<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Alternative use for tuition]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I was reading the write-up on tuition in the ST today. There were 2 sec level students who are doing well in their studies but opt for tuition so that they will be disciplined to study. <br /><br /><br />The article does not state if both had tuition when they were in primary school. <br /><br />I was scared. I immediately worked with dd1 to get her set a schedule to learn her spelling and tingxie and let her take responsibility.  I think to start small and gradually move on to bigger stuff like her many mini tests.</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/40661/alternative-use-for-tuition</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Fri, 17 Apr 2026 21:42:42 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://forum.kiasuparents.com/topic/40661.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Sat, 15 Sep 2012 13:57:49 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:54:34 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">this is how noble parents are… parents make the best teachers for their kids…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851335</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851335</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:54:34 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:46:37 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p>My hubby said he likes Math and has aced it during his school years. But now faced with son's primary school Math, he said he gave up :slapshead: <br /><br />He will be taking few days leave to 'coach' son for his PSLE. What he will be doing is accompany son. At least better than me...absolutely know nothing.</p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851325</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851325</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[janet88]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:46:37 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:38:25 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>janet_lee88:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Nebbermind:</b><p>[quote=\"verykiasumummy\"] <br /><br />u may find it ridiculous, but that makes the difference with other countries' education system.. why so many neighbouring countries strive to come to sg to study? because of the system as well... </p></blockquote></blockquote>My guess is that (especially for Math), th SG system test beyond the kids' age for pr school.<p></p></blockquote>Many foreigners believe in SG education. Our Math standard is tough. <br />There are many parents who may be degree holders but have problems understanding the problem sums. Difficulty level has been brought down. Certain topics my P6 son learnt at mid-primary is taught at P2 now. When my daughter goes to P3 next year, I dread to think of reading up lower block Science to start all over with her again.[/quote]<br />yes this is so true... i think most parents know it but we couldnt do much to help except to study with them....<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851314</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851314</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:38:25 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:26:10 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Nebbermind:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><p> <br /><br />u may find it ridiculous, but that makes the difference with other countries' education system.. why so many neighbouring countries strive to come to sg to study? because of the system as well... </p></blockquote></blockquote>My guess is that (especially for Math), th SG system test beyond the kids' age for pr school.<p></p></blockquote>Many foreigners believe in SG education. Our Math standard is tough. <br />There are many parents who may be degree holders but have problems understanding the problem sums. Difficulty level has been brought down. Certain topics my P6 son learnt at mid-primary is taught at P2 now. When my daughter goes to P3 next year, I dread to think of reading up lower block Science to start all over with her again.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851308</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851308</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[janet88]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 12:26:10 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 09:14:30 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">wow ur ds writes so well… i wish my ds were this good last yr… goodness!! <br /><br /><br />did u coach him urself?? to me, languages are the most difficult to coach… i can spend time on math n sci cracking my brains and referring to books and more books, but not for eng and chi…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851126</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851126</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 09:14:30 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:48:58 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Chenonceau:</b><p><br /> :snuggles:  :snuggles: I'm bad at Math and Science. I don't even try to read up. I make DS do it instead and smile at him when he explains to me. I'm good at English though... 98th percentile of GMAT global norms... BUT hor... when I wrote a compo for DS to pass up, I only scored 28/40.<br /><br />So... yeah... I understand how you feel.</p></blockquote></blockquote>of cos, our standards were outdated liao... <br /><br />my god, u help ur ds write compo?? is there such a need?<p></p></blockquote>Hahahahaha! No lah... my DS can write quite well... I just wanted to see my own standard vis-a-vis the PSLE.. so I asked him to pass up my work. Here is my DS' writing - <a href="http://www.littleboyscompositions.blogspot.sg">http://www.littleboyscompositions.blogspot.sg</a>. He doesn't need me to write for him.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851099</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851099</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Chenonceau]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:48:58 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:43:53 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Chenonceau:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><p><br /><br />both math n sci in fact... <br /><br />i was one of the tops for sci back in my days... i thought the pri syllabus couldnt be of any challenge to me untill my eldest ds few yrs back when he was going thru his test paper with me... it all got so different, and i really made a very hard effort to read up on all those reference, guides, texts all over again to get to the bottom of what the kids are doing these days... really hard!!!