Clash of the 'Female Gladiators'??
Strparent:
Strparent, you are right. It is certainly not their fault. Due to the direction set in our academic pursuit and the surmounting pressure, they are so absorbed into grades chasing instead. And character building and values imparting/sharing is everyone's role in the child's life, parents, teachers, principals, tutors and even friends. Every of these touch points can influence the child, the only difference is the degree of influence, those who spent the most time with the child will exert the maximum influence. In some families, it is the parents, in some families, it is the maid or the grandparents and in some even childcare centres teachers or the welfare centres teachers or school teachers and for some, it can even be the friends as families can vary from closely knitted to dysfunctional.
ksi, all yr comments are extremely valid and insightful. :salute: It's possibly true about the not reflecting and lack of soul searching..... but I think its not totally their fault - that part is supposed to be instilled by parents. and some parents are the ones who are constantly in the rat race to keep up with the Jones-es, thereby missing out this aspect of their duty to impart the moral discipline which is deemed lacking in some youngsters today, imho nia nia.ksi:
I agree children learn a lot these days in content and yet they learn \"nothing\". Time is not given for reflection and deep thinking or soul searching. They are constantly racing after the bullet train.
Again to be candid, if a child is equipped with the right values strongly, the academic pursuit will fall in place fairly neatly. When we fail to do the right things for the children, we end up pouring more money into a quick fix remedy called \"tuition\". And believe me, it is 10 times harder to do this effectively than teaching model diagrams. However, when achieved, the result is more than 10 times better. -
lidat u are blaming parents again ...... which I oso agree ...... :evil: :rotflmao:
Again to be candid, if a child is equipped with the right values strongly, the academic pursuit will fall in place fairly neatly. When we fail to do the right things for the children, we end up pouring more money into a quick fix remedy called \"tuition\". And believe me, it is 10 times harder to do this effectively than teaching model diagrams. However, when achieved, the result is more than 10 times better.
alamak, early morning starting a war .... again :faint: -
When we fail to do the right things for the children, we end up pouring more money into a quick fix remedy called \"tuition\".
Agree. I'm just wondering, does MOE have any part to play or can they do anything about it or should they do something?
opium.. it has medical properties.. when administered correctly, has it's usefulness.. when subjected to abuse.. causes harm.
When in pain, patients may be tempted to a quick fix.. and take opium.. instead of finding the cure.. or maybe they believed.. opium IS the cure..?
Should the state step in to curl its abuse?
Or let it be a free market?
And solely blame parents for the opium..Oops.. tuition phenomenon? -
OOi!! Anyhow put words to my fingers! :spank: :spank: :spank: :nunchuk:
lidat u are blaming parents again ...... which I oso agree ...... :evil: :rotflmao:ksi:
Again to be candid, if a child is equipped with the right values strongly, the academic pursuit will fall in place fairly neatly. When we fail to do the right things for the children, we end up pouring more money into a quick fix remedy called \"tuition\". And believe me, it is 10 times harder to do this effectively than teaching model diagrams. However, when achieved, the result is more than 10 times better.
alamak, early morning starting a war .... again :faint:
I have said that it is not only the parents having influence on the child's education. Going for tuition as a fix may not be triggered by parents only, the only certainty is PARENTS ARE PAYING. This 'we' is a collective 'we' who have influence on a child's education, you know who you are. -
You've got the big picture! It is not solely parents or solely any party so the fix gotta be collective efforts too, driven by a driver, of course!ksi:
When we fail to do the right things for the children, we end up pouring more money into a quick fix remedy called \"tuition\".
Agree. I'm just wondering, does MOE have any part to play or can they do anything about it or should they do something?
opium.. it has medical properties.. when administered correctly, has it's usefulness.. when subjected to abuse.. causes harm.
When in pain, patients may be tempted to a quick fix.. and take opium.. instead of finding the cure.. or maybe they believed.. opium IS the cure..?
Should the state step in to curl its abuse?
Or let it be a free market?
And solely blame parents for the opium..Oops.. tuition phenomenon? -
need to slap the driver in case fall asleep ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
It is not solely parents or solely any party so the fix gotta be collective efforts too, driven by a driver, of course! -
driver need to update his GPS lah. The roads changed so much liao, he still using the directory from the 90s
need to slap the driver in case fall asleep ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:ksi:
It is not solely parents or solely any party so the fix gotta be collective efforts too, driven by a driver, of course! -
driver need to update his GPS lah. The roads changed so much liao, he still using the directory from the 90s[/quote] :rotflmao:
need to slap the driver in case fall asleep ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"ksi\"]
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Therefore driver needs human navigator(s) beside lor.... not only to keep awake but sometimes to provide some directional help.
need to slap the driver in case fall asleep ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:ksi:
It is not solely parents or solely any party so the fix gotta be collective efforts too, driven by a driver, of course!
:goodpost: This is a very valid point!! However, sometimes need to make reference to historical road maps to understand what works well in the past as well.
driver need to update his GPS lah. The roads changed so much liao, he still using the directory from the 90s
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.