Post GE 2011 Discussion
http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/05/11/netizens-considering-class-action-suit-against-tnp-and-melvin-singh/
[quote]Some netizens from the “Boycott TNP” Facebook are mulling launching a class action suit against SPH tabloid The New Paper (TNP) and its Deputy Editor Melvin Singh.[/quote] -
it seems many people do not understand why last itme Maersk Line quit PSA to go to Johor (over rental) … and then the spiral effect of job loss in the relevant supporting industries that hurt many singaporeans, penny wise pound foolish,…i think one minister got dropped subsequently…
like MM said, people don’t remember … -
it seems many people do not understand why last itme Maersk Line quit PSA to go to Johor (over rental) ................... and then the spiral effect of job loss in the relevant supporting industries that hurt many singaporeans, penny wise pound foolish,........i think one minister got dropped subsequently....
like MM said, people don't remember ......
why eh?
why last itme Maersk Line quit PSA to go to Johor (over rental) ? :? -
if remember correctly, they wanted to operate the berths on their own, take over a number of quay from PSA, and nego on rental but PSA did not want to back down....and JB PTP came with a good offer and off they went. Ended up with lots of retrenchment in singapore, not only port workers, but also all the related supporting industries who used to support Maersk - all lost biz and close shop...... quite many thousand in total lost job, a few times the number of directly affected port workers. gov't had to step inverykiasu2010:
it seems many people do not understand why last itme Maersk Line quit PSA to go to Johor (over rental) ................... and then the spiral effect of job loss in the relevant supporting industries that hurt many singaporeans, penny wise pound foolish,........i think one minister got dropped subsequently....
like MM said, people don't remember ......
why eh?
why last itme Maersk Line quit PSA to go to Johor (over rental) ? :?
lesson learnt : don't be penny wise, pound foolish....same for airline industry, that is why MM said die die must make sure SIA is able to compete and cannot let the union politicise everything and strike....that will kill the industry
same for the foreign worker issue now. talk is cheap. close down lor to spite the foreigners ? end up singaporean also no job
just like when we invest in China, we put a few hundred million US$ and we put our singapore managers to jaga the operation -- not that the locals can't do - but the singapore managers take care of my vested interest, not the locals. if they don't agree, we close shop, they get no jobs, we go else where -
Think Insider gave some idea as to how it works for hiring foreign workers.Daddy

[quote=\"Funz\"]A friend of mine had to put her expansion plans on hold and even wind up one of her restaurants due to manpower issues. Because of that, her restaurant manager who is a Singaporean is out of a job. Because she is unable to expand, there is a loss of employment opportunity for Singaporeans.
But then again... e.g. a company which employs 1 SG manager and 10 foreigner staffs... it can shut down for all I care.
Likewise for those MNCs... e.g. 10 SG mgmt/supervisors to 100 foreigner productions workers... doesn't raise employment of locals... so who do benefit in the end?
Like it or not there will be jobs that are blue collar intensive like construction. Even those little companies that do your reno for you, think the people doing the ground work r locals.
Shut down for all you care? In that case be prepared to pick up the hammer n saw to do your own reno or pay a lot more to get the job done.[/quote]Just for debating sake...
Basically it boils down to employers' and employees' standpoints...
employers want cheaper workers and more profits...
employees want higher pay and better benefits...
have to draw a line somewhere...
U can't expect to have a future nation of SG employers and foreign employees, can you? -
that sound like some Mid East countries, 80% to 90% foreigner running the economy
U can't expect to have a future nation of SG employers and foreign employees, can you?
kick out the foreigners and there is only sands left -
If we continue to be ONLY economically driven country surely we will only have lots of empty HDB flats left. :lol: It is a balancing act.
that sound like some Mid East countries, 80% to 90% foreigner running the economyDaddy

U can't expect to have a future nation of SG employers and foreign employees, can you?
kick out the foreigners and there is only sands left -
If we continue to be ONLY economically driven country surely we will only have lots of empty HDB flats left. :lol: It is a balancing act.[/quote]agreed - balance is important: esp one of the factors of production that drives all the cost up - land cost. how high is high enough ?? i don't like him when he says lowering land cost = raiding national reserves. he is out of touch with the world, and he is raiding you and me of our hard earned money
that sound like some Mid East countries, 80% to 90% foreigner running the economyverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"Daddy D\"]
kick out the foreigners and there is only sands left
but what does singapore has except people doing business, banking, and manufacturing, and now some gambling ? -
A lot of PROPERTIES to sink us physically and financially!!!! :rotflmao:
agreed - balance is important: esp one of the factors of production that drives all the cost up - land cost. how high is high enough ?? i don't like him when he says lowering land cost = raiding national reserves. he is out of touch with the world, and he is raiding you and me of our hard earned money
but what does singapore has except people doing business, banking, and manufacturing, and now some gambling ? -
Think Insider gave some idea as to how it works for hiring foreign workers.Daddy

[quote=\"Funz\"]A friend of mine had to put her expansion plans on hold and even wind up one of her restaurants due to manpower issues. Because of that, her restaurant manager who is a Singaporean is out of a job. Because she is unable to expand, there is a loss of employment opportunity for Singaporeans.
But then again... e.g. a company which employs 1 SG manager and 10 foreigner staffs... it can shut down for all I care.
Likewise for those MNCs... e.g. 10 SG mgmt/supervisors to 100 foreigner productions workers... doesn't raise employment of locals... so who do benefit in the end?
Like it or not there will be jobs that are blue collar intensive like construction. Even those little companies that do your reno for you, think the people doing the ground work r locals.
Shut down for all you care? In that case be prepared to pick up the hammer n saw to do your own reno or pay a lot more to get the job done.[/quote]Funz, thank you for your contributions so far. You are telling the other side of the story, the reason why Singaporean employers need to hire foreign workers to run their operations. This is something that often gets lost in the debate against FTs. And it IS different coming from a real employer like yourself, than from the government trying to explain its policies.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.