Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 191.5k Views 1 Watching

smurf:
      I hate populars. Their service sucks big time.

Darling,
      I know the service in some outlets is lousy, but what to do when their BOSS has monopoly of school assessment book in Singapore 😒 Maybe I often patronize same outlet and staff see me often...so they are friendly when they see me.

Mummy3streams,
      Don't ever think of teaching your kids from textbook alone. It's not possible to pass.

duplicate

Chenonceau

**duplicate**

Smurf... you go WITH Janet lah... if you want good service. She fren fren (i.e., popular) with Popular staff.

smurf

Dun have other places selling assessment books meh?? :?

Pen88n

smurf:
              Dun have other places selling assessment books meh?? :?

Popular has the most complete selection and publishers. Unless you are looking for the special ones (like Onsponge books), most assessment books are available in Popular (at the bigger stores).

cantbearit2

My role was that of motivator-encourager. Also, she could cope because teachers did not assume that she would know things they had not taught. I don't believe in learning my kids' work so that I can teach it. It's not my job. It's the school's job, and my kids' accountability.

The thing is, if my kids do poorly because they have goofed off, they deserve it. And I am not above sitting there and :laugh: :laugh: But my son has been uber-conscientious. If he fails it will not be because he has goofed off, but because he is being tested on skills that teacher did not teach, but he is still expected to know. After working hard, and still failing, he will be completely demoralized and come away feeling very discouraged. I am determined to protect him from that.

Parents have to pay more to buy basic content schools assume children have mastered without being taught in school.

What are schools for? Why buy textbooks?
                Boy R u contagious. Yes, yes!!!! I totally agree!!!!

cantbearit2

Brenda10:
                  cantbearit2:

Though my DD is only in P1, i do noe whr u R coming fr.

My P3 niece failed her Math topical test tis yr (she nv failed any of her tests or exams b4). Initially her mom (my cousin-in-law) din even noe wat happen cos she studied diligently b4 her CA & went thru all the \"relevant\" topics.

When she saw e paper, she finally understood the reason. Not tat my niece is not bright, not tat she din study but the simple fact tat e questions set was more than wat was being taught to her at sch. I even ask her if it was juz 1 or 2 exceptionally tough questions but she flatly told me NO. She said she felt helpless cos she can't even explain the reason to my niece on why she failed e paper. 😞

We have this similar experience on dd P4 CA1 (Year 2009) when we only doing the school work without other additional test paper or assessment. She scored 66 and that gave us a big shock. We immediately get in the past year papers after advise from friend and on SA1 her result had improved to 82. At end of P4, she even moved up to 95.

As such, I would think the 'Exposure\" beyond what school work is one of the components in this situation.

Don't worry since she is only P3, there is still sufficient time to catch up.

I have oso heard of many parents complaining abt their experience. A lot fr P3 onwards. So I guess it is more evident for the upper pri.

I oso told my niece tat there r still hope cos it's another 3 yrs b4 PSLE. Juz tat her mom is seeking help fr external sources now. Hope she'll at least pass this coming SA. πŸ™

cantbearit2

cimman:

What are the schools dong ? well, the solution doesn't lie with the schools but with the education policies and KPIs. It is these that drives the behaviour of the schools. That leads to the next question, is it necessary for such educational policies to be in place for Singapore to succeed ? are we churning out exceptional students, and thus an exceptional workforce through such policies ?

These are excellent questions! These matters can only be solved at policy level.

Hee...Chenonceau, u wanna help us bring up to e policy makers??? :lol: My \"england not so powderful\" lah.

cantbearit2

Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.

There is a good resource from MathHeuristics (at united Square) on Unitary Transfer. It's priced at $40/= a book. How many parents can afford this kind of money for a thin A4-sized book? Isn't that the job of the textbook? Why should we have to buy these resources to help our children PASS? Janet's kid worked so hard (so did Janet) and her child FAILED. Janet, I do hope you managed to help your child recover his confidence, and maintain interest in his work.

My son's teacher is still teaching the basics for volume. They haven't touched the complex skills for fractions nor ratio yet. BUT, the exams in 2 weeks will need these skills. One quarter of his class was pre-taught at home. Estimated marks in 90s So they're happy. One quarter of the class is about there - catching up with their Moms at home. My son has caught up. So he is okay... estimated marks in 80s.

HALF the class is clueless. The poor kids. They will get a shock and if parents are not understanding, some kids will get heavily punished. It's NOT their fault. The school sets questions that appear nowhere in homework sheets.
                      :!: Tats really scary!!!! & DH is always saying IM too KS by teaching ahead. My mom complaining I put too much pressure to my P1 DD. 😞

Thks for the tips though on tat maths bk (though im clueless as to wat's Unitary Trf :? ).

cantbearit2

Actually I'm Surprise at the Sch T.
                        Don't they Let the Kids try out Past year Papers? Or the Prev year Sch's Exam Papers before the Exam? Unless Current year's paper is of Exceptionally High std than the Prev One or Two year's, the T Would know where the Students' Weak Areas R while going thru the Trial Papers, Right?

Unless this is Camouflaged by the Large Proportion of Self-Taught or Tuition Taught Exam-paper oriented Kids in the Class who score exceptionally well ....
                        And those Kids without Tuition or External Help becomes the Sacrificial Lambs ....
                        Dismissed as Minor Percentage of Failure in the Sch Cohort? :roll: :roll:
                        Aiyo, hope my DD dun bcome the little lamb leh..... :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 29 / 73