Property Views
Anyway, I feel that the best policy is HDB flats are meant to fulfill the owner’s housing needs, and nothing else.
Whether it’s HDB -> Private or vice versa… HDB owners should not be owning a private property at the same time… Private pty owners can own as many properties as they like, if they are able to, but none of them should be a HDB flat which is for those who needs it to provide a home and cannot afford anything else. -
Everyone just wants the best of both worlds bah...
Just sell the private pty lah.. govt never prevented them from being able to owning HDB..verykiasu2010:
someone could be staying in an old run-down walk-up apartment handed down from the previous generations (Joo Chiat, Geylang etc), and it is anytime worse than any of those glorious HDB 5 room and executive flats, regularly upgraded with tax payers' money while the private property could be rotting away without any money to upgrade, possibly on 99-years leasehold with remaining lease of sub 60 years
such private property owners are seeking to upgrade to a HDB property but alas, because of the recent regulations, cannot, unless the private property is sold; while a rich HDB owner is so rich as to drive big Merc and own private property freely...
1 grp owned HDB... can buy PTE...
1 grp owned PTE... but cannot buy HDB
How to please everyone?
Read today's report... if u inherited HDB from your parents later... and u stay in PTE... also have to sell off either one right? -
Was just thinking... If we go strictly by the books then HDB can only be own by Singapore citizens. PR should not be entitled as it seeks to address the housing needs of citizens.Anyway, I feel that the best policy is HDB flats are meant to fulfill the owner's housing needs, and nothing else.
Whether it's HDB -> Private or vice versa.. HDB owners should not be owning a private property at the same time.. Private pty owners can own as many properties as they like, if they are able to, but none of them should be a HDB flat which is for those who needs it to provide a home and cannot afford anything else. -
PR is less than 0.52m, citizens is 3.2m, some PR are living in private ppty, hence, PR families holding HDB is lesser than the number suggests, and some PR's spouse are citizens = so how, ask them to separate ??
Was just thinking... If we go strictly by the books then HDB can only be own by Singapore citizens. PR should not be entitled as it seeks to address the housing needs of citizens.limlim:
Anyway, I feel that the best policy is HDB flats are meant to fulfill the owner's housing needs, and nothing else.
Whether it's HDB -> Private or vice versa.. HDB owners should not be owning a private property at the same time.. Private pty owners can own as many properties as they like, if they are able to, but none of them should be a HDB flat which is for those who needs it to provide a home and cannot afford anything else. -
Agape:
:goodpost: Agape, I second this. I believe many HDB dwellers (citizens) share this views.verykiasu2010:
why victimise and target the private property owner ?
I think that once anyone owns a 2nd property, it's seldom for the the reason for them to stay in it but for investment purporses. Hence if u r buying a 2nd property, it shd not be a HDB that you are buying because it's not for investment but HDB is public housing and it's unfair for someone having the means to live in private housing to compete with people who cannot afford anything else but HDB.
If one has stayed in HDB and accumulate enough to move on to purchase a 2nd property, it's a sign of progress and that 2nd property should be bought from the private market.
I think it's quite hard for govt to tell pple must sell HDB before buying private because the HDB was bought when one's financial circumstances were different in the earlier days (since they bought it legitimately when they needed it and were entitled to it then) and now you are \"penalising\" them for progressing while they are not taking any public houses away from people who need them when they buy from private sector.
Personally I felt the govt shd have intervened way back to stop people using HDB as investment tools as it deprives those who really need it. The policy shift from cost based to market value based method selling of new HDB flats have also contributed to HDB prices going up over a short period of time. If you bought your new HDB for 200k, would you sell for 150k? So if you bought new HDB for 400k, you would aim to sell for 500k at least... how then will hdb resale prices not head for the sky? I hope some NDB officers are reading this...
I think we had our own subprime in the making as people were buying several properties or over borrowing while the interest rates are low and instalments are affordable for now. When the rates do go up (and they will one day), if wages don't go up, then there will be a wave of selling similar to what happened to USA (because cannot afford to keep or rental not keeping up or foreclosures). Govt has to act now before it's too late.
As in any policy, you won't be able to please everyone but the considerations must be sound (just that because it's implemented late, more people are pissed because the delay caused more people to join in the wagon that is now hit). BTW, I am not a civil servant.
I am just thankful that I have my own HDB and almost fully paid up. Worry for my children though but worrying can't change anything so don't think too much and give them the best I can offer as a father. -
Pte ppty owners who want to buy HDB flat, sell the pte ppty first, fulfill the MOP for HDB flat then buy pte again lah. This will bring this group of people the same "status" at those HDB flat owners who buy 2nd ppty (pte).
We have heard quite a no. of "pte ppty down graders" break COV record when they purchase resale HDB flats. This group together with PRs (buying HDB flats) are pushing up the prices of HDB flats (both primary & secondary market).
