<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[House Renovation - designers or ala-carte?]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi,<br /><br />Any recommendation for Interior designer who is experienced in landed properties? Would also need contact for builder/ contractor.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/12573/house-renovation-designers-or-ala-carte</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Sat, 18 Apr 2026 13:32:33 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/12573.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Mon, 26 Apr 2010 07:57:55 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Sun, 28 Jan 2024 23:23:40 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Is there any good and reliable ID or contractor to recommend ? Looking to do renovation for 20yrs old resales 5 rm HDB.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2128134</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2128134</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Twinklesss]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 28 Jan 2024 23:23:40 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 19 Dec 2022 14:33:57 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Thanks for the answers !</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2092499</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2092499</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[KillaMyree]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 19 Dec 2022 14:33:57 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Wed, 23 Nov 2022 07:21:42 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2089492\" time=\"1669123207\" user_id=\"14025:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />slmkhoo<br />Did you replace your ceiling fans with another brand of ceiling fans?</blockquote></blockquote>No - they are only a year old! We just got rid of the remote controls and, for each room, had the fan (with regulator) and light wired to separate wall switches. It's much more convenient this way. The switches and wires were already in place from the last set of ceiling fans.<br /><br />We expect that the fans should last several years more, at least until we finally get round to deciding whether to renovate or sell this flat, which should be within 3-5 years.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089608</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089608</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 23 Nov 2022 07:21:42 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:40:43 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">It is good to hear the issue on your ceiling fan has finally been resolved.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089495</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089495</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Liew Nga Wing]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:40:43 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:20:07 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">slmkhoo<br /><br />Did you replace your ceiling fans with another brand of ceiling fans?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089492</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089492</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[starlight1968sg]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:20:07 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:12:57 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2086029\" time=\"1666053018\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />... when buying fan+light, all the shops/brands told me that it was remote control only. No-one explained that some remote controls have this sensor in the fan, while some don't. And I was told that the 2-switch option was not available (which the Elmark person now says has always been possible!). Even when I described in detail that we had been using the 2-switch setup since 1999, all the various shops said \"cannot\". </blockquote></blockquote>For those who are interested in the outcome of my long ding-dong with Elmark (extended even more because we went away for 2 weeks), we finally got our 3 ceiling fans+lights changed to operating from wall switches and regulators instead of by remote control! It cost us $234 in total, which we are somewhat annoyed by, but we are so happy not to have to bother with the remote controls now. If the shop had not erroneously told us that this option was not possible, we would have had this done from the beginning and saved this fee and a whole lot of aggravation!<br /><br />The 3 new regulators cost $114, and $120 was charged for transport and \"assessment\" - i.e. to check whether it was possible. And since we had all the wiring and switches already there, the technician simply took a look and said 'can' - all of 1 minute! He said he wouldn't charge us for workmanship, as he probably decided that the assessment fee was also the workmanship fee.<br /><br />Anyway, we are happy now, but Elmark has definitely lost a customer. We were repeat customers, and if they had done a better job in their customer service, we would probably gone back to them a 3rd time eventually. Too bad for them.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089490</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2089490</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 22 Nov 2022 13:12:57 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 12:27:46 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>zac's mum\" post_id=\"2086071\" time=\"1666081611\" user_id=\"53606:</b>[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2086071 time=1666081611 user_id=53606]<br />This is indeed a stupid feature. It occurs in all newer models of fans with lights. All brands - believe me, we asked every single shop we went to.<br /><br />A simple way to get around it: never turn off the mains switch on the wall. Label it or tape it up with masking tape if u need to, so guests don’t itchy fingers switch it off. We use only the remote to turn on and off.<br /><br />Believe me, any electricity you may think you’re wasting by leaving the mains on, is absolutely negligible. I left them on at my vacated unit, only went back once a week for tuition lesson (they used the aircon in the common room for 2 hours). My electricity + water bill came up to be $2 per month.