</p></blockquote></blockquote> :snuggles:  :snuggles: I'm bad at Math and Science. I don't even try to read up. I make DS do it instead and smile at him when he explains to me. I'm good at English though... 98th percentile of GMAT global norms... BUT hor... when I wrote a compo for DS to pass up, I only scored 28/40.<br /><br />So... yeah... I understand how you feel.<p></p></blockquote>of cos, our standards were outdated liao... <br /><br />my god, u help ur ds write compo?? is there such a need?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851096</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851096</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:43:53 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:36:56 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Chenonceau:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"> <br /><br />Hah? I do? Anyway... I think I only pushed the thinking as far as inadequate textbooks. I dun think I wrote much about assessment books except that most are mind numbingly BORING and that I could never bring myself to get my kids to do assessment books because I would fall asleep marking them!!<br /><br />I completely agree with the part in red too.</blockquote></blockquote>Yes, the inadequate textbooks part only.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851082</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851082</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Nebbermind]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:36:56 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:12:25 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><br /><br />both math n sci in fact... <br /><br />i was one of the tops for sci back in my days... i thought the pri syllabus couldnt be of any challenge to me untill my eldest ds few yrs back when he was going thru his test paper with me... it all got so different, and i really made a very hard effort to read up on all those reference, guides, texts all over again to get to the bottom of what the kids are doing these days... really hard!!!</blockquote></blockquote> :snuggles:  :snuggles: I'm bad at Math and Science. I don't even try to read up. I make DS do it instead and smile at him when he explains to me. I'm good at English though... 98th percentile of GMAT global norms... BUT hor... when I wrote a compo for DS to pass up, I only scored 28/40.<br /><br />So... yeah... I understand how you feel.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851050</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851050</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Chenonceau]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:12:25 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:09:51 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Nebbermind:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>slmkhoo:</b><p><br />But why should they be doing assessment books? It's a highly Singaporean thing that I believe grew out of the gap left by inadequate textbooks and teachers not covering the full range of material. If the textbooks contain enough, and teachers teach all of it, then there will be no need for additional materials. I see no reason to do assessment books for assessment books' sake. If a child has interest and time,<span style="\&quot;color:"><b><b> there are lots of other reading and activities </b></b></span>to do rather than assessment books.</p></blockquote></blockquote>Think Chen  has a thread on this sometme back...<p></p></blockquote>Hah? I do? Anyway... I think I only pushed the thinking as far as inadequate textbooks. I dun think I wrote much about assessment books except that most are mind numbingly BORING and that I could never bring myself to get my kids to do assessment books because I would fall asleep marking them!!<br /><br />I completely agree with the part in red too.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851044</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851044</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Chenonceau]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 08:09:51 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:52:10 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>Nebbermind:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><p> <br /><br />u may find it ridiculous, but that makes the difference with other countries' education system.. why so many neighbouring countries strive to come to sg to study? because of the system as well... <br /><br />no doubts there is no absolute right or wrong in this, just different points of views, but learning is a process that should be nurtured young...</p></blockquote></blockquote>My guess is that (especially for Math), th SG system test beyond the kids' age for pr school.<p></p></blockquote>both math n sci in fact... <br /><br />i was one of the tops for sci back in my days... i thought the pri syllabus couldnt be of any challenge to me untill my eldest ds few yrs back when he was going thru his test paper with me... it all got so different, and i really made a very hard effort to read up on all those reference, guides, texts all over again to get to the bottom of what the kids are doing these days... really hard!!!<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851020</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851020</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:52:10 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:46:11 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"> <br /><br />u may find it ridiculous, but that makes the difference with other countries' education system.. why so many neighbouring countries strive to come to sg to study? because of the system as well... <br /><br />no doubts there is no absolute right or wrong in this, just different points of views, but learning is a process that should be nurtured young...</blockquote></blockquote>My guess is that (especially for Math), th SG system test beyond the kids' age for pr school.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851013</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851013</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Nebbermind]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:46:11 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:43:29 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><p>but i feel it is good training for pri students too... in a way, so they wouldnt be just sticking to the text n refuse to do assmt books...</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />But why should they be doing assessment books? It's a highly Singaporean thing that I believe grew out of the gap left by inadequate textbooks and teachers not covering the full range of material. If the textbooks contain enough, and teachers teach all of it, then there will be no need for additional materials. I see no reason to do assessment books for assessment books' sake. If a child has interest and time, there are lots of other reading and activities to do rather than assessment books.