Teach Less, Learn More
Brenda10:
Hi Brenda10tisha:
The online resources like lead.com should also be useful for you.
Hi mummies, how often your kid does use this program at home? DD said they use it in school to practice the CL Oral Test and there is 10 exercise.
My DS also uses it for his CL Oral Test and CL exercises (done both in school and at home). During this time when the SA1 is near, I saw him doing it more often especially as homework for weekend. -
tisha:
There is a science guide book? Phew! I always had problems with answering my P3 son's science questions.MummyThreeStreams:
Please buy the science guide book for your P3 child. Science text books will surely not be enough. It is only full of Qs and you can wonder about the answers for the whole day.
Is there any particular good science guide book you'd recommend? :?:
[quote=\"jfangs\"]
Hi Jfangs,
We have quite a few recommendations at the other forums, you may like to take a look at the links:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19568
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6640 -
The True Spirit of Teach Less and Learn More
I think I am gonna confuse everyone by seeming to contradict myself. I actually embrace the notion of Teach Less and Learn More. It is a basket of pedagogical strategies that I embrace, and that every corporate trainer (worth his salt) knows: PROVIDED IT IS DONE RIGHT. Underlying the true spirit of Teach Less Learn More is an important principle.
PEOPLE LEARN BY DOING
In management training, you would rarely catch trainers teaching through TALK TALK TALK. For trainers to make a living and get repeat business, they need to develop and deliver highly interactive programs. Else, the adult learners will complain, and after tea break, many won't even come back to your class. Adult learners have day jobs, you see. They can and do choose to go back to fight workplace crises if they think you're boring and ineffective as a corporate trainer. Adults have no time and they wanna learn fast and effectively, without the need for revision.
To ensure learning effectiveness, I learnt to create a sequence of learning activities that get adult learners DOING something right through the 8-hour workshop. As they DO, they learn and when they learn through DOING, they retain (without having to revise). After, they have DONE, I give feedback. I teach (i.e., TALK TALK) less, but because they DO MORE, they learn more and effectively.
This is the true spirit of Teach Less Learn More. I embrace it, and practise it. However, the creation of such lessons requires more time and effort than devising a simple TALK TALK TALK.
(1) You gotta choose the right materials (i.e., you need to source for high quality materials, and make sure everything is available for ease of reference)
(2) You need to construct the right activity that will force the cognitive processes you want.
(3) You need to master your domain superbly. This is because you never know how each individual approaches the cognitive task, and thus, you will never be able to foresee every single question that a student might ask. And you really really teach most effectively when the student has cognitive reception (i.e., there is a question in the student's head that is waiting to absorb your answer)
(4) You need to analyze student work, and be able to give individualized feedback in a non-threatening and very supportive way.
In the context of our kids, this translates into...
(1) Choosing the highest quality materials (not overwhelm them with a lot but pick the best): But... how many parents have the capacity/skill to evaluate teaching materials by ourselves? The school needs to provide our kids with, and not leave us to go ask our buddies to recommend Math Heuristics and Onsponge. All I did was throw Onsponge to my son. He managed. There were one or 2 sums he could not crack and so he asked his Dad for feedback.
(2) Assessing the relative areas of ignorance and understanding for our children (i.e., know which cognitive processes to focus on) and choose exercises or activities to target specific areas (so as not to waste time). But... how many parents can evaluate and target thus? Schools should design individualized skills practices for each child so that they don't waste time doing exercises they already master. My son has to go through tons of simple math problems for homework when he has already learnt branching and unitary transfer. Everyday, I pick him up and I ask \"Have Teacher done with the class the kind of questions that are in the last few pages of Paper 2 yet?\" Till today (2 weeks before exams, the answer is \"No\").
(3) Master Science, English, Math, Mother Tongue superbly. How many parents are good in all 4 subjects? I am great at English and can handle the whole gamut from Compre to Creative Writing. My hubby takes on the Math load 'cos he masters that domain superbly, and my 2 males actually ENJOY cracking those horrible sums. But what if my hubby is bad at Math? Does every Teacher in MOE master all 4 subjects?
