<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Ang Mo Kio Secondary School]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Anyone has children from this school and what’s your feedback?<br /><br />Thinking that my son (score of 230) should opt this school as his top choice as they have been very strong academically and very consistent too.<br />Seems like AMKSS (COP 217, achieved band 4 in 2010) is a better choice than Presbyterian (COP 229, band 5) or Chung Cheng Yishun (COP 230, band 6)<br /><br />Please do offer your views.<br />Thank you!</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/16433/ang-mo-kio-secondary-school</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Thu, 23 Apr 2026 22:29:46 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/16433.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Sat, 27 Nov 2010 06:36:13 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Wed, 20 Dec 2023 03:41:48 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Any Whatsapp group for 2024 Sec1 ?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2125132</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/2125132</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[meplaa]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 20 Dec 2023 03:41:48 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 16 Nov 2019 02:42:17 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Psle result release this Thurs, anyone has anything to share about this school?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1946710</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1946710</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[2bhappy2]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 16 Nov 2019 02:42:17 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 16 Nov 2019 02:41:30 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Psle result release this Thurs, anyone has anything to share about this school?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1946709</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1946709</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[2bhappy2]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 16 Nov 2019 02:41:30 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 02 Nov 2019 02:03:48 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">My DD is into drama and told me she is interested in this school.  She will receive her result end this month.  Anyone can provide feedback.  Is this a good school? The environment, principal, teacher and student ok?  Appreciate any sharing, please.  TQ.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1944302</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1944302</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[2bhappy2]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 02 Nov 2019 02:03:48 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Wed, 23 Oct 2019 00:23:02 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">May I know about this school too?  Students n teachers n environment.  Thank you</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1942748</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1942748</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Blue Pearl]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 23 Oct 2019 00:23:02 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 25 Aug 2019 04:08:09 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi,<br /><br />Any update on amkss?<br />Staff ok? Environment ok?<br />Thanks.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1931253</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1931253</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Seb]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 25 Aug 2019 04:08:09 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 11 Aug 2019 08:03:01 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi iRabbit,<br /><br />Thanks so much.  Based on my son results, i think he is maybe somewhere in the range of 225 - 230, hence phs and Anderson is likely out of range.  Moreover, both schools do not have the dsa that my son is interested in.  Going for more popular schools for dsa, schools with 24X and 25X range may also be a bad idea as some treat dsa student differently and may not be near amk.<br /><br />In other words, i am quite confirmed to aim for amkss since it has a history of being considered a good neighbourhood school since the 80s, 90s… however, feedbacks here on this school are quite dated, hence i hope to hear if there is latest updates.  Pardon me for being Kiasu and kiasi…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1928024</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1928024</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Seb]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 11 Aug 2019 08:03:01 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 11 Aug 2019 06:23:14 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Seb\" post_id=\"1927962\" time=\"1565491432\" user_id=\"179161:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Hi Zac's mum,<br />Thanks for the reply and advice.  I have some info on dsa through friends experience and readup.  Actually, i am looking for feedback about amkss.  From what i observed from seating around at a coffee shop near the school, the students are quite well behave.  Just hope someone who has more info of the school can share more.  Dsa do give us 3 schools option, hence was thinking amkss as one if the school has a good study environment since i be living in amk area.  Any sharing will be very much appreciated.<br />Thanks.</blockquote></blockquote>DSA is a double-edged sword.  Once you accept the CO, you are stuck with the sch for 4-6 years. However if you enrol via S1 posting, you still have the option to transfer out in the event of unforseen circumstances. <br /><br />In AMK, Anderson Sec (24x) and Presbyterian High (23x) seem to be popular sch in the area. I guess a lot will depend on the expected COP of the kid. Average could mean 20x all the way to 23x for different pple. But no matter what, AMKSS' COP of 228 is quite a high benchmark.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927995</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927995</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[iRabbit]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 11 Aug 2019 06:23:14 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 11 Aug 2019 02:43:52 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi Zac’s mum,<br /><br />Thanks for the reply and advice.  I have some info on dsa through friends experience and readup.  Actually, i am looking for feedback about amkss.  From what i observed from seating around at a coffee shop near the school, the students are quite well behave.  Just hope someone who has more info of the school can share more.  Dsa do give us 3 schools option, hence was thinking amkss as one if the school has a good study environment since i be living in amk area.  Any sharing will be very much appreciated.<br />Thanks.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927962</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927962</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Seb]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 11 Aug 2019 02:43:52 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 11 Aug 2019 00:43:59 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Seb\" post_id=\"1918125\" time=\"1562476401\" user_id=\"179161:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Hi all,<br />My son is P5 this year.  As we are moving to amk, was thinking of putting him into amkss, current COP is 228.  Anyone can provide some feedback.  My son is an average student.  Should i consider another school?  Also for those that enter amkss via dsa, will they be treated differently?  Also, are the current school staff ok? TIA.</blockquote></blockquote>Have a look at this link, the DSA page of AMKSS. If your son has any of these talents, I’m sure the school will be happy to offer him a place via DSA next year. <br /><br /><a href="https://angmokiosec.moe.edu.sg/students/prospective-students/direct-school-admission-dsa-1">https://angmokiosec.moe.edu.sg/students/prospective-students/direct-school-admission-dsa-1</a><br /><br />Generally, DSA comes with a commitment/bond of 4 years in that CCA. So make sure that he’s willing to agree to this commitment. <br /><br />Also, if you expect his PSLE score to be above 228, it’s not worth to DSA. If you expect his PSLE score to be somewhere below 228, then yes it’s safer to Chope the place via DSA.