[/quote]</blockquote>Hmm?  No leh.  If I turned off the main switch, and turn it on again, the fan continues the state it was in when I turned it off.  All my fans are like that, including the cheapo Fanztec fan I just bought last month.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086090</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086090</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[ChiefKiasu]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 12:27:46 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 08:39:50 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2086053\" time=\"1666066594\" user_id=\"14025:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Am using KDK ceiling fan with light (3 types ie warm, cool etc).<br />Once i switch on the power (at the wall), both the fan and light will be on.<br />During the day, I need to use its remote control to turn off the light.<br /><br />If I need only the light, then i need to use its remote control to turn off the fan.<br /><br />It is stupid but this is how it works.<br /><br />Unsure those who have KDK ceiling fan with light face this.</blockquote></blockquote>Yes we use KDK as well and this is how it works too. I think it’s normal for the newer models. It has served us well.. coming 8th year and still working well.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086073</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086073</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Zeal mummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 08:39:50 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 08:26:51 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2086053\" time=\"1666066594\" user_id=\"14025:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Am using KDK ceiling fan with light (3 types ie warm, cool etc).<br />Once i switch on the power (at the wall), both the fan and light will be on.<br />During the day, I need to use its remote control to turn off the light.<br /><br />If I need only the light, then i need to use its remote control to turn off the fan.<br /><br />It is stupid but this is how it works.<br /><br />Unsure those who have KDK ceiling fan with light face this.</blockquote></blockquote>This is indeed a stupid feature. It occurs in all newer models of fans with lights. All brands - believe me, we asked every single shop we went to.<br /><br />A simple way to get around it: never turn off the mains switch on the wall. Label it or tape it up with masking tape if u need to, so guests don’t itchy fingers switch it off. We use only the remote to turn on and off.<br /><br />Believe me, any electricity you may think you’re wasting by leaving the mains on, is absolutely negligible. I left them on at my vacated unit, only went back once a week for tuition lesson (they used the aircon in the common room for 2 hours). My electricity + water bill came up to be $2 per month.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086071</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086071</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[zac&#x27;s mum]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 08:26:51 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 07:24:45 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>doodbug\" post_id=\"2086055\" time=\"1666068944\" user_id=\"13281:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />How come noone uses Fanco fans here? I have 7 Fanco fans, of which 6 have lights and remotes - none of which have broken down yet (6 years old). <br /><br />My previous flat was Crestar fans  with lights  -  5 of them. None of which had remotes, all the pull chain type to control the fan.</blockquote></blockquote>Fanco was our no. 2 choice, but since Elmark had served us well since 1999, (and we changed because the light fixtures were breaking down, the fans were fine) we decided to go with that brand again. And maybe the remote control we have is a lemon (the other 2 are still fine - so far!).<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086070</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086070</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 07:24:45 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 05:26:57 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2086053\" time=\"1666066594\" user_id=\"14025:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Am using KDK ceiling fan with light (3 types ie warm, cool etc).<br />Once i switch on the power (at the wall), both the fan and light will be on.<br />During the day, I need to use its remote control to turn off the light.<br /><br />If I need only the light, then i need to use its remote control to turn off the fan.<br /><br />It is stupid but this is how it works.<br /><br />Unsure those who have KDK ceiling fan with light face this.</blockquote></blockquote>Yup mine too. So we use the remote to turn the fans on and off. Been using KDK ceiling fans all these while. Previous ones were without light and worked well for more than 10 years. They were still working fine when we replaced them with those with lights.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086058</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086058</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Funz]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 05:26:57 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 04:55:44 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">How come noone uses Fanco fans here? I have 7 Fanco fans, of which 6 have lights and remotes - none of which have broken down yet (6 years old). <br /><br /><br />My previous flat was Crestar fans  with lights  -  5 of them. None of which had remotes, all the pull chain type to control the fan.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086055</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086055</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[doodbug]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 04:55:44 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 04:16:34 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Am using KDK ceiling fan with light (3 types ie warm, cool etc).<br /><br />Once i switch on the power (at the wall), both the fan and light will be on.<br />During the day, I need to use its remote control to turn off the light.