Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      raysusan

[quote]WP assigns MPs wards in Aljunied

ALJUNIED GRC has five wards, and the Workers' Party has decided which of its newly elected Members of Parliament for the GRC will take charge in each ward.

WP chief Low Thia Khiang will take charge of the Bedok Reservoir-Punggol ward that was under Foreign Minister George Yeo.

Party chairman Sylvia Lim will take over from Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua in Serangoon ward.

Top corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao will take over from Madam Cynthia Phua in Paya Lebar.

In Eunos, postgraduate law student Pritam Singh will take over from Senior Minister of State (Foreign Affairs) Zainul Abidin Rasheed.

And family counsellor Muhamad Faisal Abdul Manap will handle the Kaki Bukit ward that the PAP's first-time candidate Ong Ye Kung stood in.[/quote]
      and.....
      George Yeo No More Kuay Teow Hot
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Lm_Zr5kzw1A

• O Offline
        Oppsgal

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/final-tally-votes-cast-ge2011-released-171354318.html

• O Offline
          Oppsgal

if remember correctly, they wanted to operate the berths on their own, take over a number of quay from PSA, and nego on rental but PSA did not want to back down....and JB PTP came with a good offer and off they went. Ended up with lots of retrenchment in singapore, not only port workers, but also all the related supporting industries who used to support Maersk - all lost biz and close shop...... quite many thousand in total lost job, a few times the number of directly affected port workers. gov't had to step in

lesson learnt : don't be penny wise, pound foolish....same for airline industry, that is why MM said die die must make sure SIA is able to compete and cannot let the union politicise everything and strike....that will kill the industry

same for the foreign worker issue now. talk is cheap. close down lor to spite the foreigners ? end up singaporean also no job

just like when we invest in China, we put a few hundred million US$ and we put our singapore managers to jaga the operation -- not that the locals can't do - but the singapore managers take care of my vested interest, not the locals. if they don't agree, we close shop, they get no jobs, we go else where

But currently how many Singaporeans are jobless too :?

• O Offline
            Oppsgal

I wonder would the gvt do anything about the prices of new HDB flats.

If new HDB flats prices keep increasing, will the gvt build flats on islands such as pulau ubin to provide lower priced flats? I can't see salary increasing the same pace as the prices, so really don't know how will the kids afford housing next time.
            Move to JB.

Augmum

If we continue to be ONLY economically driven country surely we will only have lots of empty HDB flats left. :lol: It is a balancing act.
              if the PR/ FT/ FW issues is not tactfully solved, (when they start leaving Singapore)
              we are going to see the ppty prices plunge down when all these empty flats /houses floating the market,
              esp now when they keep building new ones.

sleepy

Oppsgal:

I wonder would the gvt do anything about the prices of new HDB flats.

If new HDB flats prices keep increasing, will the gvt build flats on islands such as pulau ubin to provide lower priced flats? I can't see salary increasing the same pace as the prices, so really don't know how will the kids afford housing next time.

Move to JB.

JB houses also not that cheap.
                Best is buy low in Singapore, amortise over the remaining lease period & that is your rental cost
                Problem is need to wait for next trough... if it ever returns

• O Offline
                  Oppsgal

sleepy:
                  Oppsgal:

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]I wonder would the gvt do anything about the prices of new HDB flats.

Move to JB.

JB houses also not that cheap.
                  Best is buy low in Singapore, amortise over the remaining lease period & that is your rental cost
                  Problem is need to wait for next trough... if it ever returns[/quote]How to buy low in Singapore?

If JB houses are not cheap, then buy from much further \"North\" into the Malaysia? Old folks also ask to go JB...Maybe all move to there stay. Lower costs...

Watching the youtube:
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9R-Fwylg0tU&feature=player_embedded

Augmum

sleepy:
                    Oppsgal:

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]I wonder would the gvt do anything about the prices of new HDB flats.

Move to JB.

JB houses also not that cheap.Best is buy low in Singapore, amortise over the remaining lease period & that is your rental cost
                    Problem is need to wait for next trough... if it ever returns[/quote]JB houses are cheap lah.
                    but u can get stucked with the house for quite a long time when u wanna to sell, very difficult to find buyers.
                    my BIL can afford few semi D and shophouses there.

• enneE Offline
                      enne

WP’s Yaw Shin Leong Meet-the-People-Session (MPS) held at Block 310, Hougang Avenue 5 picture at yahoo http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/am-own-man-wp-yaw-shin-leong-205732087.html

quite sad to see how they need to use void deck for the mps session

raysusan

enne:
                        WP’s Yaw Shin Leong Meet-the-People-Session (MPS) held at Block 310, Hougang Avenue 5 picture at yahoo http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/am-own-man-wp-yaw-shin-leong-205732087.html

quite sad to see how they need to use void deck for the mps session
                        that is where they win the heart of so many votes too

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 51 / 133