Teacher always on leave !

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    35 Posts 14 Posters 11.6k Views 1 Watching
      littlehelper

Yep i do agree with you to some extent too.

But i know of many who say "if no choice then go early childhood course lor"
      But of cos! there are many too who go becos they enjoy working with kids and change jobs in their 30s to go to work in a child care center cos they find it more suitable or some change courses to take EC.

maisy

Hi Kysha

I was not referring to you. In fact, I agreed w you.

In your original post, you mentioned abt the feedback you've heard re management (principal) not looking into teachers' welfare, low morale of staff etc etc..hence resulted in high turnover of teachers.
        which is why i commented that \"simply paying top $$ is not going to be the sole solution\" as what HappyDaddy has happily made a sweeping statement. I agreed with you that amongst other things (ie good salary, passionate teachers..etc) .. if management/principal runs the centre / school without regards to teachers' welfare , ignore teachers' grievance (altho not your exact words), teachers' morale bound to be low... and hence high-turnover of teachers. Very True, ain't it?

In short, if a principal pays good money to teachers thinking that is the sole solution , and with the principal (mgmt) herself being uncommitted, doesn't care much abt how the teachers feel, doesn't address teachers' feedback, grievance ... The teachers will hv low morale (however good the salary is) eventually if their grievances are not heard or managed well by the principal/mgmt/ centre-owner.... At the end of the day, my point is there are many factors to look at (besides top $$) : the determinants will be \"good pay, good & committed management, along with teachers' passion & commitment\".

Yes we are all straight forward & frank so let me be even more frank w you. I was referring to HappyDaddy post cos he was the one who made sweeping statement to \"KittyTan's post\" by responding with a

\"Come On lah..unless you pay top $$ for the CC, in return the CC can pay high $$ to the staff.
        If not, what make you think the teacher are satisfied to work at this miserable pay for their rest of the life?\"

I thought that was rude. It was as if he was insinuating that Kitty Tan had paid low fees & yet want to see \"quality\" ... why should we assume Kitty Tan is not paying good money...for all we know, maybe her child is also in a \"branded childcare/school\". So for people without regards for others, I have the same level of nil regards for them hence my slightly strongly worded response 🙂

I hope i have made myself clear. I wonder how come you've derailed from your original thoughts.

happydaddy

maisy:
          Hi Kysha

I was not referring to you. In fact, I agreed w you.

In your original post, you mentioned abt the feedback you've heard re management (principal) not looking into teachers' welfare, low morale of staff etc etc..hence resulted in high turnover of teachers.
          which is why i commented that \"simply paying top $$ is not going to be the sole solution\" as what HappyDaddy has happily made a sweeping statement. I agreed with you that amongst other things (ie good salary, passionate teachers..etc) .. if management/principal runs the centre / school without regards to teachers' welfare , ignore teachers' grievance (altho not your exact words), teachers' morale bound to be low... and hence high-turnover of teachers. Very True, ain't it?

In short, if a principal pays good money to teachers thinking that is the sole solution , and with the principal (mgmt) herself being uncommitted, doesn't care much abt how the teachers feel, doesn't address teachers' feedback, grievance ... The teachers will hv low morale (however good the salary is) eventually if their grievances are not heard or managed well by the principal/mgmt/ centre-owner.... At the end of the day, my point is there are many factors to look at (besides top $$) : the determinants will be \"good pay, good & committed management, along with teachers' passion & commitment\".

Yes we are all straight forward & frank so let me be even more frank w you. I was referring to HappyDaddy post cos he was the one who made sweeping statement to \"KittyTan's post\" by responding with a

\"Come On lah..unless you pay top $$ for the CC, in return the CC can pay high $$ to the staff.
          If not, what make you think the teacher are satisfied to work at this miserable pay for their rest of the life?\"

I thought that was rude. It was as if he was insinuating that Kitty Tan had paid low fees & yet want to see \"quality\" ... why should we assume Kitty Tan is not paying good money...for all we know, maybe her child is also in a \"branded childcare/school\". So for people without regards for others, I have the same level of nil regards for them hence my slightly strongly worded response 🙂

I hope i have made myself clear. I wonder how come you've derailed from your original thoughts.
          I say 'unless' hor. well if she has paid top $$ for the CC and still get this kind of service, change CC.