<p></p></blockquote>Think Chen  has a thread on this sometme back...<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851012</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851012</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Nebbermind]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:43:29 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:42:07 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>verykiasumummy:</b><p>but i feel it is good training for pri students too... in a way, so they wouldnt be just sticking to the text n refuse to do assmt books...</p></blockquote></blockquote><br />But why should they be doing assessment books? It's a highly Singaporean thing that I believe grew out of the gap left by inadequate textbooks and teachers not covering the full range of material. If the textbooks contain enough, and teachers teach all of it, then there will be no need for additional materials. I see no reason to do assessment books for assessment books' sake. If a child has interest and time, there are lots of other reading and activities to do rather than assessment books.<p></p></blockquote>u may find it ridiculous, but that makes the difference with other countries' education system.. why so many neighbouring countries strive to come to sg to study? because of the system as well... <br /><br />no doubts there is no absolute right or wrong in this, just different points of views, but learning is a process that should be nurtured young...<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851008</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/851008</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:42:07 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:26:10 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">but i feel it is good training for pri students too… in a way, so they wouldnt be just sticking to the text n refuse to do assmt books…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850981</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850981</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:26:10 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:21:54 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Yup, have to agree on the pri school text.  Why hasn’t someone complained to the MOE, esp the science textbook???</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850973</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850973</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Nebbermind]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:21:54 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:06:46 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">i find that its the test contents that are the killers!!<br /><br /><br />pri textbooks only gave simple examples and some easy problems to work with… but when it comes to test n exams, the question suddenly became so hard… no wonder pri kids have a higher tendency to go for tuition!!<br /><br />my eldest dd no longer go for tuition ever since he went to sec 1… not only busy with hw n activities, there is no longer a need to because he told me most of the things from the text are the questions that will come out in exam… nothing too challenging for him so long as he is good with the textbook…</p>
]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850944</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850944</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[verykiasumummy]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:06:46 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:52:22 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>slmkhoo:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>Nebbermind:</b><p>[quote=\"atrecord\"] <br /><br />Shouldn't teachers be the one to:<br />- give good notes to the students<br />- and more so, make sure that the students understand what the textbook is talking about?<br /><br />Actually, it's also a little surprising: all textbooks used in Singapore schools are approved by MOE, so if the textbook you used was so bad, how did it get approved in the first place?</p></blockquote></blockquote>Maybe coz I was a science student, I donch remember getting at notes from teachers when I was in sec school....all we had was just textbk.<br /><br />Is textbook not enough?<p></p></blockquote>Unfortunately, no.  Pr textbooks are terrible, and sec school textbooks are only slightly better. I recall my own textbooks as very dense - lots of words, facts, hardly any illustrations except for the essentials. Boring, but useful. Nowadays, textbooks are colourful, low on text, and filled with not very useful 'interesting' sidenotes. They are not very much use for self-study or teaching. Hence the demand for notes, I suppose. I think MOE's textbook writers have forgotten the main purpose of textbooks. They are meant primarily to provide materials for learning, not be pretty and 'interesting'. They also waste a lot of (good-quality) paper by giving so little info on every page.<br /><br />On notes: I also believe that teachers should provide some notes for guidance as to the scope of the syllabus and some key facts, but that students should be responsible for compiling their own study notes. That exercise alone will help them master most of the material.[/quote]Agree.Agree.Agree.<br /><br />The problem of bad textbooks is exacerbated in primary by the relatively younger age and higher dependency. In secondary, I found a way around bad textbooks without resorting to tuition by dropping DD of at any uni library nearby. Textbooks at secondary ARE somewhat better... somewhat...<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850922</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850922</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Chenonceau]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:52:22 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:32:46 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>atrecord:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"> <br /><br />Shouldn't teachers be the one to:<br />- give good notes to the students<br />- and more so, make sure that the students understand what the textbook is talking about?<br /><br />Actually, it's also a little surprising: all textbooks used in Singapore schools are approved by MOE, so if the textbook you used was so bad, how did it get approved in the first place?</blockquote></blockquote>Maybe coz I was a science student, I donch remember getting at notes from teachers when I was in sec school....all we had was just textbk.<br /><br />Is textbook not enough?