S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
PRC woman upset with new Primary One registration rules ‘favoring’ Singaporeans over PRs
http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/prc-woman-upset-with-new-primary-one-registration-rules-favoring-singaporeans-over-prs/ -
SandS:
then you either love to hate them, or hate to love them :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :evil: :evil: :evil:Chikadilly:
Why so many think that this will trigger a wave of PRs applying for citizenship for their kids? ( well, this is the kiasu forum, maybe that's why :)) . I think it may result in in PRs being forced to enroll into less popular schools. So some will become 'citizen' schools, and other will become 'PR and foreigner' schools. Wonder if MOE thought about this segregation happening.
And what if down the road, those 'PR and foreigner' school scores better? *gasps* :siam: -
Chikadilly:
So some will become 'citizen' schools, and other will become 'PR and foreigner' schools. Wonder if MOE thought about this segregation happening.
I don't know why people keep worrying about this.
As mentioned earlier in the thread, PRs can still enter popular schools if their parents are alumni or have siblings who were from that school. I studied in RGPS back in the 90s and there were plenty of non-singaporean PRs (some of them were foreigners back in primary school but have since applied for PR) in the school - malaysians, indonesians, PRCs, and I even knew one from the US and one from NZ. By 2012, some of these PRs would have kids, or will soon have kids and I highly doubt they'll have problems entering RGPS because they are alumni (I know some of them who haven't converted to SC even after 20 years). I'm sure if you add the numbers who enter through the sibling route, there'll be enough PRs/foreigners to ensure diversity. These are numbers that MOE can easily dig out from their database, they have probably done projections and realised that there is nothing to worry about.
The Straits Times has mentioned that 10% of the primary school intake are PRs and 4% are foreigners right now. I don't think this % is high enough to create a situation where there are schools which are largely \"PR and foreigner\".
Besides, even if there is a freak case where all the locals start avoiding a particular school, and all the PRs and foreigners flood that particular school. Think about it - primary school is only 6 years. Most of them would probably be going to different secondary/ITE/polytechnic/JC/university and they'll have plenty of opportunities to mix around.
Is diversity really necessary at primary school level? I'm not sure about that. Many schools in other countries are entirely homogeneous in terms of ethnicity, nationality and social class and their students still turn out perfectly fine because there are plenty of opportunities to be exposed to diversity later in life. -
BlueBells:
Then the dynamics will shift every 6 years, maybe, and then it will be truly all schools are good schools. No?
What you are saying is Good schools = high quality intake?
This assumes that the quality of schools is largely dependent on intake quality (provided one buys the notion that Singaporeans are genetically inferior to foreigners... and also that Singaporeans lack drive - which I don't buy at all).
Intake quality is ONE THIRD of the picture. Quality of teachers and quality of school management counts for TWO THIRDS. It's a sad day when the MOE blames ONLY students and parents for poor results... and makes policy based on student quality, without re-examining the quality it provides across the board (and not just in the few schools with a strong board... and other schools who are part of a random normal distribution).
Unless MOE shapes itself up, it doesn't matter which intake goes where. There will still be good schools and schools to be avoided. If quality of schools = quality of intake, then we really dun need schools anymore. Just gather the kids in the buildings, administer some tests regularly and voilà - a good school is born thanks to good genes. Also, in this case, no need for GEP and HAT and all that... just gather the good genes together and they'll naturally differentiate themselves.
Dun get me wrong. I am not arguing for abolishing GEP and HAT and blah blah blah. There are kids who ENJOY the programs and for the mere reason of keeping the love of learning alive, it is good enough reason to keep the GEP and blah. But if we push the logic that good students = good schools, to its logical conclusion - then gifted students are gifted what... on their genes alone, whatever building they are in can be called a good school. Why need GEP teaching? -
raysusan:
someone posted in this thread another link to other online media about more complete version of this story, it did not say anything abt being upset nor angry, i read that they understand and accept the change, and the title of the article also mm... different.... :evil:PRC woman upset with new Primary One registration rules ‘favoring’ Singaporeans over PRs
http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/prc-woman-upset-with-new-primary-one-registration-rules-favoring-singaporeans-over-prs/ -
blessed777:
This was how ST reported it...
someone posted in this thread another link to other online media about more complete version of this story, it did not say anything abt being upset nor angry, i read that they understand and accept the change, and the title of the article also mm... different.... :evil:raysusan:
PRC woman upset with new Primary One registration rules ‘favoring’ Singaporeans over PRs
http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/prc-woman-upset-with-new-primary-one-registration-rules-favoring-singaporeans-over-prs/
PRs understand new rule, but say timing is abrupt
By Lin Zhaowei & Matthias Chew
Ms Jin Mei, 43, downgraded from a condominium to a Housing Board flat next to Tao Nan School five years ago, hoping that she could enrol her daughter in the brand-name primary school.
However, the permanent resident from China, who has lived here for 12 years, soon realised that getting a place in Tao Nan would still be difficult. She decided to aim for CHIJ Katong Convent and Ngee Ann Primary, two other popular schools nearby.