Most of the CC teacher pay is <$1k and doing all the 'wonderful' job which nobody appreciate. How to survive in singapore?

happydaddy

Furthermore, parents are not forgiving. Despite all the good thing they done, minor mistake like

1. mix up their shirt… the parents scream at the teacher, demand them to compensate…

2. Accused of mosquito bit in school… scream at the teacher.

3. Children fever a bit… scream at the teacher for being fussy…

4. 2 ulcer… scream at teacher for suspecting hfmd…

5. children beat up the kid… accused the teacher no supervising…

With all this reason, you think the young educate teacher can tolerant? take MC and go find other job and interview to be insurance/property agent or banker…

maisy

Hi HappyDaddy

Well, it definitely would have sounded different if you have started with \"unless\" ie \"...unless you pay top $$$ etc\" .... but definitely not with the \"COME ON LAH...unless you pay top $$ for the CC, in return the CC can pay high $$ to the staff. If not, what make you think the teacher are satisfied to work at this miserable pay for their rest of the life? \"
              The 2 sentences put together just sounded a little hostile i guess.

I would like to clarify that the early childhood teachers' salary is not that low .... How can it be less than 1K ? Perhaps in 1980s-early 90s. Again sweeping statement tsk tsk...
              Read this:
              http://admpreview.straitstimes.com:90/vgn-ext-templating/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=4feb40b698d4a210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=016fe84edfbf8110VgnVCM100000350a0a0aRCRD

This is PCF. So salary will be higher for private side (for teachers with the right qualifications of course)...

PS: My uncle runs a cleaning company. His cleaners are paid 1K per month so how can teachers be paid less than 1K??

BTW, I think I now recall your nick ... were you the one who complained about an ADHD boy in your son's CC? i remembered seeing a thread on the topic...

But well, i'll now leave this with the thread-starter (ie Kitty Tan). Shan't OT too much here.

happydaddy

alamak…

Not all CC employ DPT for all levels…

those assistant teacher, no qualification, clean the baby backside, their pay is <1k>$1.2k.
                those CC BASC teacher, 3 o level pass enough, their pay is <$1k.
                China teacher with DPT average $1k. How to compete with them?

They can put all teachers with CPT for all levels if they want to save cost.

Maybe im wrong. This info is provided by my son teacher when i chit chat with them. Their pay is still very low…

happydaddy:
                  alamak....

Not all CC employ DPT for all levels....

those assistant teacher, clean the baby backside, their pay is <$1k.
                  those teacher with cert, also clean the baby backside, their pay is ~$1k.
                  those teacher undergo part time doing DPT, their pay is $1.2k.
                  those CC BASC teacher, o level enough, their pay is <$1k.

They can put all teachers with CPT for all levels if they want to save cost.

Their pay is still very low.......
                  The teachers at my daughter's kindy are all diploma holders...they all have to clean bums. It's part and parcel of being a teacher in CC or kindergarten.
                  I did a CPT 4 years ago, and it's tough. During my 80 hours practicum, I realized pre-school teaching is not my cup of tea...handling the kids and preparing lessons :?: MOE should bring up the pay and awareness of these teachers.

happydaddy

the problem is… how many youngster graduate with DPT willing to do that?? you scared them off!

the only way, ask ah gong to increase the subsidy from $300 to $500… hopefully, indirectly more pay to the teacher… we pay less, less complain? hehe…

matrix0405

happydaddy:
                      the problem is.... how many youngster graduate with DPT willing to do that?? you scared them off!

the only way, ask ah gong to increase the subsidy from $300 to $500... hopefully, indirectly more pay to the teacher... we pay less, less complain? hehe..
                      The other time ah gong increase subsidy, the childcare also increase fee by the same amt and i don think the fee goes to the teachers. So unlikely it will help. In fact ah gong is more keen in getting money than helping. In many '1st world' countires, K2 is usually taken by garmet. This issue has been raised many times with MOE, yet MOE is still 'thinking abt it'; still too stingy to get into K1/K2.

keenDaddy

matrix0405:
                        The other time ah gong increase subsidy, the childcare also increase fee by the same amt and i don think the fee goes to the teachers. So unlikely it will help. In fact ah gong is more keen in getting money than helping. In many '1st world' countires, K2 is usually taken by garmet. This issue has been raised many times with MOE, yet MOE is still 'thinking abt it'; still too stingy to get into K1/K2.

I also agree that it is about time that ah gong look at increasing the subsidy.... since e last revision, costs have definitely gone up - staff and rental costs and much of it has been passed to the parents....

Hence, with the primary objective still in mind to make childcare services affordable, increase in subsidy will definitely help the parents, and benefit the operators... and the teachers' salaries will likely be adjusted in the process...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 4

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo