Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching
      sleepy

MrsKiasu:
      ammonite:

[quote=\"MrsKiasu\"]

what are the rates now, ammonite?

think the part time cleaner rate is more right πŸ˜‚

I didn't take note, but remember it was unacceptable to me. But it also depends on what you are looking for.
      PT cleaner - is it 15 or 20 per hour now?

last i gathered from ksp around 17.50/hour. can go do cleaner job liao πŸ˜†[/quote] :rotflmao:

I think manual work commands higher pay nowadays. Recently I was shifting 2 furniture. Need disassemble single bed into 2 pieces and disassemble my big desk into 3 pieces so that I can get them through bedroom door to shift to another spot in my house. I was quoted cheapest $100, $150 and highest $200 :shock:

I don't even need transport leh. And the $100 quote said only disassemble and assemble but won't help to shift the pieces. Different fees if need to 搬 those pieces to another spot to assemble. Wow even got piecemeal pricing.
      The $150 quote said no guarantee won't spoilt desk after disassembling. Got caveat.

I gave up. Arrowed the job to dh lor. Told dh I won't fault him if he spoilt my desk. Dh used 2 allen keys to disassemble bed and 2 screw drivers to disassemble desk.
      Dh and I plus my free labour dd1 搬 desk. Bed only need 2 to shift.
      Then repeat process 2 allen keys and 2 screw drivers to assemble. Done!
      Now dh insisted I owe him $200 πŸ˜‚

ammonite

It sounds ridiculous, but I think perhaps include transport fee. So they are charging you a flat transport fee and then the rest is for the job involved.

If you have a neighbour who is good at such things, he may come and fix it for a much better rate since he can just walk over.

But of course, if your man can do it, all the better!

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

sleepy:
          MrsKiasu:

[quote=\"ammonite\"]

I didn't take note, but remember it was unacceptable to me. But it also depends on what you are looking for.
          PT cleaner - is it 15 or 20 per hour now?

last i gathered from ksp around 17.50/hour. can go do cleaner job liao πŸ˜†

I think manual work commands higher pay nowadays. Recently I was shifting 2 furniture. Need disassemble single bed into 2 pieces and disassemble my big desk into 3 pieces so that I can get them through bedroom door to shift to another spot in my house. I was quoted cheapest $100, $150 and highest $200 :shock:

I don't even need transport leh. And the $100 quote said only disassemble and assemble but won't help to shift the pieces. Different fees if need to 搬 those pieces to another spot to assemble. Wow even got piecemeal pricing.
          The $150 quote said no guarantee won't spoilt desk after disassembling. Got caveat.

I gave up. Arrowed the job to dh lor. Told dh I won't fault him if he spoilt my desk. Dh used 2 allen keys to disassemble bed and 2 screw drivers to disassemble desk.
          Dh and I plus my free labour dd1 搬 desk. Bed only need 2 to shift.
          Then repeat process 2 allen keys and 2 screw drivers to assemble. Done!
          Now dh insisted I owe him $200 πŸ˜‚[/quote]yes ridiculous, we locked out from home one night coz battery position was off 280 to open the door :faint:

sleepy

A couple of years ago I engaged my regular mover to shift 2 items - a fridge and a marble table from one house to another house. Transport by lorry. He only charged me $60.

But he quit liao. Not in this business anymore.
            Now I need to source for more reasonably priced mover.

Can't hire those 3 movers. Imagine if ask them to move whole house content plus transport by lorry sure super super expensive πŸ˜“

sleepy

MrsKiasu:

me wondering, actually what hourly rates will move you mommies to work arh? go out to office or work at comfort from home.
              Definitely not @ $10/hour!

Rather than me going to work earning meager wages, I would get my kids to quit tuition instead.

That sum of savings from quitting tuition can immediately be my pocket money liao.

1 session tuition say for example $70 means I have to work 7 hours :scared: εΉ²ε—θ¦ζˆ‘εŽ»εƒθ‹¦ε‘€? Why not kids study additional 7 hours to make up for no tuition? :siam:

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

Sleepy …

ammonite

MKS, cannot be. That is too expensive. In singapore?

Sleepy has a choice, so εΉ²ε˜›ζˆ‘εŽ»εƒθ‹¦ is a logical qn in her situation.

I think we can all understand and respect mothers - and fathers!! - who 选择 吃苦to better the lives of their children.

sleepy

starlight1968sg:
                    Sleepy ...

Speechless huh :rotflmao:

My logic is 读书本ζ₯ε°±ζ˜―ε­¦η”Ÿηš„δ»½ε†…δΊ‹ tuition is a luxury not an entitlement hor.
                    If I have to slog 1 whole day just to pay for 1 lesson of tuition, they should be ashamed of themselves that I have to go to this extent for them

I would certainly be ashamed of myself if my mum has to do that for me. ζˆ‘δΌšθ§‰εΎ—θ‡ͺ己很不孝

ammonite

http://shanghaiist.com/2017/05/17/harvard-son.php

Devoted single mom refuses to give up on her disabled son, gets him into Harvard Law School

Salute this parent.

ammonite

sleepy:
                        starlight1968sg:

Sleepy ...

Speechless huh :rotflmao:

My logic is 读书本ζ₯ε°±ζ˜―ε­¦η”Ÿηš„εˆ†ε†…δΊ‹ tuition is a luxury not an entitlement hor.
                        If I have to slog 1 whole day just to pay for 1 lesson of tuition, they should be ashamed of themselves that I have to go to this extent for them

I would certainly be ashamed of myself if my mum has to do that for me. ζˆ‘δΌšθ§‰εΎ—θ‡ͺ己很不孝

I don't think that was starlight's point. There are indeed lower income group who are working hard to pay for averagely priced tuition that they can barely afford. It is not a matter of study by themselves, it is that the kids are disadvantaged from the start and the parents are making sacrifices to try and help them with sheer sweat and toil since they cannot help with the homework.

The majority of pioneer generation did that too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 864 / 3616