Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      hypergatak

ANobleNerd:

[quote=\"tankee\"]George Yeo broke his promise

Foreign Minister George Yeo said on Tuesday he will not be contesting Aljunied GRC at the next general election.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1127882/1/.html

anyway he is 57yr old, by next GE, he would be 62!

This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.

Why should age matter in such a way? Chiam is 72, and suffered 2 strokes, but he still will put in to fight in the next GE.

George's leaving politics because he lost now, compared to Chiam's fighting to stay on, reveals a lot about Spirit, Passion and Pride in serving Singaporeans.[/quote]Agreed! With the pension that he will get, he has enough to last him a life time. Have a read in this article on ministers' pension which I read in Tan Kin Lian Blog. This is the link to the letter:
      http://easyapps.sg/sgep/admin/file.aspx?id=145

Minister's pension
      A letter explaining the pension paid to ministers has been posted in SGEP. Here is the direct link.

Dear Kin Lian
      As an actuary, I am sure you can easily quantify the amount paid out in a year or the amount needed to be set aside for this pension. It would probably run into billions a year and the public has a right to know. Let not forget this amount is for life and pay out of our tax money.

I am not against pension system. I think it is a good social safety net for all Singaporean. Previously, public servants are getting a pension because their remuneration are lower than the private sector so it is a way to compensate them. However, since CPF was implemented decades ago, still PAP does not have a transition mechanism to migrate the pension system for Ministers to CPF system.

While I think that we may not be able to stop these pension payment to those who have retired due to contractual reasons, we should at least push the govt to review the system so as not to burden our future generations with such huge financial obligation. As you are keenly aware, The longer we wait, the compounding effect of this financial burden will increase astronomically.

poppy15

pinky:
        the first one rest for the time being and this one will continue till 2016 and beyond....cheers :boogie: :boogie: :boogie: :boogie:

:yikes: :faint:
        how million posts this will hv in 2016 :?

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

TPL just got married right? So surely plan to have kids during the next 5 years right? So got x months of S$15k/mth maternity leave lor...??

she cannot afford to get pregant now can she? if she wanna run for election in 2016...how to run ard with a ball in front of her

MP must lead by example, heel Govnt's call to have more babies.

concern2

hypergatak:

While I think that we may not be able to stop these pension payment to those who have retired due to contractual reasons, we should at least push the govt to review the system so as not to burden our future generations with such huge financial obligation. As you are keenly aware, The longer we wait, the compounding effect of this financial burden will increase astronomically.
            Highly doubt it. PM just said he will push for increase income \"across the board\"..

Trapwithin

raysusan:
              In her maiden rally speech, she spoke about how she had covered 30 blocks for house visits and each market in her constituency at least twice. In a special report in the New Paper, it was even said that she managed to visit 100 households in an hour. Is that what voters are concerned about? An election is not a competition about the speed at which you can shake hands of residents nor is it about the number of hands you shake! House visits are opportunities to understand the needs of voters. How can one understand the frustrations and needs of voters when one spends an average of 36 seconds with each household?
              Agreed. PAP MP seems to be rushing the house visitation like .. er .. hitting the company KPI .. like cover all household in 9 days. My MP grassroots actually tell me it is ok if I do not want to meet my PAP candidate during the GE time when they saw me holding the keys to open the gate .. sigh .... that's what we people are talking about .. \"lack of heart\"

The PAP candidate \"parachute in\" . hid behind the ministers and guaranttee a place in parliament (no longer now :lol: ) .. so many take the campaigning as formalties to enter parliament rather than a chance to understand the need of the people.
              If they have to fight SMC themselves, I believe they will response very differently.

Though many claims they have done grassroots work for 2-7 years .... they are mainly managing RC activities and MPS, implementating programs mechanically rather than listening to the ground and do \"block to block\" visit with a heart. In fact, some only do block to block on election time and yet they always claim that the Opp candidate only appears during Election. For some resident, prior to GE2011, has never seen their MP for 20yrs.

I know Sylvia Lim and Amy Khor do \"block to block\" visit weekly .. look at Amy Khor winning percentage - highest in PAP. People wants a MP that hears the ground not someone parachute in to do grassroots work mechanically.

Trapwithin

Busymom:

... The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh...

There is a difference between the 2. The first one we talk and it makes a difference. This one now we talk and it makes no difference :).

:lol: :lol:

hypergatak:

Agreed! With the pension that he will get, he has enough to last him a life time. Have a read in this article on ministers' pension which I read in Tan Kin Lian Blog. This is the link to the letter:
                  http://easyapps.sg/sgep/admin/file.aspx?id=145

Minister's pension
                  A letter explaining the pension paid to ministers has been posted in SGEP. Here is the direct link.

Dear Kin Lian
                  As an actuary, I am sure you can easily quantify the amount paid out in a year or the amount needed to be set aside for this pension. It would probably run into billions a year and the public has a right to know. Let not forget this amount is for life and pay out of our tax money.

I am not against pension system. I think it is a good social safety net for all Singaporean. Previously, public servants are getting a pension because their remuneration are lower than the private sector so it is a way to compensate them. However, since CPF was implemented decades ago, still PAP does not have a transition mechanism to migrate the pension system for Ministers to CPF system.

Can you confirm if Ministers are still on pension scheme? I was having this dialogue with 2 guys who insisted that Ministers should be highly paid in millions because they have no pension scheme. :mad:

concern2

[quote=\"concern2\"]TPL just got married right? So surely plan to have kids during the next 5 years right? So got x months of S$15k/mth maternity leave lor...??

she cannot afford to get pregant now can she? if she wanna run for election in 2016...how to run ard with a ball in front of her

MP must lead by example, heel Govnt's call to have more babies.[/quote]How nice, 3 pregnancies in 5 years, no need to work liao loh :stupid: :stupid:

Trapwithin

i did consider setting up a kopi stall, but afraid the rental would kill me

I am sure Chief will consider a profit-sharing scheme with you rather than charging rental šŸ˜‰

Strparent

ANobleNerd:

[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]

This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.

George's leaving politics because he lost now, compared to Chiam's fighting to stay on, reveals a lot about Spirit, Passion and Pride in serving Singaporeans.

Thought provoking in fact. Each has his own path, I suppose.

To me, CST has been wearing the same shoes, walking the same path (fight for democracy). To him, he will continue walking until he is unable to, and until he reaches his destination.
                        [/quote]He couldn't make headways when he was in the circle for 23 years, now that he is not even MP-elected, there is no chance he can help reform the incumbent from within, not for lack of efforts of course.

He saw the people's views and wishes, but in order to help the people achieve it, the only way now to do so would unfortunately be considered judas by many. And he saw what happened to OTC when an elected president tried to do his duties properly. So the best option, is to retire from politics.

best wishes to GY...

( and JN is definitely a bad influence :evil: :evil: )

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 19 / 133