2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
ksme:
Wow, so early ya...Zann:
Anyone know when PSLE making days are?
Based on my ds' school's schedule, it is 15-18 Oct.
I was still guessing may be it will be 22 till 25 Oct followed by 26 Oct is a PH then we can take a longer one. I have not been able to take vacation on PSLE making days for the past 10 yrs due to the other kid having yr end exam. Sec won't allow them to take leave before school holiday for vacation. Now, DH does not want to leave him alone at home though his is already in sec. This yr will be my last\"PSLE marking days\" . :please: -
fifiyeo:
[quote=\"Zann\"]Anyone know when PSLE making days are?
You're planning for holiday ? :evil:
I'm planning for a long one in March. I think I got enough stress liao need to go relax abit. But DS don't know yet. Otherwise go crazy with excitment before CA1.[/quote]Looks like parents are more stressed than kids and parents are the one who need vacation. Going alone is easy but march sch holiday is so short. may be immediately after CA1, for 3-4 days kind to hong kong eat and shop. ha ha. -
Zann:
Wow, so early ya...ksme:
[quote=\"Zann\"]Anyone know when PSLE making days are?
Based on my ds' school's schedule, it is 15-18 Oct.
I was still guessing may be it will be 22 till 25 Oct followed by 26 Oct is a PH then we can take a longer one. I have not been able to take vacation on PSLE making days for the past 10 yrs due to the other kid having yr end exam. Sec won't allow them to take leave before school holiday for vacation. Now, DH does not want to leave him alone at home though his is already in sec. This yr will be my last\"PSLE marking days\" . :please:[/quote]Congrats for Soon-to-Get-Out of PSLE Broiler, Zann!
But .... Sec Sch Does Not Observe PSLE MArking Days as OFF Days -le!
Unless your Sec Sch Kids R Declaring their Own .... OFF Days?

Anyway, Post PSLE ....
Can Always Ask for OFF during the Wk tt U Eye-ing, Right?
You make me sound old. :oops: Always feel young to have a young one walking by your side right? So you continue to have PSLE lor :imcool:
Congrats for Soon-to-Get-Out of PSLE Broiler, Zann!

Zann:
No -la, Fellow Comrade :salute:
You make me sound old. :oops: Always feel young to have a young one walking by your side right? So you continue to have PSLE lor :imcool:Funx3:
Congrats for Soon-to-Get-Out of PSLE Broiler, Zann!

Got My Graduation Cert for PSLE Journey ....
in 2011!
If U R Old ....
I'm .... Older! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
I am feeling panic as day by day just passed and yet I canβt find time to do my vebal revision with my DS ever since school re-openedβ¦ school work cum tuition work looks like overload himβ¦
This year both my DS will be having major MOE exam - "O level" and "PSLE"⦠wrong planning last time I supposed. I am lost with mixture feelings⦠-
Mayl:
Don't Be Over-ly stressed, Mayl.I am feeling panic as day by day just passed and yet I can't find time to do my vebal revision with my DS ever since school re-opened.. school work cum tuition work looks like overload him..
This year both my DS will be having major MOE exam - \"O level\" and \"PSLE\".. wrong planning last time I supposed. I am lost with mixture feelings..
Been Thru this last year myself with a Kid each in PSLE and O Lev.
ALL 3 of us Survived OK
For the Sec Sch Kid, I'm Sure he is Studying Independantly. And Will Not Like Mummy's interference. At least Mine is like tt.
For the Pri Sch Kid, Just Monitor the Progress to See if U Need to Add \"Oil\" or Not. Agreed tt Sch is Piling on More Work esp in 1st Semesters, coz Wanna Target to Complete ALL syllabus -ma!
Lots of Past Year Practice Papers Will be Piled on in Term 3. If your boy need more Oral (since U mentioned Verbal) Revision, perhaps can do so informally over a Slot of an hour or so over the Weekend? Can Make it a Fun, Unstressed Kinda Conversational Topics, Less Like a Lesson.
U Can Even Watch TV and Pick up something from there to start with ....
Mayl:
P6 is indeed a heavy year - school work, supp, remedial, tuition, CCA,outside activities etc. Do let your DS have some time to breathe and revise. No point chiong without revising and reflecting on mistakes. Take a look at his schedule and see if anything to cut. Otherwise, make request for less tuition homework. All the best :xedfingers:I am feeling panic as day by day just passed and yet I can't find time to do my vebal revision with my DS ever since school re-opened.. school work cum tuition work looks like overload him..
This year both my DS will be having major MOE exam - \"O level\" and \"PSLE\".. wrong planning last time I supposed. I am lost with mixture feelings..
On another note, I heard some kids have double tuition for almost all subjects :yikes: Poor kid - can tahan or not
I will not judge if this is right or wrong. But as parents, do remember our kid is afterall our legacy and Pride, not measured by his performance in exams. Keep his sanity at check. Even if he managed to squeeze into that dream secondary school, he must be able to survive very well there. So go with his ability and strike a balance
Snow Crystal:
P6 is madness...it's just 2 months into the year and I find myself wondering how to last till Oct. My tutors do hold back giving too much homework, other than Math tutor bcos son needs more practice. For Chinese, it's a bit crazier now bcos there is compo for CA1...otherwise it will purely be focused on Paper 2 alone.
On another note, I heard some kids have double tuition for almost all subjects :yikes: Poor kid - can tahan or notMayl:
school work cum tuition work looks like overload him..
I will not judge if this is right or wrong. But as parents, do remember our kid is afterall our legacy and Pride, not measured by his performance in exams. Keep his sanity at check. Even if he managed to squeeze into that dream secondary school, he must be able to survive very well there. So go with his ability and strike a balance 
This CA1, I presume the school will not set friendly papers. I am not aiming high, but the attitude and effort must be there. -
anyone of you stop sending your kids to enrichment classes(like music/sports) to prepare for PSLE?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.