Club Breadmakers

5.5k Posts 151 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      L-earner

smurf:
      i give up after 15 mins sometimes...u can knead for 30 mins!

:salute:

is machine knead and hand knead the same? i mean, if hand knead is 30 mins, machine should be shorter or longer ha? :?

but the way machine bash the dough... :nailbite:
      @smurf, :nosebleed: ya, knead until arms ache, sweat like in sauna, of course must pause in btw lah ... But I try to knead for 30min incl slapping n folding.

I don't use machine, so can't gv opinion if th final pdt will b th same. I also think if u use mahine, time taken to achieve window pane shd be shorter than 30min, maybe 20min shd suffice. ๐Ÿ˜„

dasalo

I think i did it with machine at 12 mins. Now I use my bread machine and press dough button. Itโ€™ll prompt me when its ready.

L-earner

smurf:
          tried making wholemeal bread yesterday. it was quite good, I machine kneaded it for about 40 mins (on off stop to check 'window panel')...its very soft after baking, but when cool...its became quite dense and heavy, not so soft and fluffy anymore.

very difficult to know why...sigh...
          @smurf,

u use 100% wholemeal flour?? can mix with breadflour, or cake flour, texture will be softer.

L-earner

dasalo:
            I think i did it with machine at 12 mins. Now I use my bread machine and press dough button. It'll prompt me when its ready.

oh, no need to hand knead further?? so, machine kneading is very efficient ... hmm tempted to get a mixer or bmachine now ... :evil:

smurf

i use mixture of bread and wholemeal flour leh...knead using mixer, med speed for about 40 mins (on off to check), still came out, dense. its not hard lah, just dense and heavy...

soft on the top part, dense and heavy at the bottom...wonder why?? :?

after shaping, i should leave it to proof for 50 mins, but after 50 mins, it doesnt rise to 90% of tin, only probably about 70%, didn't want to wait anymore...haha...maybe thats the reason? but it seems to get stuck at that 70%...the yeast protested and refuse to rise after 70%... :spank:

L-earner

smurf:
                i use mixture of bread and wholemeal flour leh...knead using mixer, med speed for about 40 mins (on off to check), still came out, dense. its not hard lah, just dense and heavy...

soft on the top part, dense and heavy at the bottom...wonder why?? :?

after shaping, i should leave it to proof for 50 mins, but after 50 mins, it doesnt rise to 90% of tin, only probably about 70%, didn't want to wait anymore...haha...maybe thats the reason? but it seems to get stuck at that 70%...the yeast protested and refuse to rise after 70%... :spank:
                Smurf, is it bec recently weather quite cool not good for yeast to proof? can try to warm-up kitchen or put dough near oven (preheated, then off) or cover under a wrap with a cup or two of boiling water? i always make sure i 2 rises r abt double the size then bake. can show pics?

smurf

quite weird lor, coz it rose stedily, and then suddenly at 70% height, it stop rising. so I impatient, just bake it... and ๐Ÿ™ for the best...

take picture ah? i lazy lah...hee

smurf

use KA also...but the heavy duty one, not the ones with many colours to choose from...I didn't read the manual leh...haha...I just let it run..now that u said that, i must check again...:)

anyway, last nite bake this: Hokkaido milky loaf (from HHB website), its really soft and fluffy...NO butter is used! I ony let it knead for 25 mins (from mixing in ingredients until window panel stage)...I think previous breads, I let it ran too long, it may have over-knead (possible to over knead via mixer), thats why not so soft and fluffy...:(

but one thing i just dun understand, the bottom part tends to be denser than the top.. :? I wonder if its because the dough is 'heavy'??

smurf

maybe can use the artisan to mix, after 5 mins, then hand knead?? how much did u pay for the mixer?

Anna Ng

Hi All:

New in this thread. This is my Purple sweet potato toast, hope your like it.
                        http://i43.tinypic.com/6y2rno.jpg\">

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 503 / 546