns to ask meanwhile, may call up school direct (Mrs. Tan, admin staff) at tel: 6251-5586

- the school orientation letter not yet prepared, hence you have not received anything.

usually, school will start preparing only towards last day of Term 4 before year end holidays begin for 6 long weeks (Christmas coming), around November period then start to prepare orientation letters for fresh, new intake.

- personal opinion:
                        if possible, take the morning AM class time slot (8am - 12 noon). Tend to be full house !

after AM school - kids return home to makan home cooked lunch. Nap 2 hours in the afternoon, say, from 1pm - 3pm. Wake up fresh it's tea time, makan some snacks. Then in the evening after enough rest, primary caregiver at home can bring kids out for external enrichment, example: music appreciation (if is needed / required). This is a good arrangment. Only thing is once they reach home - need someone to supervise kids closely.

dun let your child watch too much TV (no good), or waste time aimlessly loitering at home. Perhaps you can come up with a daily Timetable schedule to help set your child some discipline, give instructions to the primary caregiver to help you implement closely.

the PM class size (11.45 pm - 3.45 pm) normally is smaller. It is good esp. for those kids who need a smaller class to help them focus, concentrate better. Or kids who need to receive more attention from form Teachers. The PM session tends to be much quieter, very peaceful.

- Sorry, Yes - it should be 2012, not 2013 (blur me). :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 53