200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue
To the CEOs and directors......?concern2:
Perhaps fares were meant to increase in the first place, whether there is strike or not - They were going to give increments to other workers any way, isn't it? So I don't totally disagree that perhaps there is opportunistic move here to announce fare rise.
........ :faint:
No, dun need money.
To make it public again - be prepared to be thrown back the same question - Where is the money going to come from to pay off the shareholders?Cheval:
Solutions are there:
1/ make public transport public again. No loss is the target, not the profit
2/ subsidy public transport using the COE money. Reasonable.
It's about the money, money, money,
Always about the money, money, money,
It's what makes the world dance,
Don't forget about the price tag,
Yeah yeah....
Ask Volvo and Mercedes to give us buses for free, ok?
You find some friends and volunteer to go drive buses for free, ok?
It's ok as long as its someone else's money.
Living in dreamland. -
Cheval:
What points?limlim:
I completely agree with your points expressed in this thread. :celebrate: -
So nationalise the transport system?
Very good.
Can public transport workers go on strike?
Who pays for the public transport workers salaries?
Who pays for the buses?
Very simple.
Taxpayers, whether or not you use public transport.
I DON’T mind this being the case, I DON’T mind taxes being raised to fund a high cost-high wage environment.
What I can’t stand is this imaginary fairy-tale land thinking that somehow because something becomes public that it will magically become cheaper or better.
That is just unsubstantiated thinking driven by the gut and not by facts.
People make such a hue and cry over CEO salaries.
Ok, so now we make transport public, who are you going to have to run the show?
By definition, a public (civil) servant.
Wait, I thought the forum here are constantly bashing civil servants. They are obviously clueless about managing schools, managing investments, managing…our transport system.
But now, whoa, just because we have made public transport public, these same civil servants have transformed into super-managers that will outperform CEOs in our listed companies! Operations will be faster and smoother, costs will come down, right!?
All that is prevalent is knee-jerk, frog-in-the well thinking that can’t see beyond the navel. -
Nationalize the public transport won’t solve the labour crunch problem, the reliance of foreign labour will still be the way to go…
Nationalize or not, won’t make much difference, unless the resentment echoed here is about the transport fare, rather than the foreign labour and the strike.
Looks like some people misunderstood the situation. To continue enjoy the affordable fare, we need the foreign labour to keep the overhead low. Has anyone having any problem understanding this simple economic bacics?
(I read somewhere in this forum, a $3000 and above salary for bus driver was proposed… and, is it the same people asking to keep the fare low and unchanged for the next decade?)
According to some of you, the idealized state is much like asking the state to do a welfare transport system, no fare adjustment according to the inflation.
Should the public transport system being run with the welfare format, the tax payers are to foot the bill. Will it be fair? To those that rely on public transport they may find it agreeable, but to others who don’t, what’s your say?
This is something almost unheard of, a nation of highly educated people, asking for nationalization of their public transport which many countries had abolished since the 70s.
Need I say more about the pros n cons of privatization n nationalization?
Are we moving backward?
What are we?
Where are we? -
And, to those who feel that using tax money to pay for public transport is unfair…
Will you feel better if the public transport is sub-standard and many pple are driven to drive and you got to share the road with 100x more cars on the road? sounds good? jams from one end to the other end of the express way… you like?
Or would you rather public transport be improved such that pple are encouraged to take it and you can zip thru the roads with ease as pple give up on cars and less pple to compete with you for road space?
What say you? -
limlim, your own brew not aromatic enough and want to be invited to lim kopi izzit? :nailbite:
They learnt fast.. that strike is effective method to get the message across..phtthp:
first strike is SMRT
now 2nd strike is crane operator
next 3rd strike ?
Maybe locals should learn from them too..?
:goodpost:
Twinkies:
:goodpost:Nationalize the public transport won't solve the labour crunch problem, the reliance of foreign labour will still be the way to go.....
