By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 198.0k Views 1 Watching
      raysusan

theoretically it is possible PM Lee need not call for by-election

but not to do so will mean a heavy political price comes next GE

anyway that seat has always belonged to WP, nothing for PAP to lose anyway.

PAP would gain more support next time if they call for by election sooner than later. People will remember PAP for not denying their choice if PAP call for the by election soon. Otherwise people will perceive it as unfair tactic

However, Hougang is WP stronghold and die hard WP supporters will return WP to Hougang
      +1 to this
      and i think they will not hold on to by election too long
      this may trigger HG voters anger

vicki

Why do I get the feel that some pple feel that it’s fair if PAP holds by-election soon whereas some pple feel that it’s unfair that PAP holds the election so soon…

Hmm… Abit of ‘damn if u do n damn if u don’t!’

Currently now, wonder if I can call the game as PAP vs Others, just like it’s always Man Utd vs Others

Oh well… I will just stand by the sideline n watch.

• 3 Offline
          3Boys

My prediction –> G’ment (not PAP) will call for by-election in HG within the next 6 months, Desmond Choo will stand, and WP, no matter who they field, will retain the seat easily.

PM Lee holds the wild-card in that he may decide not to call a by-election, but in the current political environment, I think he stands to lose more than he may gain by doing so.

LTK has done his calculation, that’s why there was immediate mention of a by-election, to make it clear his intent and force the PM’s hand a little. I think WP has a strong edge in HG, and he has come a long way in repairing the damage already.

The foibles of men…sigh.

ahkeong

ltk quite a smart guy

he has returned the ball back to pap’s court and now it’s up to pm lee to decide what to do

raysusan

[quote]The Singapore Democratic Party's primary concern is that the constituency of Hougang must remain in the hands of the opposition. It must not be re-captured by the PAP. This being the case, and if the circumstances remain the way they are, the SDP will not contest in a by-election in Hougang.

Chee Soon Juan
              Secretary-General
              Singapore Democratic Party[/quote]SDP confirm not going

caroline3sg

Tan Jee Say also not contesting. I hope the rest of the opposition parties will not contest else it would be cheng ren zhi wei.

Daddy D

Can we expect last minute goodies in tonight's Budget 2012?

:?

ahkeong

one of the reason for not deciding when to have a by election?

no goodies tonight

toddles

My prediction --> G'ment (not PAP) will call for by-election in HG within the next 6 months, Desmond Choo will stand, and WP, no matter who they field, will retain the seat easily.

PM Lee holds the wild-card in that he may decide not to call a by-election, but in the current political environment, I think he stands to lose more than he may gain by doing so.

LTK has done his calculation, that's why there was immediate mention of a by-election, to make it clear his intent and force the PM's hand a little. I think WP has a strong edge in HG, and he has come a long way in repairing the damage already.

The foibles of men.....sigh.
                      Yup totally agree with your prediction. Thought PM and Khaw's comments were a bit of petty mudslinging though. minus points for them!

PM sounded like, yo I'm so busy and Budget and real 国家大事, why u have to bother me with channelling bandwidth into this by-election thing.

then what's with the \"WP has let the ppl of Hougang down\" stuff? Pls lah! The ppl of Hougang feel that WP has gone the extra mile, put itself through extra scrutiny and trouble to do this whole expel and re-elect thing what. Which is easier, to diam diam buah bodoh or to stand for elections with (some chance, regardless of how small, of losing) again?

Anyway, :rahrah: we love elections, esp in opposition strongholds! May there be a rousing return to power for WP, this time with a better man/woman to represent the people. :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

toddles

Daddy 😧
                        Can we expect last minute goodies in tonight's Budget 2012?

:?
                        that's not how our cheng hu works.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 93