(4) Analyze our children's skills practice and give feedback in a non-threatening and supportive way. How many parents have short fuses? And because we love our children, the fuses get even shorter eh? How many parents know how to analyze and give feedback on work done?
Teach Less Learn More does work, but Teachers need to work SMARTER and HARDER to make it work. Teachers need smaller classes so that they can give SKILLS FEEDBACK consistently, regularly and patiently. It takes professionalism and skill to Teach Less Learn More. When they rolled out the new enhanced syllabus with skills emphasis, MOE should have looked at how teachers teach... and made changes there too. Then roll out both together.
Right now, Teach Less Learn More has become a joke... and a slogan of pain and failure. Why? Because parents have to teach what the school has no time/resources to teach... and teaching methods have not evolved. When actually, Teach Less Learn More points to a basket of strategies that are simply designed to have People Learn by Doing, not by Listening to Teacher Talk. It is a pity because Teach Less Learn More can work if properly done.
All it takes is smaller classes, more individual attention, less TALK and more feedback. Like in corporate training. -
insider:
And so... what is the next thought that follows?
for this concept to really work, it may take more than 10 or 20 years to reframe/reform teachers (and to cut content). It takes solid teachers to make this work and such teachers are very few in schools, meaning it is unlikely for the concept to be ever successful here...Chenonceau:
Right now, Teach Less Learn More has become a joke...
the same applies to preschools when MOE launches \"Learning through Play\". MANY MANY preschool teachers still cannot do this correctly and kids suffer...
(1) Don't do it?
(2) Do it in stages?
(3) Continue as we are? -
Wah, another excellent write up by Chenonceau again. :udawoman:
Sigh...I think you should copy your letter to the garmen.
The learning thru play is another joke lah...what do teachers know about learning thru play? They just sit and shake legs niah while the children really PLAY lor. What learning? Chey. :faint:
Only very few, and I mean VERY FEW teachers would understand the essence of LEARN THRU PLAY. -
smurf:
Wah lau Smurf, you embarass me again lah.... :oops: :heresmyfish:Wah, another excellent write up by Chenonceau again. :udawoman:
Sigh...I think you should copy your letter to the garmen.
The learning thru play is another joke lah...what do teachers know about learning thru play? They just sit and shake legs niah while the children really PLAY lor. What learning? Chey. :faint:
Only very few, and I mean VERY FEW teachers would understand the essence of LEARN THRU PLAY.
But thank you.
Thanks for this. Was really clueless and son is already halfway through P3! :idea:jfangs:
Hi Jfangs,
We have quite a few recommendations at the other forums, you may like to take a look at the links:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19568
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6640
Will spend more time in Popular to do my 'assessments' (of guide books!) :moneyflies: -
jfangs:
You most welcome! :D..Me also learn and pick up tips from many parents here through their sharing and advice on Science Guide/Assessment Books. :grphug:
Thanks for this. Was really clueless and son is already halfway through P3! :idea:
Will spend more time in Popular to do my 'assessments' (of guide books!) :moneyflies: -
The True Spirit of Teach Less and Learn More
I think I am gonna confuse everyone by seeming to contradict myself. I actually embrace the notion of Teach Less and Learn More. It is a basket of pedagogical strategies that I embrace, and that every corporate trainer (worth his salt) knows: PROVIDED IT IS DONE RIGHT. Underlying the true spirit of Teach Less Learn More is an important principle.
PEOPLE LEARN BY DOING
In management training, you would rarely catch trainers teaching through TALK TALK TALK. For trainers to make a living and get repeat business, they need to develop and deliver highly interactive programs. Else, the adult learners will complain, and after tea break, many won't even come back to your class. Adult learners have day jobs, you see. They can and do choose to go back to fight workplace crises if they think you're boring and ineffective as a corporate trainer. Adults have no time and they wanna learn fast and effectively, without the need for revision.
