Marymount Kindergarten

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    295 Posts 59 Posters 143.6k Views 1 Watching
      TTLauPeh

My kid is in Sec 1 now and he attended Marymount Kindergarten from nursery to K2. He still has fond memories of it. Very caring, nurturing teachers. BTW there is religious instruction. Boy came home one day and said his teacher had told the class a story about this guy who can walk on water ... 😄 (no offence intended).

lavendery

My girl is born on Dec 2008. I just enrolled her for Pre-nursery at MaryMount kindergarten for next year 2011 Jan.

By then she's only 25mths (2yr old) as they go by the year they are born. I'm wondering if it is too early for her to start schooling? Not to mention the travelling of to and fro from AMK to kindergarten.

By the way, are they good in English, Maths and chinese? Would appreciate any comments 🙂

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

Hi lavendery

:welcome: to KSP

this article and the corresponding comments may help to clear your doubts

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/why-i-choose-sent-my-boy-childcare-18-months-old

do pop by at NEWBIES to self-intro and allow us to warmly welcome you there, it is a standard practise here.

Flower Power

My boy has been with Marymount Kindy since Pre Nursery. He is now in K1.

The boy has always been very happy at school and has never once say he doesn't want to go to school in the past 2+ years. Imagine even when he is sick, he still insists he wants to go. It's amazing. Apparently he is not the only one, I have heard the same comment from my friends with children in the Marymount too.

Like Lavendery's girl, he is also a near to year-end, late October baby. He started school when he was 26 months old. Although I have the same concern that he may not be able to follow the pace of 36 months old classmates (January babies), I know my choice would still be to let him go to school as he needs to learn social skills and also to enjoy the company of other children. I shared my concern with his Pre Nursery teacher at that time, she told me it is not an issue at all as the kid would surely catch up with his \"older\" peers as school itself is a learning process. True enough, my initial concern turns out to be not a worry at all.

Like pixel & TTLauPeh, I am happy that I have made the right choice for my boy. He is enjoying his childhood at Marymount Kindy definitely 🙂

lavendery

But i called up MaryMount teachers to ask them about the school curriculum on what they teach them, but none of them were able to provide me a clear picture.

When i asked them if they got Spelling or TingXie, hanyu pinyin, maths time tables for the kids, the teachers said no. Then i asked how were they able to access their students’ standard without giving them spelling or TingXie? The teacher replied as long as the students attend the class, listen attentively, its enough.

In addition, without learning HanYu PinYin and Time Tables , how could my gal be well-prepare for Pri 1? These are my concerns, other than that, i have no other concern with this school… Thats why i really hope some mummies can share some advises on how well u think MaryMount is towards preparing yr kid for Pri 1.

smurf

I found that MMK is quite strong in English, and so so in mandarin. They dun have tinggxie or spelling, time table for kids. but they do have worksheet. For K1 and K2, they are to bring back the worksheet (only 1 page for English and mandarin each) on friday, borrow book from the library. and then come Monday, they will submit the work to teacher.

I would say the kids are learning thru playing.

If you are looking for more academic, then perhaps PCF would be a better choice. :celebrate:

Flower Power

yeah, come to think of it, seems like MMK does not have Spelling or TingXie, hanyu pinyin, maths time tables. At least so far I dont see my son coming home with them, not too sure about 2nd half of 2010 or K2 though.

Overall the general observation of my boy and my friend's sons are that they are conversant in both English and Mandarin. Although the children appear to prefer to speak in English, they do not resist the Chinese language and this is quite important. They are generally confident, chatty and sociable, and also playful too. I have a friend whose son has graduated from MMK, currently with Ai Tong is also doing quite well.

Like what smurf says, the children are learning through play and this in a way motivate them to learn - holistic education perhaps 🙂

lavendery

Hmm may i know what kind of teaching approach MaryMount teach the kids?

Is it something like integrated curriculum? It works around with a theme and incoperate these subjects (English, Maths, Science) within the teaching...

Eg like when teaching fruit, they will not just learn the colour name of fruit but also do experiment like which fruit will sink n which fruit will float on water

Are they using this type of learning curriculum in MaryMount?

May i know what kind of readers/textwork/worksheets are use for English/Chinese/Maths?
                    Eg Ginn 360 Readers & Workbook (for English), Growing With Mathematics (Rigby) (for Maths) ...etc

Sorry for asking so much questions 🙂

smurf

they are using integrated curriculum. for example, this term, the topic is England, then they will teach things associate with England. and they may bring the children to places that is associate with the main topic for excursion.

I think I saw Rigby books. but I'm not someone who is very particular about curriculum lah, so I didn't ask a lot of questions. as long as boy is learning something, then it's ok with me.

maybe other mummy can share?? 😉

Flower Power

Wow this is a little challenging to me. I never really go find out how they teach. Most of time, I gather what my son learn from his exercise book and worksheets that he brings home. Hahaha… I also see Rigby books since Pre nursery time.

To be honest, I do not know much about teaching methods etc. I am happy to see that my boy is doing fine overall. Just this morning, we are talking about his excursion today and he said "I am really excited and I can’t wait to get to the birdpark!" Then he rattle about parrots, penguins etc.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 30

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog