<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>tuition_czar:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasu2010:</b><p>there is the 'market place' section for solicitation of business<br /><br /><br />this website is quite well thought out, it caters for both demand and supply</p></blockquote></blockquote>What website are you referring to?<p></p></blockquote><a href="http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&amp;t=36962">http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&amp;t=36962</a><p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/37107/charging-lower-tuition-fees-for-true-blue-singaporeans</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Wed, 24 Jun 2026 22:19:40 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/37107.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2012 16:02:21 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Thu, 28 Jun 2012 04:48:53 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">there is the ‘market place’ section for solicitation of business<br /><br /><br />this website is quite well thought out, it caters for both demand and supply</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/785217</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/785217</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasu2010]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2012 04:48:53 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Thu, 28 Jun 2012 04:22:36 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I feel, if you do it as a provider out of your own initiative, it is fine.<br /><br /><br />But if consumer expects it from a private provider… it may not be that… practical…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/785190</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/785190</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[limlim]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Thu, 28 Jun 2012 04:22:36 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 09:39:12 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Funz:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">Personally, there are many ways to give back. Just leave race, religion, nationality, gender, out of the equation. Sensitive lah. Wanna do so, do it quietly. Or tie up with CDAC to provide free tuition for needy families. For this can set Singapore Citizen as on of the criteria to receive the organisation's tuition bursary. <br /><br /><br />Else will be like that promo for expat only by Starhub. Big hooha.</blockquote></blockquote> :celebrate:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783177</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783177</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[blessed777]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 09:39:12 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:55:58 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>verykiasu2010:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><p>I understand that as a foreigner i will encounter some sort of anti foreigner sentiment of various degrees here. Well at least its not as bad as some countries. I do agree recent government policies have increased these tensions and even i feel a bit uncomfortable at sudden surge of foreign workforce here.<br /><br /><br />As for the Malay foodstall example, i quote it just as an example lar, no particular grudge. I always speak to them in Malay and they are nice to me. But i actually see this incident of different charge personally before happening to other person.</p></blockquote></blockquote>aiya, I see then also lidat ...... 2 prata kosong charge me $2, and the Malay brother need pay only $1.40, just in front of me ...... but to me, okay lar, just let me enjoy the prata, can't afford to eat prata every day oso...<br /><br />but you foreigner has mastered the singlish liao har?<p></p></blockquote>Been living here ever since secondary school days, haha. Married a Singaporean also. But still cannot get rid of my accent leh.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783159</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783159</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Dreamaurora]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:55:58 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:55:57 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Personally, there are many ways to give back. Just leave race, religion, nationality, gender, out of the equation. Sensitive lah. Wanna do so, do it quietly. Or tie up with CDAC to provide free tuition for needy families. For this can set Singapore Citizen as on of the criteria to receive the organisation’s tuition bursary. <br /><br /><br />Else will be like that promo for expat only by Starhub. Big hooha.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783158</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783158</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Funz]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:55:57 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:46:53 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">I understand that as a foreigner i will encounter some sort of anti foreigner sentiment of various degrees here. Well at least its not as bad as some countries. I do agree recent government policies have increased these tensions and even i feel a bit uncomfortable at sudden surge of foreign workforce here.<br /><br /><br />As for the Malay foodstall example, i quote it just as an example lar, no particular grudge. I always speak to them in Malay and they are nice to me. But i actually see this incident of different charge personally before happening to other person.</blockquote></blockquote>aiya, I see then also lidat ...... 2 prata kosong charge me $2, and the Malay brother need pay only $1.40, just in front of me ...... but to me, okay lar, just let me enjoy the prata, can't afford to eat prata every day oso...<br /><br />but you foreigner has mastered the singlish liao har?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783150</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783150</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasu2010]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:46:53 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:40:21 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I understand that as a foreigner i will encounter some sort of anti foreigner sentiment of various degrees here. Well at least its not as bad as some countries. I do agree recent government policies have increased these tensions and even i feel a bit uncomfortable at sudden surge of foreign workforce here.<br /><br /><br />As for the Malay foodstall example, i quote it just as an example lar, no particular grudge. I always speak to them in Malay and they are nice to me. But i actually see this incident of different charge personally before happening to other person.