Teach Less, Learn More
Janet,
Sending kids for tuition takes up time - travelling to and fro and include rest time...I try to minimize that until I know I'm going nowhere with him. Must also factor in the COSTS. I do agree with you that a child can burn out if he/she has to attend school, tuition and more coaching at home. It's very miserable and will lead to MELT DOWN. My son's CL tutor and I have agreement - ie she will coach him in comprehension, Oral and Compo and I coach the other sections.
Very Well Structured CL Tuition and Home-Coach .... \"Fen-Gong-He-Zuo\"
Am Sure Your Boy will Get Better Results for the coming SA.
JiaYou!
I Can't bear to think of Tuition for my Gal. She's so Tired Everyday after arriving Home (after Supp Class, etc in the Afternoon), often falling asleep and Nap for An Hour or so while doing her HW.
At times, Like for the past Week or so, she's so Tied up with HW Everyday that she Sleeps at around 1am. And Very Reluctant to Get up in the Morning.
Even though SA2 is Barely 3 weeks away, Have Not Even reach the stage of starting any Revision, let alone Past year Papers.
Guess have to Rush Like CA1 Again when the Time Comes ....
:roll: :roll: -
I like!! :love: This is a great idea!!Just Read Something on Class Size yesterday (Is it The New Paper, Or My Paper .... Not Sure)
There is a Rather Interesting and Ingenious Suggestion Being Put Forward by a Reader ....
It's Not Easy to Achieve 1:20 T-to-student Class ratio for the Whole Nation. Despite The Many Efforts by MOE, the Class Size Remains Almost status Quo at About 1: 40, at Best 1:30.
Root of the Problem is Lack of Sufficient T and Facilities (ClassRoom).
But it is Noted that there is a Large Pool of Well-Educated Home-Makers who R the Untapped Potential. Many of them have made their presence felt in this Web site.
Suggestion :
To Entice these Group of Qualified Home-makers into the sch Teaching System, with them working part time, say, thus improve the current T-to-Students Ratio to 2:40.
Lead by a Professionally Trained T, and the assistance of the \"HELP-er\" in class, the Kids can have more personalised attention. Like A Pseudo-Simulation of the Tutorial Class in the Poly / Uni.
Parents, What do U Think?
Yay! No need to petition lah... Collective wisdom and some gentle pressure should help things along. Aaaaah! The power of the internet. :lol:
Hopefully, they dun expect volunteering. Must pay properly. -
I'm not popular with Popular staff...hahaha, but under security scrutiny bcos I stand there and try to swallow in the contents of an assessment book to see if suitable. I think the cashier standing at the entrace will be thinking, 'This auntie is here again.'[/quote]Oh Janet!! You are a hoot!! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Chenonceau:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]**duplicate**
Smurf... you go WITH Janet lah... if you want good service. She fren fren (i.e., popular) with Popular staff. -
Oh Janet!! You are a hoot!! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]The 2 cashiers I see at the entrance are the 'usual ones'...so prob they are thinking, 'This aunty is either here to see new assessment books or buy what she has reserved...I pity her kid'.
I'm not popular with Popular staff...hahaha, but under security scrutiny bcos I stand there and try to swallow in the contents of an assessment book to see if suitable. I think the cashier standing at the entrace will be thinking, 'This auntie is here again.'janet_lee88:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
Smurf... you go WITH Janet lah... if you want good service. She fren fren (i.e., popular) with Popular staff. -
Dear Hubby asked a question yesterday nite,\" What is this \"Teach Less, Learn More\" all about?\" when he saw me logging into MOE web site reading the article. Told him,\" You read yourself lah! But to put it in layman term, I shall interpret for you - Teachers teach less in class, student learn more outside class = more homework = more enrichment/tuition = that why your wife here has to do self-study too!\"
Haha...I really \"admire\" at my own interpretation but to think of it, I am quite right, isn't it? DD1 has been coming home with more & more worksheets each day (nearer to SA1??) and lesser & lesser time for rest & bonding time with siblings & daddy & mummy :roll:. She always tell us,\" Today no time for such and such so teacher teach quickly and tell us go home to do the homework!\"
Note the Term \" Working Part Time\"?