<br /><br />If I need only the light, then i need to use its remote control to turn off the fan.<br /><br />It is stupid but this is how it works.<br /><br />Unsure those who have KDK ceiling fan with light face this.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086053</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086053</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[starlight1968sg]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 04:16:34 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 03:38:47 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2086030\" time=\"1666053144\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />We already have that as we had been operating on the 2-switch setup since 1999! And we made that clear to all the shops we spoke to.</blockquote></blockquote>Oh I meant the fan/switch of the fan, has to have the right wiring for 2 switch. Definitely the salespersons fault for not explaining it well though.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086047</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086047</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Zeal mummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 03:38:47 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:32:24 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2086025\" time=\"1666042496\" user_id=\"58173:</b>[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2086025 time=1666042496 user_id=58173]<br /><a href="https://youtu.be/HNPgpiteUzQ">https://youtu.be/HNPgpiteUzQ</a><br />It can be done technically but probably not recommended… you’ll have to have the right wiring for 2 switches.[/quote]</blockquote>We already have that as we had been operating on the 2-switch setup since 1999! And we made that clear to all the shops we spoke to.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086030</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086030</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:32:24 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:30:18 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2086023\" time=\"1666026852\" user_id=\"48901:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />For me, is to buy \"dumb\" things as much as possible, so long as it serves the functions. I avoid \"smart\" things due to risk of sensors/ \"intellengence units\" breaking down.</blockquote></blockquote>Totally agree with you, but when buying fan+light, all the shops/brands told me that it was remote control only. No-one explained that some remote controls have this sensor in the fan, while some don't. And I was told that the 2-switch option was not available (which the Elmark person now says has always been possible!). Even when I described in detail that we had been using the 2-switch setup since 1999, all the various shops said \"cannot\". Most things in my house can be operated manually, even if we have remote controls. The only exception is the aircon units - but how many aircons are there which have manual controls now? <br /><br />My conclusion is that service standards in Singapore still have a long way to go. I am not the kind to rush in and buy bigger-ticket items without asking a lot of questions, reading their literature, etc. Good service should include explaining things that are more unusual (like the process of changing remote controls involving a technician making a house call), especially since I did ask about replacing a remote control. And instead of apologising that the original salesperson did not explain well, the one I spoke to yesterday made it sound as if we should have known and it was our fault for being ignorant. Not the best way to appease an already irritated customer.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086029</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086029</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:30:18 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:17:52 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>phtthp\" post_id=\"2086019\" time=\"1666023279\" user_id=\"35251:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Going forward, <br /><br /> lesson learnt, in life - <br /><br />Whenever you buy anything new, <br />always think of the future, potential  MAINTAINENCE costs involved ahead, in advance -<br /><br />\" what will happen, if repair or break down need to be done one fine day, and u need to fix it, due to wear and tear of product (equipment) ? \" <br /><br />Ask in detail first,<br /> BEFORE u start buying.<br />...</blockquote></blockquote>I did! But you can't help it when the sales person doesn't give you good answers, whether out of ignorance or laziness. I definitely asked about replacement of remote controls, and the answer was something like \"oh, very easy, no problem, can just buy a replacement\" - no mention that replacement requires that a technician needs to visit and replace the sensor in the fan itself, and the procedure can cost over $100!<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086027</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086027</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 18 Oct 2022 00:17:52 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 21:34:56 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2085986\" time=\"1666010119\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Problem was that we were told that fans+light combos only work with remote controls. Now the lady tells me that the switched solution is possible, we're waiting for the service dept. to contact us about getting that done. I hope she's correct that it can be done.</blockquote></blockquote><a href="https://youtu.be/HNPgpiteUzQ">https://youtu.be/HNPgpiteUzQ</a><br />It can be done technically but probably not recommended… you’ll have to have the right wiring for 2 switches.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086025</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086025</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Zeal mummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 21:34:56 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 21:32:02 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I prefer simple machines too. But look around, most of WM, fridge, fans etc are high tech …</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086024</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086024</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[starlight1968sg]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 21:32:02 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 17:14:12 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">For me, is to buy "dumb" things as much as possible, so long as it serves the functions. I avoid "smart" things due to risk of sensors/ "intellengence units" breaking down.