Club SAHM
Miss my mom home cook food.... My parent stay too far so I need to cook for my kids . I only have abt 10 dishes on my menusmurf:
Erm, so you guys dun cook, then what do you eat leh?
Hubby used to work from home...so I cook a 1-dish meal. Now that he has moved to another dept and have to go office everyday, kids and I will go to parents' place for meals...dad will pick them after school and we all go there.
eat the same dishes until :slapshead: :nailbite: :rant:
Puff, why don't you cook one or 2 dishes, and 'dabao' another dish from 'zhichar' stall outside. That's what I do sometimes for varieties.
Another way is to get a cook book for new recipes ideas. :idea: puff:
Miss my mom home cook food.... My parent stay too far so I need to cook for my kids . I only have abt 10 dishes on my menu
Hubby used to work from home...so I cook a 1-dish meal. Now that he has moved to another dept and have to go office everyday, kids and I will go to parents' place for meals...dad will pick them after school and we all go there.janet_lee88:
[quote=\"smurf\"]Erm, so you guys dun cook, then what do you eat leh?
eat the same dishes until :slapshead: :nailbite: :rant:[/quote]
Hi Angelight
Heh I dun dare try new recipes idea fr cook book coz always turn out bad till DH :siam: .
DD still quite sweet :\" mummy this new dish is nice but not as nice as the other dish \"
So now I only cook those dish that I already know.
As for tabao fr outside I lazy to leave the house leh weather too hot
三菜一汤 for me is really difficult maybe twice every week, the rest of the week is 1dish meal or DH tabao.
Weekend eat out .
Last time when staying with my mom got nice home cook food I dunno how to appreciate , now I super miss her cooking ( mayb getting old liao always think of the past :lol: ) -
i'm like puff. i cook same old stuff. initially when kids were very young and we were overseas it was because i am more used to asian stuff but there wasn't an asian mart near us so the only western veg in the supermarts there that i like to cook would invariably be broccoli, carrot, potato. not much leafy greens like xiaobaicai that kind.
if i cook leafy green there, i had to buy their spinach which they use for salads, which is more exp than here.
so always cook that kind of simple stuff, until, even after we came back to Sg and i started having so much choice at the wet market or supermart, i still had to cook the old stuff!!!!! why?!?!? cos my boys were so used to those stuff that other new things i cooked, they didn't eat much!
but now with dd, Dh and I feel we must start her off young, to have a more varying palate. so i do cook more variety now, and with the boys, i still have to cook a familiar staple and make them eat a teeny bit of the \"new\" stuff each day.
hope by the time they go NS, they can eat everything, else die lah...
that said, i also don't need to cook everyday like buds lah... quite fortunate.
my mom lives nearby, she often cooks, eat at her place about 3x a week?
then we visit ils once a week, so eat with them. on sundays, we dine out cos we are usually out.
i don't mind the cooking part actually, but dislike the cleaning up.
Wow you gals so 好命 no need to cook.
My mum lives 2 blocks away but we hardly have meals at her place, probably twice a month or at most handful times a month. She doesn't want the commitment to cook for us daily or frequently. To prepare 三菜一汤 is very time consuming & will affect her active social life :lol:
I don't like to cook or do housework but am kind of stuck with the job description. So if house gets messy, I will have bad mood and everyone will kanna from me :evil: -
I usually steam or stir-fry 2 to 3 dishes & cook porridge for dinner.
Lunch is even simplier, steam 1 dish or 一锅煮 with ingredients added into porridge.
If I have to send dd for tuition and timing coincide with my usual dinner prep time, then I will cook rice + soup earlier & re-heat soup before eating -
Mil cooks. End of story

sleepy:
To prepare 三菜一汤 is very time consuming.
三菜一汤 is actually a lot. In the past, I would just prepare 一汤...has soup, meat and vege (carrot, potato). My kids must have soup. Then if insufficient, then add on some roast duck or char siew from downstairs. -
I like to cook but I’m just too slow.
HB comes home late most night and child already sleeping so he tabaos home for us...
Child only wants to eat the same thing everyday. So technically, I \"cook\". A big pot of soup for him, once a week and keep it in the fridge. And use it throughout the week for his \"pasta soup\".
Today, I'm trying out tingkat...we'll see how that goes. Cos I'm usually hungry at the usual \"dinner hour\" but only get to eat a few hours later... now I can eat earlier.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.