I like!! :love: This is a great idea!!Funx3:
Just Read Something on Class Size yesterday (Is it The New Paper, Or My Paper .... Not Sure)
There is a Rather Interesting and Ingenious Suggestion Being Put Forward by a Reader ....
It's Not Easy to Achieve 1:20 T-to-student Class ratio for the Whole Nation. Despite The Many Efforts by MOE, the Class Size Remains Almost status Quo at About 1: 40, at Best 1:30.
Root of the Problem is Lack of Sufficient T and Facilities (ClassRoom).
But it is Noted that there is a Large Pool of Well-Educated Home-Makers who R the Untapped Potential. Many of them have made their presence felt in this Web site.
Suggestion :
To Entice these Group of Qualified Home-makers into the sch Teaching System, with them working part time, say, thus improve the current T-to-Students Ratio to 2:40.
Lead by a Professionally Trained T, and the assistance of the \"HELP-er\" in class, the Kids can have more personalised attention. Like A Pseudo-Simulation of the Tutorial Class in the Poly / Uni.
Parents, What do U Think?
Yay! No need to petition lah... Collective wisdom and some gentle pressure should help things along. Aaaaah! The power of the internet. :lol:
Hopefully, they dun expect volunteering. Must pay properly.
Must Contribute CPF Also -le!
Actually I don't need to see this stupid thing - Teach less, Learn More printed on SAP assessment books to confirm this is happening in school.Teachers teach less in class, student learn more outside class = more homework = more enrichment/tuition = that why your wife here has to do self-study too!\"
It only CONFIRMS it is happening. Totally pissed off.
I have to be educated now, in order to teach my son...really really bo bian, then have to outsource. My son tells me majority of his classmates have this tuition for this and that subject, fortunately I can control myself when I hear this. -
DD1 also shares that most of her classmates has at least one subject tuition and one even has ALL (including English, CL, Maths, Science, Compo & δ½ζ). Well, I say this is up to individual and unless & until there is a need, I will not load her with too many enrichment classes.
Actually I don't need to see this stupid thing - Teach less, Learn More printed on SAP assessment books to confirm this is happening in school.Champion:
Teachers teach less in class, student learn more outside class = more homework = more enrichment/tuition = that why your wife here has to do self-study too!\"
I have to be educated now, in order to teach my son...really really bo bian, then have to outsource. My son tells me majority of his classmates have this tuition for this and that subject, fortunately I can control myself when I hear this.
DD1 also shares that most of her classmates has at least one subject tuition and one even has ALL (including English, CL, Maths, Science, Compo & δ½ζ). Well, I say this is up to individual and unless & until there is a need, I will not load her with too many enrichment classes. :D[/quote]My son is very relieved he is spared of many tuition lessons, but I told him he has to cooperate with me. Now his tuition is on CL and EL compo.
Actually I don't need to see this stupid thing - Teach less, Learn More printed on SAP assessment books to confirm this is happening in school.janet_lee88:
[quote=\"Champion\"]Teachers teach less in class, student learn more outside class = more homework = more enrichment/tuition = that why your wife here has to do self-study too!\"
I have to be educated now, in order to teach my son...really really bo bian, then have to outsource. My son tells me majority of his classmates have this tuition for this and that subject, fortunately I can control myself when I hear this.
Kids very poor thing now...teachers don't teach much but there is pressure to excel in his class. I give him work to do everyday, but moderate when to give more/less. -
Agrees on that! :celebrate: - Kids are very poor thing nowMy son is very relieved he is spared of many tuition lessons, but I told him he has to cooperate with me. Now his tuition is on CL and EL compo.
Kids very poor thing now...teachers don't teach much but there is pressure to excel in his class. I give him work to do everyday, but moderate when to give more/less.
..My DD1 has been coming home with most time EL Compo & CL Compo! Very time consuming and frustrating when it takes at least 45 minutes to do each (maybe my DD1 is slow) :x. Asked her why didn't you do in class? Her answer is always the same,\" Teacher no time to let us do in the class so tells us to do it as homework!\" Yea - No time and poor girl has to find ALL the time after school to do the EL & CL Compo!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.