Property Views
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1928288\" time=\"1565663806\" user_id=\"17023:
:rotflmao: Win liao lor.
I asked HDB this a few years ago and they actually replied saying we could sell our pte ppty, buy HDB, wait 5yrs and do the same as the others. Think their officer is also one of those who kept HDB and bought condo... Hahahacherrygal\" post_id=\"1928271\" time=\"1565661693\" user_id=\"9754:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=1928201 time=1565608743 user_id=17023]Honestly, I think HDB should close this loophole, if one is rich enough to get a condo, then he should dispose his HDB. HDB should always stay true to its original objective - affordable public housing.
But now one will be slapped with 12% ABSD and subject to TDSR, so should think twice if really wanna do this.
For those who already own a HDB and condo(s), so be it. Think it’s time for the authorities to review this rule, which is probably popular with HDB owners who get to keep the cake and eat it but which ultimately distorts the public housing market. Better stick to the fundamentals, public housing serves a public good and should not be a means to enrich the well-to-do[/quote]the real winner is those who owned Both EC and Private Condo
after 10yrs - the EC appreciated so much - was once $500k for a 3brm n now 900+K or 1 mil
I have frens who are, not many though
i dun have parents $$$ blessings to buy EC , so we got new hdb first - cant even afford a gd resale - then save all the way up to upgrade
price for hdb was low then -
Ppty is roller coaster games +must have long term holding power
overseas ppty investment - u need v gd judgement and know trusted agent + deep pockets
local context - some who got $ will buy shops, office units etc they are sort of into running business model
Holding too many ppty - Best to have a BRAVE heart ,$$$ to weather the frequent economic storms & world crisis -
Agree MP. If sell one to buy another, will incur stamp duty. The gain in higher rent may not result in higher income too.
Our time, majority dispose the hdb on hand, got more money to upgrade condo/landed…to me so smart lor coz more money on hand can go landed or bigger space private prop.
Recently spoke to a Uni friend . Told me she is selling her 99 years condo. Bought at $500k and recently cleared the loan. Paid interest around $130k. Now the condo can only fetch around $839k (last offer). She wants to sell before price drop further and buy a freehold. But means take up new loan.
Told hubby we better monitor the price of our recently TOP condo since also leasehold. On hindside, should have bought a freehold…
Now rental yield so bad can only hope for capital gain. -
I hv the perception that whenever there are new launches, units are snapped up like FOC.
Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1936297\" time=\"1569016066\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1936297 time=1569016066 user_id=160688]
I am surprised that people still have misconceptions about freehold / leasehold.
Recently spoke to a Uni friend . Told me she is selling her 99 years condo. Bought at $500k and recently cleared the loan. Paid interest around $130k. Now the condo can only fetch around $839k (last offer). She wants to sell before price drop further and buy a freehold. But means take up new loan.
Told hubby we better monitor the price of our recently TOP condo since also leasehold. On hindside, should have bought a freehold...
Now rental yield so bad can only hope for capital gain.[/quote]
Freehold doesn’t always carry higher market value and doesn’t guarantee a capital gain. Location plays the most important role in determining the value of the condominium, not its tenure. If your friend’s unit isn’t making a gain, tenure isn’t likely to be the issue. -
floppy\" post_id=\"1936307\" time=\"1569030122\" user_id=\"97579:
Location matters, Lh in city is always gd.
I am surprised that people still have misconceptions about freehold / leasehold.Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1936297\" time=\"1569016066\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1936297 time=1569016066 user_id=160688]Recently spoke to a Uni friend . Told me she is selling her 99 years condo. Bought at $500k and recently cleared the loan. Paid interest around $130k. Now the condo can only fetch around $839k (last offer). She wants to sell before price drop further and buy a freehold. But means take up new loan.
Told hubby we better monitor the price of our recently TOP condo since also leasehold. On hindside, should have bought a freehold...
Now rental yield so bad can only hope for capital gain.
Freehold doesn’t always carry higher market value and doesn’t guarantee a capital gain. Location plays the most important role in determining the value of the condominium, not its tenure. If your friend’s unit isn’t making a gain, tenure isn’t likely to be the issue.[/quote]
FH has benefit of passing down or gift to kids
A fren I know rec a FH apartment as wedding gift fr Wife Father - the Condo was bought yrs ago, the rich dad kept it around to collect rent , paid off then gift to kids as wedding gift . -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1936385\" time=\"1569053244\" user_id=\"70594:
Technically, you can pass down a private property, regardless whether it's LH or FH. The romanticized view about FH property is usually that it can be passed down perpetually for generations. The reality is, unfortunately, not so straight forward.
Location matters, Lh in city is always gd.
FH has benefit of passing down or gift to kids
A fren I know rec a FH apartment as wedding gift fr Wife Father - the Condo was bought yrs ago, the rich dad kept it around to collect rent , paid off then gift to kids as wedding gift .
If you are holding on to a FH landed property, that idea is probably true, provided that you can and have maintained the property well. On the other hand, if you are living in a FH condo, the likelihood of enbloc sale in Singapore is high. After 30 years, your neighbours will likely be sick of the scenery, tired of the higher costs of maintenance, etc and before you know it, there will be petitions, cries and talks of en-bloc sale. For property older than 10 years old, if owners holding > 80% of the share value agrees to sell, the process can move forward. If you are one of the < 20%, your dream of passing down to the next generation and the generations to come will be dashed. -
Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1936297\" time=\"1569016066\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1936297 time=1569016066 user_id=160688]
But your friend made money already right? Just make sure when she sells her LH to get a FH, she’s not affected by all the ABSD or TDSR rules.
Now rental yield so bad can only hope for capital gain.[/quote]
LH also can make money, especially when the location is good, say right next to MRT. The returns can be better than some of the FHs located further away. LH prices can cheong faster than FH especially during an economic upturn, (maybe capital layout is smaller when getting LH). However, during an economical downturn, investors usually turn towards buying a FH. This is what I learnt at a property seminar.
As for tenants, they don’t give a damn whether it’s FH or LH, what they care about is the location (convenient or not). Thus, being a FH doesn’t automatically equate to higher rental.
I think you don’t have to worry lah, as your condo just TOP. Assuming no economic crisis, LH condo unlikely to depreciate at an exponential rate. For the first 15-20 years, the price is quite stable.
But LH has an inherent problem; in a prolonged economic downturn which could drag on for years, as the 99yr lease gets shorter and shorter, being it’s owner, I will feel as if time is running out. Perhaps in this case, holding a FH will give the owner some assurance like, it’s alright, time is on my side, I still can afford to wait cos it’s FH anyways?
I personally prefer FH. When I feel that time is ticking away, I may get stressed over it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.