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783145</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783145</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Dreamaurora]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:40:21 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:33:59 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br /><br />The suggestion of giving free tuition I feel is better as this can be done much more low profile and minimum conflict as possible. Putting separate prices black and white I still think is not a good idea. Imagine you go to a restaurant and the menu cost different for foreigners and locals. Yes, the locals will not mind, but the foreigners will mind. That being said, if really want to give cheaper price for locals, I think must be done as discreetly as possible and if the foreign parents ask why is this so, one must not give the actual reasons.</blockquote></blockquote>long time ago, when traveling on domestic flights in China, foreigners' air ticket prices were at least 30% higher than local.  It was gov't policy.  We always told the governors that it is not sustainable ..... sooner than later it has to give way to fairness and commercial sense.  Better for them to compete on open discount fares (current practice) than fare differentiation based on local / foreign.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783135</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783135</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasu2010]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:33:59 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:29:08 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">lots of conjectures with regard to so-called preferential treatment of foreigners by the government because they are perceived to be rich<br /><br /><br />xenophobic<br /><br />great great majority of students in MOE schools are local citizens<br /><br />therefore if local citizens are given discounts on tuition fees based on nationality, then a great majority of perhaps even 100% of the tuition students will be paying the same discounted fees.  so what is the difference ? just a lower profit margin.<br /><br />call me cynical.  it is just a nuanced way of marketing for tuition.  nothing wrong either.  I also browsed the website.  Yes, free take away are there.  Applause ! Well done!<br /><br />But the provider is running a business.  Freebies will need to be paid from somewhere.  Where else but from tuition fees ?  Provider also need income … this discussion will then generate interest in that website and help achieve the thread starter’s objective – drawing people to that website and hopefully sign up for paid tuition<br /><br />Of course thread starter can always defend and dispute no, purely altruistic etc…  <br /><br />As I said I am cynical, but ksp has a dedicated section for marketing of services of all kinds .</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783131</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783131</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasu2010]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 08:29:08 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:59:55 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>tuition_czar:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br /><br />Relating this to politics is a bit stretching it. I believe Whitecorp's motivation is very simple and innocent, to give financial discounts to locals. What is so wrong with that? At least he demonstrates willingness in considering to help his fellow Singaporeans. <br /><br />Open your eyes wide and read carefully, he did not mention anything about not teaching(or helping) everyone equally. It is not as if he teaches more stuff to some, and hides material from others.</blockquote></blockquote>That's why I commended him on trying to help his fellow Singaporeans and I do wish more people are willing to do that, but we must be careful about how people perceive us also. Maybe xenophobia is too a strong word, but I think at least you can see how a foreigner like me perceive this action. <br /><br />When you are the one being marginalised (for lack of better word), you will tend to view things negatively even if it is not so. Take the example of Malay food stall I quoted earlier, it is no secret that some Malay food stalls will give cheaper prices for their fellow Malay brethren. But let's say if you are a non Malay and queue at the same time and you see the Malay person in front of you get cheaper price even though he orders the same thing as you, you will not think 'oh, it's ok, the Malay auntie just looking after her own people'. You will think 'why the Malay auntie tried to chop carrot me'. You see what I mean? <br /><br />The suggestion of giving free tuition I feel is better as this can be done much more low profile and minimum conflict as possible. Putting separate prices black and white I still think is not a good idea. Imagine you go to a restaurant and the menu cost different for foreigners and locals. Yes, the locals will not mind, but the foreigners will mind. That being said, if really want to give cheaper price for locals, I think must be done as discreetly as possible and if the foreign parents ask why is this so, one must not give the actual reasons.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783108</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783108</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Dreamaurora]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:59:55 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:56:35 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">mod’s note<br /><br /><br />Kindly be reminded to focus your discussion on the topic and not at each other.<br /><br />There will always be differences opinion, do agree to disagree.<br /><br />Name calling and vulgarities are not welcomed here. We are all mature adults, let’s set good example for all children.<br /><br />Please help to maintain harmony in this forum.<br /><br />Thank you.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783104</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783104</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[tankee]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:56:35 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:46:48 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>limlim:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Lilac66:</b><p><br />Short of banning tuition centres, the teachers in school should identify the children who really need extra coaching in their work, send them for tuition and the tuition centres are operated with subsidies from govt.<br /><br />In that sense, it'll benefit those that truly need it</p></blockquote></blockquote>I mentioned in another thread that.. if tuition is a \"need\" and not a \"want\", it should be administered by the school..<br /><br />Just like drugs.. to avoid abuse and unnecessary over-dosage to poor kids..<p></p></blockquote><br />This pt I fully agree!