With the latest change in Primary 1 registration rules, she is now worried her daughter may have to go somewhere farther from home.
'I am not sure why they suddenly rolled this out. I was quite confident of a place in a nearby school, but now it feels our efforts were wasted,' she told The Straits Times.
Ms Jin's disappointment was shared by other PR parents who are registering their children for Primary 1 later this year.
While they agreed that it was the natural right of a country to give its citizens preferential treatment, they wished the timing of the announcement - which comes just four months ahead of this year's registration exercise in July - was less abrupt.
They were also concerned that the new system may, in time, completely shut out PRs from getting into the more popular schools in Singapore.
Under the current rules, PRs get one ballot slip - compared to two for Singaporeans - if the school they choose is oversubscribed and there is a balloting exercise to determine which children will be admitted.
The new system will now see PRs ballot for places only if there are vacancies left after citizens have filled them.
Those who have moved closer to popular schools or spent many hours volunteering at schools in order to increase their child's chances are particularly unhappy.
China-born construction manager Li Yun Zhang, 41, moved to Marine Parade two years ago and started volunteering at Tao Nan School in order to boost his daughter's chances of getting a place there.
He said the move was too sudden, and he is not sure if his volunteer work has come to nought.
Tao Nan School usually holds balloting for children of parent volunteers during Primary 1 registration.
'Every country gives their citizens priority, but there needs to be a balance,' he said. 'This means that PR holders won't have a chance to send their children to good schools.'
Mr Akash Agarwal, 35, an assistant vice-president in a foreign bank here, called the move 'disheartening' and 'drastic', as it comes around the time of registration.
'It would have been better if it was implemented next year. This doesn't leave us much time to evaluate other options,' said the Indian national, who lives in an HDB flat near the popular Rivervale Primary and Mee Toh schools.
Some PR parents said they are now considering putting their children in international schools instead, even though it may set them back by more than $20,000 a year, compared to less than $700 a year in government schools.
Mr Akash said he will try for the best among the local schools for his older daughter, who is entering Primary 1. But depending on the result, he may consider switching to an Indian international school here.
Madam Jin, a businesswoman in fashionwear, said enrolling in an international school is an option, but added that she did not rule out relocating for better education opportunities.
Mr Tony Du, president of the Tian Fu Club for new Chinese immigrants, said PRs will need to adjust their expectations.
'As parents, they naturally wish their kids can get into the top schools. But even citizens don't always get into their schools of choice,' he said. -
The rest too chim for me but this sentence I agree fully!!
Unless MOE shapes itself up, it doesn't matter which intake goes where.
We have always had Malaysians amongst us. Malaysians and Singaporeans share a close ancestry. For decades we have had Malaysians amongst us and we didn’t mind a all. Many Malaysians have stayed here for decades and their children are 2nd generation PRs who are likely to convert to SC because this has become a home they have grown to love.
However, with the influx of PRs from countries somewhat further away, with less emotional attachment to this region, the PR status has become tainted with the notion of "convenient stepping stone". If we wanted to absorb new citizens, Malaysians are closest to us in culture and spirit. They worked alongside us for many decades to build this country.
It is a pity that they’ve been lumped together with every other PR nationality. To me, Malaysians are special. They don’t see Singapore as a stepping stone to USA. -
Too chim? Dun bedek lah... :razz: You are GEP Daddy ok... good genes man! All you need to do is WALK into a school and it'll become good.
The rest too chim for me but this sentence I agree fully!!Chenonceau:
Unless MOE shapes itself up, it doesn't matter which intake goes where.
Forgive... just having some fun. Dun be offended. -
The word absolute does cover the gist of the whole change. If PRs have no chance in Phase 1 by virtue of a sibling, then there is absolutely zero chance for them to get into any of the top primary schools in Singapore as long as there are more SCs than PRs vying for places in any of the subsequent Phases. Even if the PRs live within 1km, they will not get to ballot since even SCs staying beyond 2km will have priority over all PRs. If that is not absolute, I'm not sure what would be considered as absolute
It's a small absolute, within each phrase only.FQW:
[quote=\"blueblue\"]Actually I think the word 'absolute' priority in first paragraph is pretty misleading. At first I thought all singaporeans will get the places first, then followed PRs..regardless of any phase
Still better than nothing..
I just thought of a trickle-down effect, and it's psychological. I think that with this change, in future schools will refrain from accepting PRs as PV as there is little chance of them being successful in registration. Either would PRs be tempted to apply. So that gives more opportunities for us locals to get selected. Same goes for GRL, clans etc.
Actually, I think this change will actually intensify the balloting problem at top schools for this coming exercise, since it will drive more SCs to try for these schools thinking that they have a better chance of getting in now that PRs are \"out of the picture\".
At least there will be less finger pointing at PRs now when people lack the luck to get what they want. The debate will then shift to why alumni should be given priority in Phase 2A. :slapshead:[/quote]Actually I think PRs pupils are less than 10%, meaning one class with 30 pupils only 2~3 Pupils. so competition occurs most likely still between SCs!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.