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850892</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850892</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Nebbermind]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:32:46 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:28:19 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>hquek:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">Well I know some bright sec school kids who ask for tuition so they can have access to good notes. <br /><br /><br />When I was in sec 3, I took bio and had no clue what the super cheem book was talking about. Luckily I had a friend who quietly told me about this fantastic alternate textbook. Went to buy the book and the bio world made sense after that, moral of story...sometime studying hard ain't going to help if one don't have good crutches to lean on.</blockquote></blockquote>Shouldn't teachers be the one to:<br />- give good notes to the students<br />- and more so, make sure that the students understand what the textbook is talking about?<br /><br />Actually, it's also a little surprising: all textbooks used in Singapore schools are approved by MOE, so if the textbook you used was so bad, how did it get approved in the first place?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850889</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850889</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[atrecord]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:28:19 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:27:47 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>hquek:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">Well I know some bright sec school kids who ask for tuition so they can have access to good notes. <br /><br /><br />When I was in sec 3, I took bio and had no clue what the super cheem book was talking about. Luckily I had a friend who quietly told me about this fantastic alternate textbook. Went to buy the book and the bio world made sense after that, moral of story...sometime studying hard ain't going to help if one don't have good crutches to lean on.</blockquote></blockquote>Shouldn't teachers be the one to:<br />- give good notes to the students<br />- and more so, make sure that the students understand what the textbook is talking about?<br /><br />Actually, it's also a little surprising: all textbooks used in Singapore schools are approved by MOE, so if the textbook you used was so bad, how did it get approved in the first place?<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850888</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850888</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[atrecord]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:27:47 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 02:10:13 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>janet_lee88:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>SAHM_TAN:</b><p>I think it's important for a child to go though and learn about the process of thinking. I have no issue if the child wants to buy notes or to use teachers' notes as additional resource but the child must have the thinking skills. <br /><br /><br />It's just like there are shoes with Velcro but I still insist that they learn how to tie shoe laces. Or like making ice-cream, there's an easy and more tedious way to do it. I will show them the tedious way before showing them the easier way. It's like I'm torturing my kids  :rotflmao:</p></blockquote></blockquote>Making own notes is important for a child to learn. He/She cannot possibly be having a tutor beside to give notes. If the child can make his/her own notes, that would be more effective bcos it is 'personalized' to oneself...for eg the mistakes often made and areas which are overlooked. Critical thinking as well as thinking out of the box will make those notes more valuable. <br /><br />There may be shoes with Velcro but they cannot be wearing Velcro shoes or digital watches for life. I don't think you are torturing but teaching them that life is not a bed of roses.  :hi5:<p></p></blockquote> :hi5:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850571</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850571</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Mychildren]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 02:10:13 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 00:35:33 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>SAHM_TAN:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black">I think it's important for a child to go though and learn about the process of thinking. I have no issue if the child wants to buy notes or to use teachers' notes as additional resource but the child must have the thinking skills. <br /><br /><br />It's just like there are shoes with Velcro but I still insist that they learn how to tie shoe laces. Or like making ice-cream, there's an easy and more tedious way to do it. I will show them the tedious way before showing them the easier way. It's like I'm torturing my kids  :rotflmao:</blockquote></blockquote>Making own notes is important for a child to learn. He/She cannot possibly be having a tutor beside to give notes. If the child can make his/her own notes, that would be more effective bcos it is 'personalized' to oneself...for eg the mistakes often made and areas which are overlooked. Critical thinking as well as thinking out of the box will make those notes more valuable. <br /><br />There may be shoes with Velcro but they cannot be wearing Velcro shoes or digital watches for life. I don't think you are torturing but teaching them that life is not a bed of roses.  :hi5:<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850473</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850473</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[janet88]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 00:35:33 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Alternative use for tuition on Mon, 17 Sep 2012 00:27:19 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p></p><blockquote><b>janet_lee88:</b><blockquote style="border:1px solid black"><blockquote><b>jedamum:</b><p>Wait wait wait. <br /><br />If the said students said <span style="\&quot;color:">they needed tuition to have discipline in studying</span>, shouldn't it be enrichment already and not tuition?</p></blockquote></blockquote><span style="\&quot;color:">Enrichment is different from tuition...bcos it's non-academic.</span><br />My friend's son in a popular school was asked if his tutors coach her son in school hw...if these said students need tuition, doesn't it confirm that tutors ARE hired for the wrong reason?  :faint: Are these students implying they need someone to sit beside them so that they can study and get homework done?<p></p></blockquote>Some enrichment can be academic.<p></p>]]></description><link>https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850468</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://forum.kiasuparents.com/post/850468</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[corneyAmber]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 17 Sep 2012 00:27:19 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>