To ensure learning effectiveness, I learnt to create a sequence of learning activities that get adult learners DOING something right through the 8-hour workshop. As they DO, they learn and when they learn through DOING, they retain (without having to revise). After, they have DONE, I give feedback. I teach (i.e., TALK TALK) less, but because they DO MORE, they learn more and effectively.
This is the true spirit of Teach Less Learn More. I embrace it, and practise it. However, the creation of such lessons requires more time and effort than devising a simple TALK TALK TALK.
(1) You gotta choose the right materials (i.e., you need to source for high quality materials, and make sure everything is available for ease of reference)
(2) You need to construct the right activity that will force the cognitive processes you want.
(3) You need to master your domain superbly. This is because you never know how each individual approaches the cognitive task, and thus, you will never be able to foresee every single question that a student might ask. And you really really teach most effectively when the student has cognitive reception (i.e., there is a question in the student's head that is waiting to absorb your answer)
(4) You need to analyze student work, and be able to give individualized feedback in a non-threatening and very supportive way.
In the context of our kids, this translates into...
(1) Choosing the highest quality materials (not overwhelm them with a lot but pick the best): But... how many parents have the capacity/skill to evaluate teaching materials by ourselves? The school needs to provide our kids with, and not leave us to go ask our buddies to recommend Math Heuristics and Onsponge. All I did was throw Onsponge to my son. He managed. There were one or 2 sums he could not crack and so he asked his Dad for feedback.
(2) Assessing the relative areas of ignorance and understanding for our children (i.e., know which cognitive processes to focus on) and choose exercises or activities to target specific areas (so as not to waste time). But... how many parents can evaluate and target thus? Schools should design individualized skills practices for each child so that they don't waste time doing exercises they already master. My son has to go through tons of simple math problems for homework when he has already learnt branching and unitary transfer. Everyday, I pick him up and I ask \"Have Teacher done with the class the kind of questions that are in the last few pages of Paper 2 yet?\" Till today (2 weeks before exams, the answer is \"No\").
(3) Master Science, English, Math, Mother Tongue superbly. How many parents are good in all 4 subjects? I am great at English and can handle the whole gamut from Compre to Creative Writing. My hubby takes on the Math load 'cos he masters that domain superbly, and my 2 males actually ENJOY cracking those horrible sums. But what if my hubby is bad at Math? Does every Teacher in MOE master all 4 subjects?
(4) Analyze our children's skills practice and give feedback in a non-threatening and supportive way. How many parents have short fuses? And because we love our children, the fuses get even shorter eh? How many parents know how to analyze and give feedback on work done?
Teach Less Learn More does work, but Teachers need to work SMARTER and HARDER to make it work. Teachers need smaller classes so that they can give SKILLS FEEDBACK consistently, regularly and patiently. It takes professionalism and skill to Teach Less Learn More. When they rolled out the new enhanced syllabus with skills emphasis, MOE should have looked at how teachers teach... and made changes there too. Then roll out both together.
Right now, Teach Less Learn More has become a joke... and a slogan of pain and failure. Why? Because parents have to teach what the school has no time/resources to teach... and teaching methods have not evolved. When actually, Teach Less Learn More points to a basket of strategies that are simply designed to have People Learn by Doing, not by Listening to Teacher Talk. It is a pity because Teach Less Learn More can work if properly done.
All it takes is smaller classes, more individual attention, less TALK and more feedback. Like in corporate training.
:goodpost:
That's Why One of the Tasks Sch Can Do Now is Improve the Class Size, If Cannot Achieve 1:20, then 2:40 is another Alternative. Parcel-ing it could Let the T Have More Time for Skill FeedBack, etc.
Chenonceau,
U No Need to Send Petition, Just Send your Write-Up to MOE, Endorsed by the KSP Parents Here Will DO.
Am Sure People in Power Cannot Ignore or Dismiss Constructive FeedBack Like Yours ....
:celebrate: :celebrate:
MayBe Will Ask U Join them and Stand for Election, Some More ....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.