3.6k Posts 838 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching

ImMeeMee:
      ...but we intend to attend the open house sessions during this year's registration on some of the schools that we are interested, make a tour and see how the school is.

That could be one way to find out more about the schools.
      Open houses are no doubt a great way to see the full spectrum of services offered by the schools, but like all presentations, they tend to be \"spiced up\". It pays to observe the students of the school when they are in and out of the schools to get the inside story.

ttyh

ImMeeMee:

...but we intend to attend the open house sessions during this year's registration on some of the schools that we are interested, make a tour and see how the school is.

That could be one way to find out more about the schools.

Open houses are no doubt a great way to see the full spectrum of services offered by the schools, but like all presentations, they tend to be \"spiced up\". It pays to observe the students of the school when they are in and out of the schools to get the inside story.

But not all schools has open house, right? I don't remember popular schools like rulang, nanyang, ai tong has open hse...

ttyh:
          ...But not all schools has open house, right? I don't remember popular schools like rulang, nanyang, ai tong has open hse...

You are right. That's why we normally have a thread each year for parents to post notices of which schools are having open houses and when.

ttyh

ttyh:

...But not all schools has open house, right? I don't remember popular schools like rulang, nanyang, ai tong has open hse...

You are right. That's why we normally have a thread each year for parents to post notices of which schools are having open houses and when.

oic...hm, interesting, will lurk around this thread.
            Even though my boy boy is in P1 now, still can go and look see look see? 😄

siti

Thanks for posting all the information. :lol:

Heyya ttyh,

No worries. Doesn’t matter what age.
                Its open house so OPEN to all no matter
                what the reason. To scout, to recce, to
                kaypoh… anything. They might entice
                swap over schools if you find their sch
                is better. Who knows? Hehee… We had
                fun at our open house.

Some open houses are conducted ala
                carnival. Quite interesting! Some have
                drop off activties for the children to do
                and parents take a look around guided
                by the PSG’s or school staff.

If unsure if a particular school does
                conduct one at their premise, just
                call to ask.

ttyh

Heyya ttyh,

They might entice
                  swap over schools if you find their sch
                  is better.
                  So, it's easy to do a transfer at P2?
                  Is it a sure swop if P1 grades are good? Do they conduct interviews?

Just wondering if one fails to get into their desired school and their kiddo gets great grades during P1, got chance to transfer?

Heyya ttyh,

Different schools have different protocols with regards to
                    transfer procedures. Most importantly its about the space
                    availability. If they have a space, then can consider swap
                    ins for students for other schools. Yes, it will help if child
                    has fantastic P1 results. My girl is in neighbourhood school
                    and so far i’ve heard they only need the report book, no
                    written exam but sure got interview. They would wanna
                    know reason for a swap and how this swap will benefit
                    you and your child.

• G Offline
                      gintonic

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

hi... never thot i wil become a kiasu parent but it seems the day is finally here (ha... april fools' day...)

chief... can u advise the following, and other kiasu followers' contributions are most warmly welcomed...

1. what's all this talk abt single session vs 2 sessions for primary schs please... pls advise... i am truly out of touch and feel like an alien on planet primary schools. what is the benefit??

2. can someone out there pls advise which top school around has minimum homework pls?! i saw this written somewhere in the forum but cannot find out who wrote it and ask which sch he/she is referring to. i am not particularly keen on having my kid do tons of homework til late at nite at this age...

3. which top 10 school ranked in academic performance has afternoon sessions for pri 1 or are all of them only morning? my gal is really not the morning type and i confess my worries!!!!!

4. was thinking of moving to sch of choice but need to know if being within 1km of that sch means i have to maintain that address for the entire 6 years?!

5. some views of single sex vs co-ed education at primary level... are gals in girls' sch very aggressive? my gal pal tells me she thinks the boys in class tends to be gentle with the gals unlike the rough and tough gals in gals' schs who bully each other... any truth in this please??

kam sia... kam sia...help!!!

1. single session = only morning session

double sessions = morning and afternoon
                        some prefer single session cos they had more than 1 kid attending the school ie single session makes more logistic sense (although some parents like to separate their kids into 2 session if they feel it's easier to handle them separately at home and want to give 1-to-1 attention).
                        for those going student care, they may not prefer afternoon session, cos kids still need to wake up early to go student care and by the time its lesson in the afternoon, they get sleepy.
                        double session = lower pri kid need not wake up so early; makes transition easier; but do bear in mind that afternoon can be pretty hot (weather).

2. perhaps its easier (for us) if you list down your preferred schools for parents here to comment.

3. you can find out from http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_index.asp. select the school of your choice to check if they have double sessions. then go to their website to confirm if P1 is afternoon (which usually is).

4. No comment.

5. you can read more from http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=577&start=0.

there are quite some fair bit of info in this forum. take some time to navigate cos posting at the appropriate thread will cut down on CKS' workload and easier to garner more comments from the parents. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 358