At the rate it is going, if govt don’t take action, don’t you worry for your children who may not be able to afford HDB when the time comes? You want S’pore to be like Tokyo? -
caroline3sg:
:goodpost: Agape, I second this. I believe many HDB dwellers (citizens) share this views.[/quote]so what is the difference ? HDB is for those who cannot afford private right ? so you accumulate enough cash to buy private must quickly get lost from HDB lah...why hoard another property ? another needy citizen cannot afford hor, and wait to wait ....so be fair to your fellow citizen, once you purchase a private ppty, must sell the HDB, cannot hoard hor, why so tam sim, rich already, can upgrade ........Agape:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]why victimise and target the private property owner ?
I think that once anyone owns a 2nd property, it's seldom for the the reason for them to stay in it but for investment purporses. Hence if u r buying a 2nd property, it shd not be a HDB that you are buying because it's not for investment but HDB is public housing and it's unfair for someone having the means to live in private housing to compete with people who cannot afford anything else but HDB.
If one has stayed in HDB and accumulate enough to move on to purchase a 2nd property, it's a sign of progress and that 2nd property should be bought from the private market.
I think it's quite hard for govt to tell pple must sell HDB before buying private because the HDB was bought when one's financial circumstances were different in the earlier days (since they bought it legitimately when they needed it and were entitled to it then) and now you are \"penalising\" them for progressing while they are not taking any public houses away from people who need them when they buy from private sector.
Personally I felt the govt shd have intervened way back to stop people using HDB as investment tools as it deprives those who really need it. The policy shift from cost based to market value based method selling of new HDB flats have also contributed to HDB prices going up over a short period of time. If you bought your new HDB for 200k, would you sell for 150k? So if you bought new HDB for 400k, you would aim to sell for 500k at least... how then will hdb resale prices not head for the sky? I hope some NDB officers are reading this...
I think we had our own subprime in the making as people were buying several properties or over borrowing while the interest rates are low and instalments are affordable for now. When the rates do go up (and they will one day), if wages don't go up, then there will be a wave of selling similar to what happened to USA (because cannot afford to keep or rental not keeping up or foreclosures). Govt has to act now before it's too late.
As in any policy, you won't be able to please everyone but the considerations must be sound (just that because it's implemented late, more people are pissed because the delay caused more people to join in the wagon that is now hit). BTW, I am not a civil servant.
I am just thankful that I have my own HDB and almost fully paid up. Worry for my children though but worrying can't change anything so don't think too much and give them the best I can offer as a father. -
[quote]If one has stayed in HDB and accumulate enough to move on to purchase a 2nd property, it's a sign of progress and that 2nd property should be bought from the private market. [/quote]
When this group of people buy 2nd ppty (pte), they are not pushing the prices of HDB flats. This is the point / concern.
But if pte ppty owners want to buy HDB flats, this group of people are seen to have more disposable income to get the flat they want, so will drive up market prices. -
caroline3sg:
[quote]If one has stayed in HDB and accumulate enough to move on to purchase a 2nd property, it's a sign of progress and that 2nd property should be bought from the private market.
When this group of people buy 2nd ppty (pte), they are not pushing the prices of HDB flats. This is the point / concern.
But if pte ppty owners want to buy HDB flats, this group of people are seen to have more disposable income to get the flat they want, so will drive up market prices.[/quote]eh, not true hor
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ? -
Buy HDB then sell off the \"worthless\" private property within 6 months! OK what!
By the way, I think it is really true that owning a HDB now is very valuable, in consideration of the MEDICAL SUBSIDY nowadays in government hospital whereby means-testing and determination of how much subsidy you get is based on your HOUSE ADDRESS! From my latest experience (unfortunately), my parent stay in a HDB 4-room hence have full subsidy during hospitalization which cuts down the bill size by 75%. That is a lot of money!
Agree that not all private home-owners are cash-rich, that is why I am all for such owners to sell their private properties and stay in HDB flats especially upon their retirement. Imagine when you are old and need medical help you stay in private no medical subsidy - HOW? Even if you have a lot of money you also don't want to pay medical fees right? Rather leave it to the next generation. Therefore conserve the cash, after all upon retirement, no further monthly income, stay in HDB enjoy ALL as much subsidies and freebies as you can get from our good gahmen.
We are citizens so enjoy our priviledges to the fullest!
:celebrate:verykiasu2010:
some private property owner are really poor, inherited the very run-down walk-up apartment that worth even less than a HDB 5 room in Mei Ling St or Bishan...these people where got rich ? can't even make ends meet, and the private property on hand is worthless -- they are also trying to upgrade - to a newer HDB - subsidised by tax payers' money in upgrading, while the private got no upgrading, no conservancy charges rebate, no GST rebate, pay higher property tax, that is why must \"upgrade\" also -- to a HDB flat, how to afford to push up the HDB prices.....think ok !! not everyone in private ppty is as rich as you think !! PRAY hard you will not be one such private ppty owner hor ...... think, don't be of a one track mind, think only one way ..... every one living in private ppty must be rich meh ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.