MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 458.8k Views 1 Watching
      vicki

Just to add..

parent involvement is along the principle of \"being in the interest of the child's educational needs\"..

if it is not now..

tweak it so that it'll be.. :evil: :evil:
      But the 'being involved' should NOT be just a pre-entering time frame leh --- should be for the entire 6years. So compulsory PSG after PV?

• DesertWindD Offline
        DesertWind

Power Puff:
        Quite worried. Son is entering P1 in 2014, husband recently joined the Cat High alumni to guarantee a place for him. Now, do I have to join the alumni to ensure daughter gets a place in RGPS in 2017? May even be expected to do PV. Long way to go, but anything can happen within the next 5 years. I just checked and am shocked that the membership fee is $500, at least 10 times CHS'.

My husband also joined his alumni last year, paid also SGD500!
        I told him MOE looking to revamp this alumni thingy now. He said if they remove the alumni priority, he is going to bang table and demand to take back his SGD500! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

limlim

vicki:

Just to add..

parent involvement is along the principle of \"being in the interest of the child's educational needs\"..

if it is not now..

tweak it so that it'll be.. :evil: :evil:

But the 'being involved' should NOT be just a pre-entering time frame leh --- should be for the entire 6years. So compulsory PSG after PV?

Building a connection to the current staff, understanding how the school is running or being run \"now\" (not 2 decades ago).. is in the child's interests.. isn't it..? 😉

vicki

If we were to be more precise, it should be for the 6years the kid is in the school n not just the 1 or 2 years before they enter… Yes?

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

Ok OT.

My previous question on PV. How about I hire a gardener/electrician/piano teacher/sports coach to do the task on my behalf. Will do a better job than I right?

School benefits, kids benefit, I benefit.

Logical?

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

What's fair and unfair? To me, one of those whose former school no longer exist, the question of what is fair and unfair no longer applies. 🤷 What tree is there to talk about? What tradition? They only exist in my memory. So, sorry if I don't take pity on those with Alumni should MOE decide to do away with it in the registration process.

For me, too, my primary school already kerna demolished! :sad:
                Nevertheless, if it is still existing, I think I SHOULD have the choice to send my kid back there as an alumni too! I think the alumni priority is FAIR! Why? Because all of us who attended an SG-school is an alumni of that school and hence everyone of us have the priority, no need to be jealous!

It is a different thing if you don't LIKE your own alumni school and thus don't want to send your kid back there. Its your choice but you still got a choice whether to use that priority or not.

For people like me primary school already kerna demolished then don't say lah! Got to try something else. Go by distance is also very good but so long as the school is within the vicinity and reasonable distance can be reached by school-bus within 30 mins. should be OK!

• DesertWindD Offline
                  DesertWind

Get rid of the grassroot priority. Don’t you think it is an abuse by the ruling party to give school priority to volunteers who further its own political cause? I mean regardless of WHO is the ruling party. In future it could be an opposition party. Any ruling party should NOT abuse the system to give priority to its own grassroot people.

• DesertWindD Offline
                    DesertWind

Siblings priority - get rid of this!

Why you give siblings priority for?
                    If we keep the alumni priority, then ALL your kids can get into the school using the parent’s alumni priority. There is hence no need for siblings priority.

Furthermore, is it very important for all siblings to be studying in the same school? Not really right? Same school but different sessions also different mah? Wear hand me downs? No right?

Anyway, to illustrate an example, one friend’s kid was in a neighbourhood school but at P3 got into a GEP school, famous brand-name girls school! Then subsequently her younger sister went into P1 using siblings priority. Is it fair? One more place taken away from those who stay nearer to the school. So imagine the cross-migration every-year from GEP students to GEP schools. Their siblings also ride on the coat-tail get into these schools. Fair??

vicki

DesertWind:
                      Get rid of the grassroot priority. Don't you think it is an abuse by the ruling party to give school priority to volunteers who further its own political cause? I mean regardless of WHO is the ruling party. In future it could be an opposition party. Any ruling party should NOT abuse the system to give priority to its own grassroot people.

No need to get rid of any phase n change drastically. Just limit the spaces available for each current phase can liao... 🙂

vicki

DesertWind:
                        Get rid of the grassroot priority. Don't you think it is an abuse by the ruling party to give school priority to volunteers who further its own political cause? I mean regardless of WHO is the ruling party. In future it could be an opposition party. Any ruling party should NOT abuse the system to give priority to its own grassroot people.

No need to get rid of any phase n change drastically. Just limit the spaces available for each current phase can liao... 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 197