Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      linden2000

oh...so i am not the only sahm that don't cook everyday. :evil:

my 'menu' also very limited. my ds2 told me,'no pasta please'. his favourite order is 'fried rice' πŸ˜„ i give them steam eggs every other day and they love it. i like to cook peas/beans cos easy to wash. don't like leafy veg cos takes a long time to clean/wash (i get paranoid).
      I have this phobia that I will miss worms on those leafy veg so like u, I don't like those leafy veg.
      :hi5:

SAHM_TAN

Hi Kabby and linden2000,

Thanks for your support πŸ˜„

Hi Kabby,

I do have time constrain, so I will have a masterpiece and easy side dish that I can steam.

Getting better with cooking but still long way to go compared to my mother and MIL.

I have problem with cooking veg asian style, strange but true.

Kabby

Hi Kabby and linden2000,

Thanks for your support πŸ˜„

Hi Kabby,

I do have time constrain, so I will have a masterpiece and easy side dish that I can steam.

Getting better with cooking but still long way to go compared to my mother and MIL.

I have problem with cooking veg asian style, strange but true.
          both my mom & mil were SAHMs who cooked everyday in their married lives. so i'm definitely nowhere near their standard too!

but ya, with more practice we get we become better!

i like cooking asian stuff but i find it easier to bake and prepare western stuff. has it got something to do with how western recipes are clearer and easier to follow and produce consistent results?

with learning asian stuff, i ask mil or mom, and they always say, add some this, add some that, no precise amts cos they cook all the time, just feel and taste along the way, can already. for me, not as much experience as them, so the trial and error will have hits and misses. not consistent like how my cakes or pastas are.

BeContented

with learning asian stuff, i ask mil or mom, and they always say, add some this, add some that, no precise amts cos they cook all the time, just feel and taste along the way, can already. for me, not as much experience as them, so the trial and error will have hits and misses. not consistent like how my cakes or pastas are.
            ha ha .... i only know a few dishes/recipes....but becos of the 'add some this, add some that, no precise amts' ..... my dishes has lotsa permutations and each time taste differently horrible :faint:

really can't understand how come they don't appreciate it, when they see you have a full time job, still cook and clean for them. sigh....

Just to clarify that when i was still a FTWWife... i was usually barred from my kitchen. Apparently i don't know what her son's taste is like or even if i know my standard just wasn't on par.. noe wat i mean. 😞

So, whatever.

Back then hubs will request for me to cook during weekends. Super. 6days work week plus one weekend burnt for wife duties. Sometimes we go out to eat too. πŸ˜„ But if you think of it again, i had off the other 6 days ain't it not? :laugh: I usually can't eat whatever she cooks. Not to my taste or liking. She'd whine that i didn't appreciate or that i am just a fuss-pot.

Again.. whatever.
              though i used to live with in laws, we had a helper so i didn't need to cook or do housework. i think it's really tough for you. glad u have your own place now!
              Having a helper is already half the battle won... with household chores. Envy. I had to slowly learn how to multi-task efficiently or else i'd never get anything done especially after having children. These days if hubs calls even DD2 can answer, \"Mummy's multi-tasking...\" if hubs asked the \"What's mummy doing...\" question. :lol:

Nothing beats one's own place regardless how small or no matter how big.. Important thing is one's own. While having own place should have been priority once married, there were too many hurdles to cross to get to the part. But fast forward 10 years.. it's finally mine. Things have never been better. And so i learn... and so i improve myself... and in doing so, i'm much happier. While moving on means more than meets the eye... i'd take it one step at a time hoping 10 years more down the road will see sweeter fruits to the years of perseverance. :xedfingers:

cwc:
                ha ha .... i only know a few dishes/recipes....but becos of the 'add some this, add some that, no precise amts' ..... my dishes has lotsa permutations and each time taste differently horrible :faint:

You cracked me up! :laugh:

This sounds hilarious! :rotflmao:

I'm sure you're exaggerating... can't be that bad bah.. :nailbite:

MummyThreeStreams:
                  DH was also a pampered child. Fortunately, he is amenable to doing minor household chores, like taking the clothes down or washing the dishes...maybe not that frequently or not to my standard, but he recognizes that I am not his servant so I can't be the only one working at home. When he starts taking me for granted, I make my unhappiness known to him, and he generally bucks up.

My saving grace is that hubs was NEVER pampered. He worked to the grind to support his family and keep everything together. In the area of sharing workload we share the thought that we are no one's slaves, so we all pitch in. Period. This way we don't take one another for granted. We only appreciate one another more.

On days where my circuit shot a bit mebbe cos from weariness or a bad day over stuff/reasons... he'd quickly and readily take over before the pontianak in me takes over the household. Oooohh yessss... i give a helluva yell. :evil:

Seeing how occupied i was today the minute he stepped in and hearing from the children how the baby kept me away from my duties, i was surprised by a very clean kitchen and he even invited me for a chat after dinner was done.

He held the baby thru' out our chat abt our day catch-up too. :love: When the baby slept and placed in the cot, he just came behind me and gave me a back rub... not only that, he reminded me to turn in early. That part i dunno how to go abt... 🀷 Still fresh even now. :roll:

mummy of 2:

[quote=\"mummy of 2\"]I have to lay claim to the most underworked SAHM cos I can't cook and don't do housework. Guess that could be why I'm feeling quite bored. Not used to having so much free time after being hectic ftwm for so long.

Wah! :please: Can say don't do housework issit? Your husband so nice. But only applies to husbands who sees no mess.. hear no mess.. dun mind mess..

Hmm not that DH does the housework. It's my helper ;)[/quote]Lucky you. :celebrate:

Must be nice to be able to be a SAHM and yet retain the helper... to go about the mundane activities (chores), so you can plan stuff for yourself to do or spend all your time with the children. πŸ˜„ Aaaahhh... bliss. :please:

terry:
                      .....after wat u did for the family..

I can make a bestseller out of all the stuff i have done for the family but when it comes to family, we shouldn't be calculative right? Besides things are very very much better than we first began building up our own family. Life never was a bed of roses but at least after all these times... most of the thorns were able to be trimmed off. For that alone, i'm blessed... to be given a second chance which i went all the way out to fight for and promised to work towards. I'm thankful.
                      terry:
                      .....im alrdy a cannot make it sahm..very 'nuah' type. i oso dun dare to post what i do evday here..if my hb complain i oso nothg to say to defend myself.
                      You're very funny.. but i loike! πŸ˜‰ I started out hating being SAHM cause it wasn't entirely a voluntary decision on my end initally, but i grew to love it. They say, life is what we make of it, isn't it? :hugs:
                      terry:
                      .....but u! u did so much! so unfair leh, i feel!
                      Btw, what do YOU do everyday as a stay home mom? :evil:

Hi buds

:hugs:
                        Heyya SAHM_TAN... http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 107 / 357