<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783094</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783094</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Lilac66]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:46:48 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:19:29 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Lilac66:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br />Short of banning tuition centres, the teachers in school should identify the children who really need extra coaching in their work, send them for tuition and the tuition centres are operated with subsidies from govt.<br /><br />In that sense, it'll benefit those that truly need it</blockquote></blockquote>I mentioned in another thread that.. if tuition is a \"need\" and not a \"want\", it should be administered by the school..<br /><br />Just like drugs.. to avoid abuse and unnecessary over-dosage to poor kids..<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783061</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/783061</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[limlim]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:19:29 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:23:10 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>kooky83:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">It won't make sense, assuming tutors are profit-maximizing. Why would they do something for less money?</blockquote></blockquote><br /> If you look past s11, it makes sense. If not, it does not make CENTS.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782999</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782999</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Carnagejane]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:23:10 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:21:36 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>schweppes:</b><p>Instead of charging lower fees to only \"true blue Sporeans, personally, I would rather \"reward\" my loyal customers or students who have been with me for a few years. For example, no increase in fees or maybe have a discounted pricing for sibling, something alongst those lines. <br /><br /><br />And if I really want to practice social responsibility and help a fellow Sporean, maybe can tutor for free 2-3 students who are on financial assistance for one year? At least, we are really helping students who genuinely need tuition but whose parents can't afford it.</p></blockquote></blockquote>I agree with your much more elegant solution to 'social responsibility'. While I do not fault whitecorp for wanting help his fellow Singaporeans, we have to be careful here lest we got caught in a slippery slope. Whitecorp's suggestion does reek of xenophobia (even if he does not intend it that way) and like what jedamum said it can easily be construed as an advertising gimmick. It's kind of like how some Malay food stalls sometimes overcharge non Malays.<p></p></blockquote>I beg you not to comment, you make me retch. Whitecorp does not sound xenophobic. You go boy whitecorp.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782994</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782994</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Carnagejane]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:21:36 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:19:12 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>whitecorp:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><p>If one is a commercial entity, I see no reason why this distinction has to be made. It will cause much unhappiness over existing students or customers (i.e. why suddenly your local students pay lesser fees than mine) and you will be basically alienating the PRs and foreigners who will go for your competitors who charge fairly. For government institutions the different fees are okay because the locals are subsidised with taxpayers' money, but commercial entities are not.</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />Right, I guess perhaps you are unfamiliar with the term social responsibility. And a good start would be to help your own kind. At times it isn't simply about making lots of money. Why do you think I even created a free resource site for other students to grab whatever they desire?<br /><br />I reckon even if there is price differentiation, the rubber band of economics won't bounce back sharply and smack me hard in the face. So long as I can deliver the goods, people will still come knocking. Peace.<p></p></blockquote> :goodpost:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782990</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782990</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Carnagejane]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 06:19:12 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:50:46 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>nansk:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>whitecorp:</b><p>I had a rather interesting discussion with my student after his lesson today, where we broached the topic of tutors setting different tuition fee structures-a lower one so that born and bred here Singaporeans can benefit financially; foreigners and PRs on the other hand will not get to enjoy this privilege.<br /><br /><br />Are you against or in favor of such an implementation? <br /><br />For the record I am not xenophobic.</p></blockquote></blockquote>\"Are you against or in favor of such an implementation?\"<br />That depends. How blue will you accept? Light blue can or must be midnight blue? If my dark blue is mixed with my spouse's white, will that change my kids' prospects of getting cheaper tuition? You must specify clearly in black-and-blue (oops, I mean black-and-white) for us to decide.<p></p></blockquote>maybe should be 50 shades of pink (IC)  :rotflmao:  :rotflmao:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782957</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782957</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[schweppes]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:50:46 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:21:47 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">It won’t make sense, assuming tutors are profit-maximizing. Why would they do something for less money?</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782928</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782928</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[kooky83]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:21:47 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:20:12 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>schweppes:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">Instead of charging lower fees to only \"true blue Sporeans, personally, I would rather \"reward\" my loyal customers or students who have been with me for a few years. For example, no increase in fees or maybe have a discounted pricing for sibling, something alongst those lines. <br /><br /><br />And if I really want to practice social responsibility and help a fellow Sporean, maybe can tutor for free 2-3 students who are on financial assistance for one year? At least, we are really helping students who genuinely need tuition but whose parents can't afford it.