XD:
My son came across this in a fiction book months back
1.\tDig a hole in the forest ground
2.\tMake a cup with the newspaper
3.\tTear the plastic sheet into two
4.\tLine the cup with the plastic sheet
5.\tPlace the cup into the hole
6.\tPlace the remaining plastic sheet over the hole and wait
(The sun will evaporate the water from the soil, and the water vapour will condense on the plastic sheet, and drip into the cup.)
Fact or fiction?? :roll:
In the forest, there will be little light reaching the ground. -
tryunited:
haha, verry funny and good try, but dun thk is acceptable as this is unlikely one of the standard answer. usu they want science concept answer.kancheongmum:
Hi all
At last PSLE over for DS. Just want to share his answer for the qn where you are in the forest, given newspaper, towel , plastic sheet and string. How to get water when you are thirsty? I don't know if it is acceptable. Science tutors or teachers please give your comments. I have a good laugh. He said that his P5 Science teacher have taught him this method of getting pure water.
I feel very high tide. I urinated on the towels. Use the string to tie on both ends of plastic sheet and then tie both ends to the trees. Place the towels under the plastic sheets. The urine evaporated and water vapour condensed on the inner surface of the plastic sheet form water droplets. Collect the prue water and drink.
What happen if your son is dehydrated and have no urine? -
samy:
Little Mermaid:
For the elephant question, I put :
The big ears help to trap air which is a poor conductor of heat.Thus,keeping the elephant cool. Wonder if it is correct!!! :?:
:!:
my son put the larger exposed surface area can exposed heat faster :? :?
I agree. This is similar to fennec fox. -
spicy space:
Hi,The science paper was very tough. Can you please clear my doubts regarding these questions?
1.The toilet bowl question (How does placing a bottle with pebbles in the toilet bowl help to reduce the amount of water which is used to flush the toilet bowl)
Pebbles sink the bottle. Bottle displaces the water. So less water for flushing.
2.The elephant question (How does having big ears help the elephant to thrive in a hot place) and part b of the same question (what is the disadvantage of the elephant having large ears in a dense forest)
Big ears have big surface area to dissipate heat.
Large ears easier to get entangle with the branches.
3.The decomposition question (What measures can be taken to increase the rate of decomposition)
Supply more oxygen, add water, warmth, keep in dark place.
4.The magnet question (Why does stroking a iron nail using the North poles of 2 magnets would not magnetise the iron nail)
Stroke one way with 1st magnet, then stroke the other way with 2nd magnet.
First action magnetise, second action demagnetise.
5.The fish question (The fish has its upper body grey in colour.How does this help it to camouflage in the water and escape from its predators)
The body colour blend in with surrounding and make it difficult for predators to see it.
I would really appreciate if you could help mw with these PSLE 2010 Science questions.Please!
Thank you,
Van Burklandish Hasnovian
Above are my suggested answers.
Tomorrow is also my last paper.
Good luck to all P6s. -
tryunited:
So funny! You really made my day, Kancheongmum! Was so stressed up the last few days!
haha, verry funny and good try, but dun thk is acceptable as this is unlikely one of the standard answer. usu they want science concept answer.kancheongmum:
Hi all
At last PSLE over for DS. Just want to share his answer for the qn where you are in the forest, given newspaper, towel , plastic sheet and string. How to get water when you are thirsty? I don't know if it is acceptable. Science tutors or teachers please give your comments. I have a good laugh. He said that his P5 Science teacher have taught him this method of getting pure water.
I feel very high tide. I urinated on the towels. Use the string to tie on both ends of plastic sheet and then tie both ends to the trees. Place the towels under the plastic sheets. The urine evaporated and water vapour condensed on the inner surface of the plastic sheet form water droplets. Collect the prue water and drink. -
Tang:
Must try the next time we go camping.XD:
My son came across this in a fiction book months back
1.\tDig a hole in the forest ground
2.\tMake a cup with the newspaper
3.\tTear the plastic sheet into two
4.\tLine the cup with the plastic sheet
5.\tPlace the cup into the hole
6.\tPlace the remaining plastic sheet over the hole and wait
(The sun will evaporate the water from the soil, and the water vapour will condense on the plastic sheet, and drip into the cup.)
Fact or fiction?? :roll:
In the forest, there will be little light reaching the ground. -
anon123:
I think my earlier answer is wrong. The towel and newspaper is to be used as filter. The answer may be in this link :I want to know ans for qns 34
It's about 'someone' is in a jungle,all the fruits and plants cant be eaten he only have the following items to produce drinkable water:
.Plastic Sheet
.Newspaper
.Towel
.String
What should he do?
Help me with this qns pls..... :idea:
http://adventure.howstuffworks.com/survival/wilderness/jungle-survival2.htm -
tryunited:
i would be very amazed with any pupils who could remember all the 30 MCQ answers in order :shock: :!:maxtan:
alamak.. please help me wif the 30 answer... pls...i really need it
post the question lah, who will remember is which question. -
i would be very amazed with any pupils who could remember all the 30 MCQ answers in order :shock: :!:[/quote]why not?tryunited:
[quote=\"maxtan\"]alamak.. please help me wif the 30 answer... pls...i really need it
post the question lah, who will remember is which question.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.