Real reason behind Singapore’s obsession with tuition

774 Posts 63 Posters 178.3k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

Here's a link to the letter from MOE replying a letter published in ST Forum. It's dated 2004 but the policy should still be the same.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/forum/2004/11102004.htm

limlim,

You are very against this particular policy, may I know what's your next course of action?
      I'm just sharing my opinions. If it is isolated view, than, no need to be bothered by it.

But if parents agree that there is potential conflict of interest.. and may result in lower quality of teachings in schools.. then, we can talk about the next course of action.. if any..

It is not about me or you..

It is how the MOE can provide higher quality education to the nation's young.

And not rely on private businesses to do it's (MOE) job.

• KissguramiK Offline
        Kissgurami

cherryc:
        Chanced upon this post which was written 2 yrs ago but still v relevant. The problem has existed for so long . Strange, keep seeing the word \"wayang\" being used.

\"\"
        I urge MOE/teachers to revert back to old style teachings, cut off all the wayang in school. Give them lots of homework to wear them out, thus too tired for further tuition, then everything will be equal. 🙂 Presentation can reserved for Pre-U/Poly or University lah... Want pri sch kids to sell wat to investors? Too fast too furious. They better master their \"ratios\", trigonometry first... Teach more, learn more in school.\"\"
        :shock: :faint: :faint: with minimum homework, DD1 is already tired and worn out. Her enrichment is only for that 1 day in a weekend.

I thought there was a debate on \"too much homework given\"??

• KissguramiK Offline
          Kissgurami

I have done better. I have emailed relevant people.
          Did it work?

Chenonceau

I have done better. I have emailed relevant people.

Did it work?

Oh... I wanted to amend my post but you replied already... I would love to share with you all the suggestions I gave but today... a bit tight for time. Solly! Solly! Forgive.

I have blogged about some suggestions. For others, I have written in various threads in the past 12 months. Did it work? I dun think so. Heh! When people raise concerns... got people say \"You only can complain. Give suggestions lor...\"

Then when people care enough to think of suggestions, then got more people say \"Your suggestions ignore constraints (costs and everything). Easy for you to suggest only lah...\"

The truth is, not every improvement leads to higher costs in the long run. If that is so... then why spend money to automate carpark parking gantries (pay a carpark attendant lor...) ... why buy washing machines (hire a laundry woman lor...) ... why place insert a small plastic piece into the tap to save water?

One small plastic piece, not costly. Not all improvements are costly. Some are even free.

limlim

The assumption is not that there are no constraints but that we should try and examine the constraints and think outside the box that constrains us. It is not at all easy to think out of the box that represents our reality so yes... I can understand that many people can only see constraints.

But Steve Jobs did. Were there constraints when he wanted to sell songs in iTunes for 99c? Yes. Plenty.
              well said........

Chenonceau

The assumption is not that there are no constraints but that we should try and examine the constraints and think outside the box that constrains us. It is not at all easy to think out of the box that represents our reality so yes... I can understand that many people can only see constraints.

But Steve Jobs did. Were there constraints when he wanted to sell songs in iTunes for 99c? Yes. Plenty.

well said........

Thank you dear. It's nice not to be slammed for once.

limlim

cherryc:
                  Chanced upon this post which was written 2 yrs ago but still v relevant. The problem has existed for so long . Strange, keep seeing the word \"wayang\" being used.

\"\"Ten to twenty years ago, when teachers were teaching formally, I mean really teaching to pupils in class, giving them lots of homework, then tuition was not necessary. Not many tuition centres those days, esp. the elite tuition centres.

These days, the schools (may be under MOE's direction) adopt \"creative teachings\". Students do a lot of 'wayang' in schools, eg, presentation, shifting of furnitures to form groups for discussion like they are university students, YOG support - no school, XYZ festival - no school, PSLE Oral-no school, anything happen-no school, e-learning-no school. Teach less + Learn more. All kinds of nonsense cause the lessons in schools to be very diluted. i.e. not the solid lessons we got 10-20 yrs ago. So, where/how to catch up? Tuition. Think MOE/teachers expect all pupils to go tuition.

Partly the introduction of GEP(Gifted Ed Prog) is to be blamed for the insecurity in parents. In the prog, they taught secondary sch level math to pri sch kids. Since every parent thinks their children are gifted, they do not want to lose out. So, they are willing to fork out tuition fee as high as $150 per session. This type of elite tuition is for the rich.
                  Who own the tuition centers.............. hmm.......

SAHM_TAN

I'm just sharing my opinions. If it is isolated view, than, no need to be bothered by it.

But if parents agree that there is potential conflict of interest.. and may result in lower quality of teachings in schools.. then, we can talk about the next course of action.. if any..

It is not about me or you..

It is how the MOE can provide higher quality education to the nation's young.

And not rely on private businesses to do it's (MOE) job.
                    I was just curious.

I believe it's always about the mes and yous. Things are changed because of the mes and yous. There are achievements becos of the mes and yous. Terrible English I know.

SAHM_TAN

Hmmm, I'm ok with GEP. There are kids who need it. Kids shouldn't suffer becos of adults' insecurities.

I do believe that all kids have potential but the way that education is like a production factory many kids with potential are lagging more and more behind.

So I have to take charge. I'm not sure if my kids will benefit or suffer becos of my intervention and action though. :rotflmao:

I will know 5 yrs from now.

kitty2

[quote=\"Sim TT\"]Only those really passionate and those who cannot make it outside will stay on. Overall standard of teachers dropping.

Something has gone wrong, if teachers allowed to moonlight.

if NIE trained teachers or current school teacher can command $100/hr, who still got heart to teach in schools?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=33270

not surprising if standard of teachings dropping at schools..

in many industries, employees are not allowed to work for competitors after a certain period after resignation.. MOE not only doesn't have that, but they even allow teachers to moonlight![/quote] :goodpost:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 42 / 78