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086023</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086023</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Coolkidsrock2]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 17:14:12 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 16:14:39 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2085961\" time=\"1665989911\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />The problem is that the Elmark service centre communicates by WA only, and they use template responses. So when we asked, the quoted us the total charge. We've just returned from the store (more like warehouse), and it seems that the part is free as it would be under warranty, but we would have to pay $60 for transport and workmanship. If they had told us that right from the beginning, we might have grumbled, but would probably have paid. Our 1 year warranty ends in Dec.<br /><br />The plot thickens... it seems that it is actually possible to have the fan and lights operated from separate wall switches, without needing a remote control at all! This was what we had all along, and I distinctly recall asking to have this done again - spoke to 2 separate sales people - but was told it wasn't possible. Today, the salesperson there (different person) offered it as an alternative solution! But it will cost us additional fees as it will be a reinstallation. And she says she cannot confirm the cost - we have to \"talk\" to the service centre! After our strong persuasion, she agreed to first talk to them herself, then ask them to contact us. I must congratulate myself that I didn't actually lose my temper with her, because although she was quite helpful in the end, she was also extremely stubborn, and refused to get off her standard responses until we insisted, and insisted, and insisted... I guess I out-stubborned her!</blockquote></blockquote>Going forward, <br /><br /> lesson learnt, in life - <br /><br />Whenever you buy anything new, <br />always think of the future, potential  MAINTAINENCE costs involved ahead, in advance -<br /><br />\" what will happen, if repair or break down need to be done one fine day, and u need to fix it, due to wear and tear of product (equipment) ? \" <br /><br />Ask in detail first,<br /> BEFORE u start buying.<br /><br />Standard questions asked <br /><br />Scenario 1 <br />1) if light break down, but fan still working,  how ? <br />Call who to repair light,<br /> how much ? <br /><br />Scenario 2<br />2) if fan break down, but light still working, how ?<br />Call  who to repair fan, <br />how much? <br /><br />Scenario 3<br />3) if both fan and light break down, how ? <br />Call Who to repair ?<br />How much ? <br /><br />You find out info already, if not happy, then don't buy. Buy another brand<br /><br />Like what LNW advised, so aptly - <br /><br />\"Jin yi shi, zhang yi zhi \"<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086019</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086019</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[phtthp]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 16:14:39 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 16:04:31 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2085986\" time=\"1666010119\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Problem was that we were told that fans+light combos only work with remote controls. Now the lady tells me that the switched solution is possible, we're waiting for the service dept. to contact us about getting that done. I hope she's correct that it can be done.</blockquote></blockquote>Then just wait for the service dept. to explain how the switched solution will be done.  The worst case is to pay for the repair charge on the sensor inside the fan so that it can work with the remote control again.  经一事，长一智，so next time, try to get another brand of fan.  I couldn't recall how much I have spent on the set up and repair of my Starhub cable TV boxes.  Sometimes, this kind of money could not be saved  :moneyflies:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086018</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2086018</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Liew Nga Wing]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 16:04:31 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 12:35:19 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2085977\" time=\"1666001689\" user_id=\"195250:</b>[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2085977 time=1666001689 user_id=195250]<br />Then just go without the remote control, no need to find a replacement.[/quote]</blockquote>Problem was that we were told that fans+light combos only work with remote controls. Now the lady tells me that the switched solution is possible, we're waiting for the service dept. to contact us about getting that done. I hope she's correct that it can be done.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2085986</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2085986</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[sharonkhoo]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 12:35:19 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to House Renovation - designers or ala-carte? on Mon, 17 Oct 2022 10:14:49 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2085976\" time=\"1666000795\" user_id=\"28674:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />I've never liked remote controls - makes people lazy!</blockquote></blockquote>Then just go without the remote control, no need to find a replacement.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2085977</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2085977</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Liew Nga Wing]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Oct 2022 10:14:49 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>