</blockquote></blockquote>I agree with your much more elegant solution to 'social responsibility'. While I do not fault whitecorp for wanting help his fellow Singaporeans, we have to be careful here lest we got caught in a slippery slope. Whitecorp's suggestion does reek of xenophobia (even if he does not intend it that way) and like what jedamum said it can easily be construed as an advertising gimmick. It's kind of like how some Malay food stalls sometimes overcharge non Malays.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782924</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782924</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Dreamaurora]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:20:12 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:16:40 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>whitecorp:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">I had a rather interesting discussion with my student after his lesson today, where we broached the topic of tutors setting different tuition fee structures-a lower one so that born and bred here Singaporeans can benefit financially; foreigners and PRs on the other hand will not get to enjoy this privilege.<br /><br /><br />Are you against or in favor of such an implementation? <br /><br />For the record I am not xenophobic.</blockquote></blockquote>\"Are you against or in favor of such an implementation?\"<br />That depends. How blue will you accept? Light blue can or must be midnight blue? If my dark blue is mixed with my spouse's white, will that change my kids' prospects of getting cheaper tuition? You must specify clearly in black-and-blue (oops, I mean black-and-white) for us to decide.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782921</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782921</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[nansk]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:16:40 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:06:01 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Instead of charging lower fees to only "true blue Sporeans, personally, I would rather "reward" my loyal customers or students who have been with me for a few years. For example, no increase in fees or maybe have a discounted pricing for sibling, something alongst those lines. <br /><br /><br />And if I really want to practice social responsibility and help a fellow Sporean, maybe can tutor for free 2-3 students who are on financial assistance for one year? At least, we are really helping students who genuinely need tuition but whose parents can’t afford it.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782910</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782910</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[schweppes]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:06:01 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:01:07 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>tuition_czar:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>limlim:</b><p>[quote=\"whitecorp\"]I had a rather interesting discussion with my student after his lesson today, where we broached the topic of tutors setting different tuition fee structures-a lower one so that born and bred here Singaporeans can benefit financially; foreigners and PRs on the other hand will not get to enjoy this privilege.<br /><br /><br />Are you against or in favor of such an implementation? <br /><br />For the record I am not xenophobic.</p></blockquote></blockquote>Not practical to expect a private organization to provide incentive to local students.<br /><br /><br /><br />.I rather they <b><b>ban or restrict tuition all together</b></b>. And IMPROVE the national education program at govt schools.<br /><br />How about free gifts for local patrons to casinos instead of a $100 levy..<br /><br />Or cheaper opium for locals.......  :evil: <br /><br />On the other hand, I feel that public transport could implement such a scheme.. they have an obligation and national duty to serve the nation. After all, some of the infrastructure is funded by the state.<br /><br />If the \"tuition or enrichment\" classes is organized by the school, then, I agree with such a scheme, if the school endorse it.<p></p></blockquote>Unfortunately, we can all dream on with regards to banning tuition. Unless the quality of teachers improves homogenously across all local schools.[/quote]<br /><br />Short of banning tuition centres, the teachers in school should identify the children who really need extra coaching in their work, send them for tuition and the tuition centres are operated with subsidies from govt.<br /><br />In that sense, it'll benefit those that truly need it<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782906</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782906</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Lilac66]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 05:01:07 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Charging lower tuition fees for true blue Singaporeans on Mon, 25 Jun 2012 04:55:29 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>whitecorp:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Dreamaurora:</b><p>If one is a commercial entity, I see no reason why this distinction has to be made. It will cause much unhappiness over existing students or customers (i.e. why suddenly your local students pay lesser fees than mine) and you will be basically alienating the PRs and foreigners who will go for your competitors who charge fairly. For government institutions the different fees are okay because the locals are subsidised with taxpayers' money, but commercial entities are not.</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />Right, I guess perhaps you are unfamiliar with the term social responsibility. And a good start would be to help your own kind. At times it isn't simply about making lots of money. Why do you think I even created a free resource site for other students to grab whatever they desire?<br /><br />I reckon even if there is price differentiation, the rubber band of economics won't bounce back sharply and smack me hard in the face. So long as I can deliver the goods, people will still come knocking. Peace.<p></p></blockquote>I understand what you are getting at, but shouldn't you help all students equally regardless of their background; this is an educator's code right? I do not differentiate between locals or foreigners and I teach both of them equally. Let's not bring politics into education. And speaking of social responsibility, beside providing free resources like what you did, I spent a good portion of my youth doing social work helping underpriveledged kids and counseling them, and yes they are your local true blue Singaporeans, so don't jump so fast into conclusions.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782901</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/782901</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Dreamaurora]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 25 Jun 2012 04:55:29 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>