Club Breadmakers

5.5k Posts 151 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Flowermonaster

GLORYmum:

Wow like machine made. I hv a long way to go.
      Thanks Glorymum! It's not difficult to make bread loaf like this. You got bread tin with cover or Pullman bread pan at home? To make bread like this shape needs one. My Pullman bread pan's size can fit 300g bread flour nicely.

dasalo

Flowermonaster:
        My white loaf bread.

http://i50.tinypic.com/2aij9mp.jpg\">
        http://i49.tinypic.com/1trapt.jpg\">
        Nice loaf! I refused to buy a new pullman tin eversince I threw away 2 that rusted. They are expensive isn't it? I was so tempted to buy 1 that day when I saw it at Phoon Huat but boy! It was $25! The 1 at TOTTs was worst, almost $80, I think. I wait for my \"kee Siao\" day when I feel like spending then I'll buy.

How did you know how much dough to fill the tin? The colour of the loaf is really pale and nice.

dasalo

GLORYmum:
          http://i47.tinypic.com/2a4r3go.jpg\">

180 deg 20 min but Alittle burnt.
          Glorymum, my guess is your eggwash is too concentrated and your placing of your tray is too high to the top. Usually for little buns like these, you just need 10-12mins at 180 and at the middle of the oven. Nevertheless, good job you've done!

Next, you might want to improve on the texture of the bread. If you don't mind, cut up one of your bun and show us. Rounding/Shaping affects the texture too.

Flowermonaster

dasalo:

Nice loaf! I refused to buy a new pullman tin eversince I threw away 2 that rusted. They are expensive isn't it? I was so tempted to buy 1 that day when I saw it at Phoon Huat but boy! It was $25! The 1 at TOTTs was worst, almost $80, I think. I wait for my \"kee Siao\" day when I feel like spending then I'll buy.

How did you know how much dough to fill the tin? The colour of the loaf is really pale and nice.
            Thanks Dasalo! I bought mine from Phoon Huat, been dying to make this type of bread so after comparing prices from the shop opp Raffles hotel think phoon huat cheaper.
            I trial & error then got this figure. πŸ˜„

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

Flowermonaster:

[quote=\"Flowermonaster\"]Wanted to make hotdog buns but raining.... Sian.

πŸ˜‚ I thought rainy days are the best days to make or bake anything since going out is a hassle.

Don't like to make bread during rainy day as takes longer to proof. :-([/quote]Ha, I cheat. I will usually proof my dough in my oven or in the bread machine.

• G Offline
                GLORYmum

Flowermonaster:
                GLORYmum:

Oh thank you should hv checked earlier. Taste was good tho. Will try again after tomorrow.
                Cheers.

So what you going to bake tomorrow? :love:
                You sure you got time to bake? :evil:

After tomorrow shd be ok but tomorrow no time for sure.

• G Offline
                  GLORYmum

dasalo:
                  GLORYmum:

http://i47.tinypic.com/2a4r3go.jpg\">

Glorymum, my guess is your eggwash is too concentrated and your placing of your tray is too high to the top. Usually for little buns like these, you just need 10-12mins at 180 and at the middle of the oven. Nevertheless, good job you've done!

Next, you might want to improve on the texture of the bread. If you don't mind, cut up one of your bun and show us. Rounding/Shaping affects the texture too.

Wow huat lor u hv guessed it right. The tray was on the upper deck too close to the fire. N I shd hv diluted egg wash with more water two tablespoon instead of one and a half ?

But I m over the moon, thank you to u all for your advice, my dc finished a whole bun and said it was nice. Dh ate 4. Actually i Thot the inside is alittle dry maybe cos I forgot to punch out the air after first proofing ?
                  Sausage also too little on a 50g.

Pls advise. Tia.

http://i46.tinypic.com/idt5ix.jpg\">

dasalo

Flowermonaster:
                    dasalo:

Thanks Dasalo! I bought mine from Phoon Huat, been dying to make this type of bread so after comparing prices from the shop opp Raffles hotel think phoon huat cheaper.
                    I trial & error then got this figure. πŸ˜„

That must be alot of trial and error for you. Let me share this, I was taught this way. However big or small your pan is, fill the pan with water to the brim and weight the pan. Let's say the pan with water weighs 1 kg, take this amount and divide by 3 and you'll get the actual weight of dough in the pan. So, in this case, your pan filled with water should weigh about a Kg.

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

dasalo:

That must be alot of trial and error for you. Let me share this, I was taught this way. However big or small your pan is, fill the pan with water to the brim and weight the pan. Let's say the pan with water weighs 1 kg, take this amount and divide by 3 and you'll get the actual weight of dough in the pan. So, in this case, your pan filled with water should weigh about a Kg.
                      Wonder if this is going to sound silly. Does the total weight of all the ingredients = the weight of the dough?

dasalo

GLORYmum:
                        dasalo:

[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]http://i47.tinypic.com/2a4r3go.jpg\">

Wow huat lor u hv guessed it right. The tray was on the upper deck too close to the fire. N I shd hv diluted egg wash with more water two tablespoon instead of one and a half ?

But I m over the moon, thank you to u all for your advice, my dc finished a whole bun and said it was nice. Dh ate 4. Actually i Thot the inside is alittle dry maybe cos I forgot to punch out the air after first proofing ?
                        Sausage also too little on a 50g.

Pls advise. Tia.

http://i46.tinypic.com/idt5ix.jpg\">[/quote]
                        Glorymum, you need to cut up with a knife, that way is more accurate. By pulling the bun apart, it'll usually end up looking cottony soft. I'm sorry, you have to post another pic. :please:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 538 / 546