Club Breadmakers

5.5k Posts 151 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

Thanks schweppes, happymama and 25hrmaid.

So it’s not the yeast. Maybe it’s the cheese then. Put too much. Haha! Maybe I should’ve cut them into even smaller bits before putting them in. I thought the store bought shreds would be fine enough. Oh well.

Question is: should i try baking a plain loaf to test the potency of my yeast, or should I go for another cheese loaf but with smaller pieces of cheese? Me thinks the former so I can isolate if it’s the yeast that’s the problem.

autumnbronze

schweppes:

[quote=\"schweppes\"]
        alamak!! so sad.

I no chemistry expert. :idea: Just thinking aloud, maybe it's due to the type of cheese used? :? either put too much or because due to the salt content from the cheese. Remember reading somewhere on the forum that if too much salt (more than necessary), it will react with the yeast and cause the bread not to rise as much

Schweppes, but the other day when I baked the white loaf, I put 1 teaspoon of salt instead of 1/2 and it still rose. :? :? Maybe it's the cheese? :?

Cd be. The cheese got more salt mah.

Wah... now we macam CSI or BSI (bread scene investigators). 😉[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: (buay tahan)

Thanks schweppes, happymama and 25hrmaid.

So it's not the yeast. Maybe it's the cheese then. Put too much. Haha! Maybe I should've cut them into even smaller bits before putting them in. I thought the store bought shreds would be fine enough. Oh well.

Question is: should i try baking a plain loaf to test the potency of my yeast, or should I go for another cheese loaf but with smaller pieces of cheese? Me thinks the former so I can isolate if it's the yeast that's the problem.
          Can't help you with this as we are no cheese loaves lovers, but like you said, I think it is wiser to test another plain loaf since your virgin loaf turned out so well last night. That would be a good indication if the problem lies with the yeast.

autumnbronze

jtoh,

Have you read ksi's reply??

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=339215#339215

jtoh

How much cheese did you put? Best to keep to prescribed amount.

Yeast no need to put in fridge, it becomes moist. Just keep it in a dry container. Yeast cannot touch water.

Cheese bread is harder to make, I also have not gotten the crust right even though the bread is ok so I still need to continue my experiment.
              I don't know how to describe the banana used, later I buy and post the banana bunch. Actually I am not sure if I can get from super market.
              Ladies, I came back here with 10 whopping pages to read, all of you never fail to amaze me.

I should hv posted this last night. Maid, make banana cake or bread cannot use del Monte, that is only good for direct consumption.
              I guess I have to make a plain loaf to test out my yeast then. See if by putting it in the fridge somehow made it ineffective.

For the bananas, I used to make banana cakes and my experience has been that del monte's not good for cakes. You need the small ones. Can't remember what they're called. The smaller sweeter ones. Must be over ripe.

jtoh

jtoh,

Have you read ksi's reply??

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=339215#339215
                thanks autumnbronze

Happy Mama

For the bananas, I used to make banana cakes and my experience has been that del monte's not good for cakes. You need the small ones. Can't remember what they're called. The smaller sweeter ones. Must be over ripe.

Yup, those POLKA-DOTTED PIGMENTED ones. :rotflmao:

I know what sort of bananas that you are talking about. I use that for my banana cakes too, but just that this morning, I was too lazy to go to the market, so asked husband to get some from the shop downstairs and man being man, just grabbed whatever he found at shop and also don't really blame him as I think the variety carried by the shop is also quite limited. Blame it on my laziness, I should have gone to the market to get it.

schweppes

Yes, agree with ksi and jtoh that should not use the DelMonte range. As jtoh mentioned, it's the smaller variety - the ones that is used for goreng pisang.

Anyway, was at Cold Storage and all the bananas look under-ripe or in a just ripe state. Cd not find any black spotted pigmented bananas. So in the end, bought a just ripe variety and waiting for it to over-ripen :roll:

Yup, those POLKA-DOTTED PIGMENTED ones. :rotflmao:

Yup, those POLKA-DOTTED PIGMENTED ones, but must make sure there are no occupants inside, and by occupants, I mean those wriggly, wriggly ones that love those POLKA-DOTTED PIGMENTED bananas! :!:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 140 / 546