Post GE 2011 Discussion
Thanks verykiasu2010, Funz, MummyThreeSteams for your insight. Learnt something new today! Again, this thread is too addictive...need to go for rehab again! :thankyou:
dunnoleh:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: i where got powder to bring them here ? if I have, I won't be a keyboard warrior here liao.....
what! you brought them here?verykiasu2010:
this is not speculative
they have been persuaded to move fund management to singapore
i was at their geneva office
somebody asked you to jack up our GDP, issit? GRRR..... :mad:
happen to visit their geneva office..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
:thankyou: :goodpost: this thread has taken a new life :celebrate:
:celebrate: All the things I wanna say and more.MummyThreeStreams:
If the government now decides to pull back on access to foreign workers, then we must accept that there may be lower, slower growth. This is the trade-off.
We can't have our cake and eat it....
OK, enough of my verbal diarrhoea. Don't flame me ok? I think I've been dealing with too much kids stuff being stuck at home I feel I gotta exercise my rusty brain a bit...
Anyway, gotta get back to my kids now.
[quote="DesertWind"]
jamban in her country of origin means toilet, broadcast from parliament some moreโฆgot crass -
AceTutors123:
when i was hiring accountants, may be about 5 out of 200 are singaporean applicants !? reason ? jurong is too ulu for singaporean to work in even with transport provided or car allowance, and we are talking about at least $5k per month!i think the FTs and unemployment thing is quite difficult to understand.
i've come across so many fresh graduates who cannot find any jobs and resort to being full time tutors. Granted they can earn a decent amount every month.
i think the main issue is that our government is saying that we need foreigners to do jobs singaporeans dont want to do but in actual fact they are taking over our white collar jobs and also managerial positions. Healthcare and F and B is all foreigners.
and i think i have more and more foreigners wanting to become tutors too.
they wanna stick their finger in every pie...
we were willing to pay S$12k to send some one to Shanghai to jaga our interest there - housing provided - no taker !! no choice, hire the malaysians lor and pay less, 40% less !!! -
:celebrate: All the things I wanna say and more.[/quote]
On a seasonally adjusted basis, 57,100 locals were unemployed in Mar 2011. This corresponds to a resident unemployment rate of 2.7%, which is pretty much full-employment (full employment does not mean zero unemployment, as there will always be people in between jobs and looking for jobs). (Data from MOM, http://www.mom.gov.sg. It's actually the lowest since 2001.MummyThreeStreams:
[quote=\"Oppsgal\"]
But currently how many Singaporeans are jobless too :?
As citizens, we cannot only ask the government to do something for us. we should also ask them to explain - so what's the implication of this or that on me or my neighbour? or maybe point out these implications to them, in case they haven't thought about it. but we must understand that most of the time, even if a policy makes someone better off, someone will be worse off. There is always a trade-off. And we must understand what exactly we are unhappy with - is it the policy itself, or implications of the policy.
OK, enough of my verbal diarrhoea. Don't flame me ok? I think I've been dealing with too much kids stuff being stuck at home I feel I gotta exercise my rusty brain a bit...
Anyway, gotta get back to my kids now.
i think singapore's growth is already slower than other countries already due to our low multiplier coz of high savings. CPF, asian mentality and savings orientated government policies.
Good points and bad Points i think the high savings rate already reduced our inflations and stuff. -
those emc are not growing local operation, but growing more and more overseas, what is remaining in singapore is really for doing national service, to reduce the howling of job loss to singaporeans
Er... which kind? The GLCs or the SMBs?Daddy

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
the same for singaporean companies to relocate out
If GLCs relocate out, sure kena eaten by overseas counterparts/garmen...
If SMBs... haven't relocate out, already kena eaten by local counterparts/garmen...
Can't think of any example of SG companies relocating out of SG... expanding at most.
sometime the singapore operation is run at a loss but the overseas operation help to absorb the loss. given a chance they rather hive all operations to overseas. i cannot name names here. i used to handle their finance and i know what numbers i am talking about[/quote]An eye opening post, thanks for sharing. Then question is how do we prepare our kids? -
new version of
Chiam See Tong. A tribute to a True Son of Singapore
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7Yu59geu1Y&feature=feedu
hope he can come back in 5 yrs time -
AceTutors123:
.....i've come across so many fresh graduates who cannot find any jobs and resort to being full time tutors....
This is so true, and I think in part, these graduates have been having too good a life, so much so that they think of themselves very highly, and therefore have become very picky.
We have undergrad and interns who came to work for about a week, and when the slightest frustations crop up, said, \"what's the big deal???? I don't need this job to survive,\" and then tendered and left.
They have no experience to boast of, yet want the best pay and the easier job.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.