Nationalize or not, won't make much difference, unless the resentment echoed here is about the transport fare, rather than the foreign labour and the strike.
Looks like some people misunderstood the situation. To continue enjoy the affordable fare, we need the foreign labour to keep the overhead low. Has anyone having any problem understanding this simple economic bacics?
(I read somewhere in this forum, a $3000 and above salary for bus driver was proposed... and, is it the same people asking to keep the fare low and unchanged for the next decade?)
According to some of you, the idealized state is much like asking the state to do a welfare transport system, no fare adjustment according to the inflation.
Should the public transport system being run with the welfare format, the tax payers are to foot the bill. Will it be fair? To those that rely on public transport they may find it agreeable, but to others who don't, what's your say?
This is something almost unheard of, a nation of highly educated people, asking for nationalization of their public transport which many countries had abolished since the 70s.
Are we moving backward?
What are we?
Where are we? -
Twinkies:
It might be overly simplistic to dismiss the concept of nationalisation on the basis that it is incompatible with capitalistic ideals. And it has nothing to do with whether a nation is \"educated\" or not. The key argument against nationalisation is that it tends to lead to poorer performance in the long run, given the lack of incentives to exceed prescribed quality levels, since the organisation will not be profit driven.... According to some of you, the idealized state is much like asking the state to do a welfare transport system, no fare adjustment according to the inflation.
Should the public transport system being run with the welfare format, the tax payers are to foot the bill. Will it be fair? To those that rely on public transport they may find it agreeable, but to others who don't, what's your say?
Are we moving backward?
What are we?
Where are we?
On the other hand, we have seen market failures happening at macro levels. The world is still suffering from the after effects of the subprime mortgage problem which was a clear example of the dangers of the lack of regulatory control and laissez faire capitalisation. Fully unregulated transport companies in places like Sri Lanka openly fought with each other over the right to run lucrative routes. No profit-oriented company want to run routes which are less populated, which means people staying in those areas will have no access to public transport.
In fact, public transport in Singapore is largely nationalised. The government builds and owns the railway tracks. It even owns the trains that run on the tracks. This is all funded through tax - money from you and me. The government selects the private operator to run their infrastructure. It has the right to take punitive action or even change the operator if it fails to perform and meet minimum performance standards. And who owns the private operator SMRT? Temasek Holdings - the government's main investment arm - owns over 50% of SMRT. So is the government not already running our public MRT system?
The idea is: we as tax payers pay for the building of the public transport infrastructure. We pay for our individual use of the public transport infrastructure. And if SMRT do well, we should, in theory, get better returns for our money in CPF.
The last statement, however, is not actually the case. As account holders, we don't earn more profit even if the investments made with our money are highly profitable. Herein lies the crux of the issue. As citizens, we are already paying for the public transport infrastructure through taxes and we have to pay for the cost of our individual rides. We do not benefit directly from the profits made by the transport companies. There is, therefore, a moral expectation that public transport, being a public good, should be made accessible and available to every citizen, and hence fares must remain low.
The question of whether the government should subsidize public transport has already been answered. It is already subsidizing through its investment in public transport infrastructure. The real question is whether the government should implement even more creative ways of using taxpayer's money to keep public transport prices affordable even to the poorest segment of our citizenry. -
Perhaps you could explain to me the economics of rising raw materials, rental, yet hawkers asked to maintain their selling price and not raise them? We don't even talk about engaging workers. Just the boss managing the biz himself, and doing this for the last decades, not living extravagantly, just for a living. How? Using this as a simpler example so that commoner like me can better understand. If the same is asked of these people, why can't the people expect smarter people to be able to do it? Please explain. And here we have people being free spokes person for a private listed company, yet no one fighting to speak up for these folks - who also most likely need to take public transport.
No, dun need money.
Ask Volvo and Mercedes to give us buses for free, ok?
You find some friends and volunteer to go drive buses for free, ok?
It's ok as long as its someone else's money.
Living in dreamland.
Living in dreamland? I cannot afford to.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.