Teach Less, Learn More
Compo is a paper by itselfβ¦and yet we are struggling to help our kids score high marks for it. However, there is no direction or skills taught to the kids to do so. So what happens ? Sign up for creative writing classes.
Iβm just wondering how can MOE have such a lousy teaching system in place ? This is PRIMARY school, not University. -
chamonix:
Heard that too. But also heard that the mind stretcher advertisement was misleading, and that he didn't attend their program.
Qualifier : This is only hearsay. The PSLE top scorer was having enrichment lessons at Mindstretcher. -
I think this teach less, learn more program was adopting from overseas? When I was in overseas uni last time, they really teach less, but students have to do self studies/ research after lectures. And in turn, they really learn more rather than lecturers keep feeding and feeding informations. BUT, I think this can only apply to tertiary students whereby the students have thinking skills already and sound basic knowledge. But for small kids, I dun think they can do that. Because they still need guidance and people to teach them! Can you imagine small kids going to library by themselves doing research?? Of coz the parents have to do it for them or at least bring them there!
smurf:
I think this teach less, learn more program was adopting from overseas? When I was in overseas uni last time, they really teach less, but students have to do self studies/ research after lectures. And in turn, they really learn more rather than lecturers keep feeding and feeding informations. BUT, I think this can only apply to tertiary students whereby the students have thinking skills already and sound basic knowledge. But for small kids, I dun think they can do that. Because they still need guidance and people to teach them! Can you imagine small kids going to library by themselves doing research?? Of coz the parents have to do it for them or at least bring them there!
I am starting to sound like a yes-woman but... YES! EXACTLY! -
I read from page 1 till here and really have to agree to most of what you have to say - seems like \"Enrichment class\" is a must..
My DD1 is P3 this year and I almost feeling the pressure pressing v hard since Term 1
...I am not a v Kiasu parent but I must say I keep v close tap to what my DD1 is learning from school....One area of concern, as I think most parents here agree - SCIENCE - a tough subject but has the least attention because it has only 4 periods (Total 2 hours) per week!
...Yes, the textbook is so pathetic that I do not know why MOE agrees to have so big beautiful pictures and the notes are so........little and insufficient! So, no wonder almost all student is expected to read up more from the guide book(s), assessment book(s) and through the internet! :!:
I am really
:? what is this \"Teach Less, Learn More?\" concept about! :shock: -
smurf:
Teach less, Learn more definitely doesn't and can't apply to primary school children. What do they know about research ? If there are doubts for many questions, are they supposed to visit library every other day ?
At the end of the day, aren't the parents doing the research instead ? -
My son is good at Science. Even in P5 where I worry about his other 3 subjects, I am not fearful for Science. HE DOES NOT READ THE TEXTBOOK AT ALL. He relies on extensive internet research. And since he loves it, he can spend 5 hours on Sundays (his play day) doing that. The textbook is NO USE.I read from page 1 till here and really have to agree to most of what you have to say - seems like \"Enrichment class\" is a must..
My DD1 is P3 this year and I almost feeling the pressure pressing v hard since Term 1
...I am not a v Kiasu parent but I must say I keep v close tap to what my DD1 is learning from school....One area of concern, as I think most parents here agree - SCIENCE - a tough subject but has the least attention because it has only 4 periods (Total 2 hours) per week!
...Yes, the textbook is so pathetic that I do not know why MOE agrees to have so big beautiful pictures and the notes are so........little and insufficient! So, no wonder almost all student is expected to read up more from the guide book(s), assessment book(s) and through the internet! :!:
I am really
:? what is this \"Teach Less, Learn More?\" concept about! :shock:
\"Pathetic\" is definitely an apt description of the textbooks. -
My son has Kumon because we realized that the school does not give enough math practice. I brought him to his very first Chinese tuition last Friday and the tutor was amazed at his mastery since he has had no tuition till now and I am illiterate in Chinese. We've never believed in enrichment/tuition. My daughter had no tuition in primary school and she needed very little coaching from us. She still managed to get into a top secondary school.
For those Kids without Tuition, they just have to Work Extra Hard and Study on their Own and Seek Clarifications from Parents / Siblings / Friends when such Occasions Happen. My Gal Belongs to this Rare Few who Wants to do it on Her own.
Else May Have to Follow the Trend and Outsource - Join the Tuition Route -liao!

However, my son's PSLE syllabus is so different. My husband and I spend hours coaching him. When he seeks help from us, it is still tuition, no? We don't outsource but it is still tuition... at least, I think of it as tuition.
Our family does this because both of us are highly educated. I score in the top 2 percent of GMAT worldwide scores for English. My husband scores in the top 2 % of GMAT for Math. That is why we don't have to outsource Science, Creative Writing, Math problem sums. Also, I once taught in MOE and still teach in uni. I can teach. Our family can manage and we look upon this as bonding. I truly wonder how the children of cleaners and roadsweepers manage.
Recently, the newspapers highlighted the cases of poor kids made good at 'A' levels. These kids went through PSLE before the new skills emphasis syllabus was put in. With this new syllabus, and the old way of talk talk talk teaching plus large class sizes, tuition (whether outsourced or done by parents) is necessary.
Skills can only be learnt when children DO... and receive individual feedback to then refine what they DO. The skills emphasis of the new syllabus is at odds with the teaching methods and the large class sizes. With so many students, teachers can only talk. They can't observe, and give personalized feedback.
I am beginning to sound a bit obnoxious. Funx3, pls forgive. However, the gap between syllabus (skills heavy) and method (talk) and class size (too large for skills refinement feedback) is so hidden in plain sight that I am hoping that if pointed out, something will change. -
Wow Chenonceau, scored top 2% in GMAT...dun pray pray hor... :lol:
smurf:
Wow Chenonceau, scored top 2% in GMAT...dun pray pray hor... :lol:
English only lah...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.