Club Breadmakers

5.5k Posts 151 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      dasalo

GLORYmum:
      I am going to bake tomorrow, need to relief myself from the anxiety for Thursday .... Argghhh

Don't forget to post your products here. Just love to look at bread/pastries.

Calling Funz....any new creations lately?

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Funz old oven konked last week. Unable to bake so decided to start dieting as such no new bakes. πŸ˜†

Funz DD just made a chox cake though, just to test out our new oven. πŸ˜‰

Wah but that sandwich really does look good.

• G Offline
          GLORYmum

Flowermonaster:
          My Italian loaf with filling.

http://i49.tinypic.com/2ew1a1y.jpg\">
          Wanted to post a few pic in one post but don't know how.

Wow pls share the receipe of the Italian loaf, can skip subway if mine is successful.
          I am baking the basic bread using the receipe u shared weeks ago. I hope it turns out soft.

• G Offline
            GLORYmum

Flowermonaster:
            GLORYmum:

Hello all,

I tried with my zojishiro breadmaker by following faithfully the exact proportion of liquid and flour but the bread usually ends up quite dry. When i increased the liquid proportion, it became too soggy. any advice?

Glorymum, you use the recipe given by the manufacturer izzit? I personally don't like their recipe that much.
            Try this recipe. (if too much, can half it)
            270g bread flour
            30g cake flour
            1 tsp sugar
            1/2 tsp salt
            170ml milk
            1 tsp yeast
            1 tbsp butter (about 14g,cut into cubes) I use salted butter.
            Put as per bread machine recommended sequence.

Hi flowermonaster, once the baking is done, do I take it out from the baking tray and put on the rack to cool or can leave it inside the tray while cooling then take out to cut.

Sorry very amateur question. :roll:

• G Offline
              GLORYmum

dasalo:
              GLORYmum:

I am going to bake tomorrow, need to relief myself from the anxiety for Thursday .... Argghhh

Don't forget to post your products here. Just love to look at bread/pastries.

Calling Funz....any new creations lately?

Paiseh lah. I am too amateur and you guys already very pro but I loved to learn from you.

Flowermonaster

Hi Dasalo & Glorymum, recipe for Italian bread below. You can also go to copycatrecipeguide.com for this recipe.

Ingredients
                3 cups bread flour
                1 cup warm water
                1 packet active dry yeast
                2 Tbsp soybean oil (I substitute with olive oil)
                1 Tbsp sugar
                1/2 tbsp salt
                1/2 tbsp vital wheat gluten (I buy from phoon huat)
                Cornmeal for dusting ( I also sprinkle semolina on top)

Steps ( I do it all in bread machine)
                Mix together 1cup bread flour, yeast & sugar
                Add soybean oil & wheat gluten
                (start the bm dough function now - I use 2 cycle on my bm)
                Add water gradually, stirring it in after each addition
                Add salt & remaining flour in batches
                Let machine knead until dough is ready
                Cover dough & rest for 1/2 an hour
                Form dough into footlong loaves
                Grease baking sheet & sprinkle with cornmeal. Place loaves on it & sprinkle more cornmeal & semolina on top
                Refrigerate the loaves for at least 2hrs or up to full day
                Let sit at room temperature for 10min just before baking
                Bake at 240degC for 30-40min depending on oven. (the original recipe says 425 degree for 25 to 30min)

I like this recipe a lot, I normally put them in fridge then next morn put them in oven & less than 35mins I can get fresh loaves of bread.

jtoh

Droooool! I must take my bm out of hibernation.

Flowermonaster

GLORYmum:

I am baking the basic bread using the receipe u shared weeks ago. I hope it turns out soft.
                    How? Your bread out from oven already? Let me know if this recipe is good for you. πŸ˜„
                    My wholemeal bread is now in the oven baking.

• G Offline
                      GLORYmum

Flowermonaster:
                      GLORYmum:

How? Your bread out from oven already? Let me know if this recipe is good for you. πŸ˜„
                      My wholemeal bread is now in the oven baking.

Try upload the pic from iPhone but keep getting the error 503.
                      It looked quite ok. Do I take it out fr bm n cool it on the rack?

Waiting for it to cool then check the texture and report later.

• G Offline
                        GLORYmum

http://i50.tinypic.com/ic7b0k.jpg\">

Thank you flowermonaster, it worked. For the first time since I got the machine that my bread is moist on the inside just like the white bread we buy. So happy.

Now for an advanced stage. Pls advise what variations can I develop from here? Was thinking about ham and cheese, same reeipe just add ham and cheese?

By the way should I cut the loaf on the long or short side and how long can i keep them In a tightly closed container?

Thank you !!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 532 / 546