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927956</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927956</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[zac&#x27;s mum]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 11 Aug 2019 00:43:59 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 10 Aug 2019 23:44:16 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Anyone can give some advice? TIA.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927949</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1927949</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Seb]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 10 Aug 2019 23:44:16 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 07 Jul 2019 05:13:21 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi all,<br /><br />My son is P5 this year.  As we are moving to amk, was thinking of putting him into amkss, current COP is 228.  Anyone can provide some feedback.  My son is an average student.  Should i consider another school?  Also for those that enter amkss via dsa, will they be treated differently?  Also, are the current school staff ok? TIA.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1918125</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1918125</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Seb]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 07 Jul 2019 05:13:21 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 25 Nov 2017 16:21:50 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">AMKSS dancers are very good. Comparable to SOTA.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1818475</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1818475</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[limws1]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 Nov 2017 16:21:50 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Fri, 27 Oct 2017 02:59:30 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi, any feedback on this school ie. teachers and sch environement? Thanks.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1811662</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1811662</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[taobaby]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 27 Oct 2017 02:59:30 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Mon, 30 Nov 2015 02:02:52 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Can I please check does AMK Sec school ONLY offer HIGER CHINESE? Based on the Sec school selection handbook, it only indicates HIGHER CHINESE? Please advise…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1610932</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1610932</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[serenetml]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 30 Nov 2015 02:02:52 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Wed, 28 Jan 2015 09:29:08 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>8926m:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Skyline123:</b><p>[quote=\"8926m\"]My son went to AMK sec. also...</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />Which class is your son in?<p></p></blockquote>He is in 1/3. What about yours?[/quote]my daughter is in 1/2.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1458347</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1458347</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Skyline123]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 28 Jan 2015 09:29:08 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 11 Jan 2015 15:19:34 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Skyline123:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>8926m:</b><p>My son went to AMK sec. also...</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />Which class is your son in?<p></p></blockquote>He is in 1/3. What about yours?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1447856</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1447856</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[8926m]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 11 Jan 2015 15:19:34 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sat, 03 Jan 2015 05:48:51 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>8926m:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">My son went to AMK sec. also...</blockquote></blockquote><br />Which class is your son in?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1441956</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1441956</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Skyline123]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 03 Jan 2015 05:48:51 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Tue, 23 Dec 2014 02:27:51 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">My son went to AMK sec. also…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1435830</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1435830</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[8926m]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Tue, 23 Dec 2014 02:27:51 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Fri, 19 Dec 2014 01:59:11 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">my dd got into this school</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1433574</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1433574</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Skyline123]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 19 Dec 2014 01:59:11 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Thu, 26 Dec 2013 18:12:41 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Hi,<br /><br />Can someone advise how to select CCA at the school? which one is better and why?<br />my DS wants to go for Boys Brigade/Soccer. Or, can he go for both?<br />please please advice soon.<br />thanks</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1174901</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1174901</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[KalkiD]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Thu, 26 Dec 2013 18:12:41 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 24 Nov 2013 15:42:19 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I recommend Chung Cheng High Yishun over AMKSS. Chung Cheng Yishun has new leadership team this year comprising of new P who was VP of the same school for about 2 yrs.  2 VPs, with one of them from affiliated NYJC &amp; this yr has another VP whom I heard was formerly from Xinmin.  The new P according to my son who is studying Sec 2 walks around the sch often &amp; seems to be interested in studies &amp; CCAs.  The lady VP looks caring.  Didn’t know much about the male VP so checked internet on him &amp; found he is quite well known when he was in Xinmin (heard he rose from tr to Discipline Master then IT HOD then VP - can’t confirm). Only heard he was one of the trs that helped Xinmin moved up sch ranking to top sch before posted to another neighborhood sch in AMK - think Yio Chu Kang. Found out when he left the sch last yr, staff &amp; pupils miss him as he was very strict yet caring. Sch improved a lot over the past few yrs. AMKSS has some issues with a couple of HODs judging by the comments posted. Plus pt for joining Chung Cheng Yishun, quite good results plus affiliated to NYJC which means 2 bonus pts.  Didn’t regret sending my son to Chung Cheng Yishun - seems improving quite a bit.  Almost sent my son to Yishun Town - then heard autonomous sch also had same COP too. Discussed with wife &amp; think Chung Cheng Yishun not autonomous sch yet has same COP as Yishun Town which has no affiliation. So we decided to choose Chung Cheng Yishun.  So far, no regrets.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1153879</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1153879</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[chenks]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 24 Nov 2013 15:42:19 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Sun, 24 Nov 2013 15:21:12 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Any feedback for this school compare with Chung Cheng High (Yishun)?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1153857</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/1153857</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[chernme]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 24 Nov 2013 15:21:12 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Ang Mo Kio Secondary School on Wed, 30 Jan 2013 23:58:37 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Any parent with kids study sec 1 this year? My Ds is in AMKSS sec 1.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/949657</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/949657</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[galgal]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 30 Jan 2013 23:58:37 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>