Teach Less, Learn More
If these parents teach their children P1 work even before start of school term, might as well home-school the kids since they think they are so capable. In sending them to school, this would deprive other kids of a place. Afterall, these kids have already been taught everything in P1. These parents would definitely not settle for any school in the first place.
The homeschoolers I know definitely do not concern themselves with teaching P1 (or other grades) syllabus ahead of schools. Perhaps they are the ones that truly teach less, but learn more.
We hothouse our poor kids bcos Singapore has no oil or other precious commodity.
Education is a very long journey, surely there is a way to educate our children using methods which are fruitful. If βTeach Less, Learn Moreβ is here to stay, then MOE should be gearing towards a HOLISTIC method and really meaning it. Singapore kids are exam-smart as well as assessment book-smart but take them out of these, I doubt they can really benefit from Teach Less, Learn More. -
And Take the FUN out Of Learning? :roll: :roll:
Yup... and because there are these arbitrary and rigid conventions in marking, one needs to coach kids for exam answering technique rather than actual Math.ksi:
Not sure why kids these days need so much coaching. :? There are 2 observations I have of today's Math:
1. The language used is different and it tends to trip more than trick.
2. The marking is more regimented hence it stresses the children if they do not do according to prescribed method. It stifles the thinking process in some cases. -
And Take the FUN out Of Learning? :roll: :roll:[/quote]There is no more FUN in learning now.
Yup... and because there are these arbitrary and rigid conventions in marking, one needs to coach kids for exam answering technique rather than actual Math.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"ksi\"]Not sure why kids these days need so much coaching. :? There are 2 observations I have of today's Math:
1. The language used is different and it tends to trip more than trick.
2. The marking is more regimented hence it stresses the children if they do not do according to prescribed method. It stifles the thinking process in some cases.
Take Maths for eg, the child must be well-versed in diff methods of answering the problem sum...either branching, algebra or unit transfer etc. This way, he/she is able to know what method to use once the question is read. -
Actually I still find learning the new Math fun and that is because I learn it myself, exploratory style. And for my child is fine because she has strong foundation to learn except that she also has to learn the whims and fancies of her teachers' marking. So the approach of learning math today is the issue and of course the marking scheme in schools, not necessarily in PSLE.
There is no more FUN in learning now.
Take Maths for eg, the child must be well-versed in diff methods of answering the problem sum...either branching, algebra or unit transfer etc. This way, he/she is able to know what method to use once the question is read. -
do schools allow students to use Unit Transfer method and algebra in P4 ?
Actually I still find learning the new Math fun and that is because I learn it myself, exploratory style. And for my child is fine because she has strong foundation to learn except that she also has to learn the whims and fancies of her teachers' marking. So the approach of learning math today is the issue and of course the marking scheme in schools, not necessarily in PSLE.janet_lee88:
There is no more FUN in learning now.
Take Maths for eg, the child must be well-versed in diff methods of answering the problem sum...either branching, algebra or unit transfer etc. This way, he/she is able to know what method to use once the question is read.
I find that a combination of modelling and algebra makes an efficient solution. -
cimman:
In PSLE it is ABSOLUTELY allowed...schools ah....depends lor.....that is where the stress comes from.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
do schools allow students to use Unit Transfer method and algebra in P4 ?
I find that a combination of modelling and algebra makes an efficient solution. -
Actually, I find teaching the concepts required according to the p1 syllabus to my 2yo quite fun. Not exactly work to him, bc he gets to take out cubes & weighing balance and a load of other manupilatives. So to him, it's like a game. And it helps that he can read well, so it's not difficult to teach.
Actually I still find learning the new Math fun and that is because I learn it myself, exploratory style. And for my child is fine because she has strong foundation to learn except that she also has to learn the whims and fancies of her teachers' marking. So the approach of learning math today is the issue and of course the marking scheme in schools, not necessarily in PSLE. -
Actually, I find teaching the concepts required according to the p1 syllabus to my 2yo quite fun. Not exactly work to him, bc he gets to take out cubes & weighing balance and a load of other manupilatives. So to him, it's like a game. And it helps that he can read well, so it's not difficult to teach.
:salute: P1 syllabus to 2 yr old! :salute:
:salute: Reads well at 2 yrs old! :salute: -
Not sure why kids these days need so much coaching. :? There are 2 observations I have of today's Math.
Home coaching issit? :?
Dun have leh. My DD2 covered all the basics in school.
Very step by step. In fact, because of the introduction
from school, she in turn shows me why things are done
in a certain way for the different types of questions. She
thinks it's kinda fun showing mummy that she knows.
Agree. :lol: What's up with Maths qns these days, uh? :siao:1. The language used is different and it tends to trip more than trick.
Testing language more than mathematical concepts. :siao:
:idea: Guess it's their idea of helping children think out of the box? :idea:
ie. If question is asked in a different manner, children should be able to geddit
too, instead of boring straighforward styled qns. :lol:ksi:
Yes and no answer for this one... for me, i guess..2. The marking is more regimented hence it stresses the children if they do not do according to prescribed method. It stifles the thinking process in some cases.
Regimented marking allows for conformity where teachers can identify children
who lack the skills from basic introductory level onwards and can zoom in to assist.
Meaning because everyone has to do the same, then they can tell which child needs
help with foundation skills, instead of allowing such children to be left behind to
sink further due to lack of understanding of the one-track-method.
As for the marking, DDs teachers explain to parents how marks are awarded for
math problems or qns that are being tested.. how at certain levels for a 3 step qn,
method marks are allowed and the teachers will initial an M1, M2 and M3 for method
marks even if the answer statement is written wrongly due to carelessness or illegible
handwriting..
... and how at higher levels there will not be pity marks or method marks and that
less tolerance for carelessness and illegible handwriting comes in. The worst part
in this is that... in the absence of an answer statement, marks will be deducted regardless
when the final answer required is correct. In this one area, i find a bit wu liao cause seriously..
After all the detailed workings that arrive at the correct final answer.. what use is the answer
statement reali... other than to state the obvious like, \"Mr Lee sold 197 coupons
in the 3 days.\"... as already reflected in the 3 step workings. :roll:janet_lee88:
Errr.. i don't recall learning as being something fun at all to begin with. It is not[There is no more FUN in learning now.
in my opinion a case of then and now isn't it?
Learning was supposed to be
something one HAS to do.. i suppose that was what was drilled to us back then
as the responsibility or the child.. just like the responsibility of the parent is to work and
provide for the family, just to quote an example.. A case of everyone having their
own duties/responsibilities to fulfil in their own way.
However, if there's a need to compare the fun factor the learning now is way less
rote-styled as compared to before.. definitely more fun now than in my hey days.
So many fun stuff for children to learn and most of them at no cost. Even if there
is any payment to be made, it amounts to very little. Like my two DDs.. the schools
offered computer programmes, Adobe Photoshop, speech & drama, conversational
Malay/Mandarin, trips to museums and musicals/plays, story-telling workshops...
just to name a few... so... if you ask me... it is very very fun learning which i didn't
get to enjoy during my time. Envy. :politebleah: These programmes or initiatives
are sometimes in-line with what's covered in school like a theme, hence making
learning in the Teach Less Learn More environment, a more holistic way of learning.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.