I see
nope.. they only help to guide them do homewrk..
Based on the fees paid to BASC, I would question if the P mentioned that there's tuition.
I seeMintyMin:
nope.. they only help to guide them do homewrk..
Pro Teach (inclusive) & Out of the Box (add-on) has tuition when I checked
Based on the fees paid to BASC, I would question if the P mentioned that there's tuition. -
:skeptical:[/quote]Must hv dreams ma... :evil:bigsnoopy:
[quote=\"MintyMin\"]The most worrying part is if he take after his dad.. den i really 'zhuang biak' liao..
Look at the bright side la... Although DD not good in MT.. I alway dream she can even take higher Chinese de...
it a kind of wishful thinking... -
why so stress want to study HCL? I know can add pts if applying to SAP sec school but is there a need to stress to must study it? Besides the heritage thing?
I only dream nia... Besides the top classes hv to take higher MT de ma.. 不是吗? So if she go top class then must take lor.. :evil: so must be mentally prepared... :evil: -
Must check the quality of it also.. I mention before my friend case right?
Pro Teach (inclusive) & Out of the Box (add-on) has tuition when I checkedSAHM_TAN:
Based on the fees paid to BASC, I would question if the P mentioned that there's tuition. -
Hello kabalevsky! Thanks. :imanangel: Are you the teacher on leave?
:goodpost:Picolo:
:celebrate: Bingo, CayennePepper, you said what's most impt (reading & reading & reading to build good solid foundations), my ds1 did very little of those assessment books from pre-school - pri 3, though I want to admit that I buy quite a lot of those books, not to push them to kiddos but to learn and know what the edn system expects of the kids, what kind of milestones they're supposed to achieve, etc. My kids also visits different parts of Singapore (parks/zoo/science centres) very often when they were in pri 1 & younger. From Pri 2, they have more CCAs stuff from school and more homework and it became more difficult to arrange such activities effortlessly. Plus, kids prefer to read books than sweat when they become older...
What I am trying to say is: it's a LONG journey, you know. Knowledge should empower us, not to stress us out. I am VERY thankful for mummies like psle2011mum who have walked the path to help decode, taking the mysteries out of PSLE EL/CL/Math/Sc, and assure parents that they can indeed be conquered. If not for her, we may never know what the examiners are looking for, or may take a very long time to understand. She has actually made the path shorter
for us.
ds1 &2 are doing well in school, ds1 very well esp cos he's a very avid reader since young. From my observation, kids who read widely have a very strong competitive edge against others, and no amount of assessment books accomplishment is going to beat that. And it starts showing in upper primary and beyond.
Thanks for sharing picolo!
I think schools give mainstream education for the masses. Can survive if you are a typical learner who can still concentrate in a big class.
For parents who want the children to do better than survive, teach them ourselves or engage tutor.
I don't think it's cos the teachers are not doing their job. I know many hardworking dedicated teachers (of course have lazy ones too) but it doesn't mean if many people have tuition it means the teachers are lousy?
We cannot compare mainstream education for the masses with 1-1 tuition or parent coaching own child I think?
Learners who can concentrate in class and absorb like a sponge will still benefit from a mainstream class setting. Better still if they are self-motivated and of higher abilities. They can survive very well
Definitely can't blame the schools or the teachers for being lousy if the parents rush out to hire private tutors. If I have to point a finger at something, I would say blame the T-score sytsem lor.... cos in such a system, only a fixed top x % of PSLE candidates can emerge as the national best. T-score is a relative score and it measures how well a P6 student performs in a particular year's PSLE compared to another P6 student who has taken the same papers. Year after year, conscientious parents and private tutors develops new strategies/crutches to impart to their kiddos/tutees to overcome new PSLE challenges. But alas, it's an upward moving target; no wonder some parents with older kids and current primary school kids are lamenting that it is not the same PSLE standard that their older kids were doing.
psle2011mum's strategies are more suited for those who with upper primary kids AND aspire to be parents of Top 3% PSLE performers. :evil: SAHM_tan, dun :frustrated:
:nosebleed: okie! Enjoy while you STILL CAN! :hugs:
No... what happened?
Must check the quality of it also.. I mention before my friend case right?Kissgurami:
Pro Teach (inclusive) & Out of the Box (add-on) has tuition when I checked -
thought DD1 was ok until she went for the 5 days class.. lol her fellow K2 recites idioms :faint:MintyMin:
If she's not up to standard.. i tink my DS worst liao..
No need to be humble la.. My DD really eat potato de... She can slang ang mo but mandarin CMI big time.... :faint: -
She went to this BASC and the principal ( who is also the boss la) painted her a very nice picture of his centre… Like they are educator n put priority of students work first… He also say that the fees ( about 300 plus) include a everyday tuition conducted by his teachers… So my friend enrol her kids there… The so called tuition are actually giving worksheets for the kids to do while the teachers are busy marking previous homework… And some of the teachers even mark the work wrongly… My friend suspect the principal employ those A level waiting to go uni or poly students as tutor… So there is a high turnover rate… Always changing teachers… Cos the kids came back to tell my friend that this teacher going overseas to study and that teacher starting school next year…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.