Club Breadmakers
Oh dear, think I had better not comment on that, otherwise you will need a pail to contain your tears! :lol: But never mind, tell yourself that the $318 set is old model lor!Ahdoi! This another :stupid: and
point for me.
I read in a magazine the the Z cost $428 at major dept stores. Went online and it was the same price. So thought price pretty controlled and too lazy to go downtown to buy. So ordered and delivery was free.
Yesterday, my sis told me, she saw the Z breadmaker selling in Robinsons at $318. And that is before members discount!!! :moneyflies: :clubmyself: $100 diff, can buy so much bread flour leh.
Now I consoling myself. That one old model.
Yes, don't be disheartened, Funz. I had the same experience too! Bread turned out looking like rock! But now... mmm.. my loaves are light and fluffy and definitely yummy! :love:My breadmaker was delivered on Saturday late afternoon. The kids were super excited. Since I had all the necessary ingredients, I thought we could try a basic bread.
But it turned out disastrous. The dough did not rise much and the machine started baking oredi. Think my yeast 'died' while languishing in my cupboard for the last 1+yr. The bread turned out dense and hard as rock. The kids still insisted on eating it but I threw it away.
Gonna go get some good quality yeast today and try again.
Keep trying and don't give up. Most importantly, get a new packet of yeast.
Oh no, I thought you were faithfully following the thread and would have known the price already... :hugs:Ahdoi! This another :stupid: and
point for me.
I read in a magazine the the Z cost $428 at major dept stores. Went online and it was the same price. So thought price pretty controlled and too lazy to go downtown to buy. So ordered and delivery was free.
Yesterday, my sis told me, she saw the Z breadmaker selling in Robinsons at $318. And that is before members discount!!! :moneyflies: :clubmyself: $100 diff, can buy so much bread flour leh.
Ok, nebbermind, no use crying over spilt milk (or wasted money :moneyflies: ). Just move on and bake more to maximise your ROI.
Kenwood breadmaker is good though is big in size as compared to Zojirushi. When the bread is almost done, it has a function to garnish the top with toppings.
Haha. Finally got my first loaf of bread from the machine. I used the soft mode and skipped the milk powder as I did not have any at home and donβt think we will like the taste. DH doesnβt think that bread is breakfast so between myself and the kids, we only finished 1/2 a loaf.
One complain though, the soft mode does not have crust selection and I find the crust too thick and hard even though I removed it from the machine immediately after the cycle completes.
Ok bread experts here, is it ok to stop 10 minutes before the cycle completes so that the crust does not get so thick and hard?
The kids are asking me for different flavour breads but we still have 1/2 a loaf leh which will be enough for breakfast tomorrow. -
:congrats: Funz on your success! When I bake, I usually use the Regular function mode and I like to adjust crust level down i.e. bake at 3 hr 30 min instead of the standard default 3 hr 40 min. Once it beeps, I will usually leave it in for another 3 to 5 minutes to let crust brown a little.
Have fun trying out other varieties! :celebrate: -
Congrats on your new machine and your first success!Haha. Finally got my first loaf of bread from the machine. I used the soft mode and skipped the milk powder as I did not have any at home and don't think we will like the taste. DH doesn't think that bread is breakfast so between myself and the kids, we only finished 1/2 a loaf.
One complain though, the soft mode does not have crust selection and I find the crust too thick and hard even though I removed it from the machine immediately after the cycle completes.
Ok bread experts here, is it ok to stop 10 minutes before the cycle completes so that the crust does not get so thick and hard?
The kids are asking me for different flavour breads but we still have 1/2 a loaf leh which will be enough for breakfast tomorrow.
I've only tried the regular function and I set it to light crust.
Yup!
It's indeed good especially it's horizontal. I'm sourcing around for cheaper price.LKVM:
Thats very nice to know... :celebrate:chatelaine:
Kenwood breadmaker is good though is big in size as compared to Zojirushi. When the bread is almost done, it has a function to garnish the top with toppings.
Oh dear, Funz, there's a $100+ difference, din know that u dunno abt the cost.Ahdoi! This another :stupid: and
point for me.
i read some of them had gotten it at $295.
no wonder they can afford for free delivery
no choice lah, juz bake more to make full use of it, to console yrself. -
LKVM, I was at Sun Lik yesterday and saw that they have this multi-coloured sugar crystals for sale. Thought that would look very nice and appetising for the sugar coated buns that you intend to make for your kids.
Would have loved to snap a photo for you, if the eyes of the owner and worker were not on me. If only there were other customers around to distract them!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.