Club SAHM
ya, cwc just being modest and humble. :)[/quote]I'm sure she really is... being modest.buds:
[quote=\"cwc\"]ha ha .... i only know a few dishes/recipes....but becos of the 'add some this, add some that, no precise amts' ..... my dishes has lotsa permutations and each time taste differently horrible :faint:
You cracked me up! :laugh:
This sounds hilarious! :rotflmao:
I'm sure you're exaggerating... can't be that bad bah.. :nailbite:
Given a chance to reali show her prowess by allowing her freedom to her
own kitchen, the inner Martha (Stewart) would be screaming to come out.
So cannot reali blame her. Her kitchen is taken hostage. It's a war zone out
there. -
.[quote]having helper is half the battle won... household chores
indeed, the helper is the most cham cos she is caught in between mil n fil, mil and me... she is the middle ground between mil n me too, so in the end, not much direct conflict betw me n mil. it's more like mil tell helper to tell me i shouldn't do this or that, then i'll tell helper but this way more hygienic or whatever, then helper convey msg back to mil n she'll kena scolded, mil doesn't scold me directly in that sense. poor helper...
furthermore at that time i was working full time, so the one who stays at home whole day with mil is the helper. [/quote]Sounds highly complicated but still... diplomatic relations somewhat aye? :lol:kabalevsky:
yup yup! sweeter as the years go by![/quote]http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php[quote]Nothing beats one's own place regardless how small or no matter how big.. Important thing is one's own. While having own place should have been priority once married, there were too many hurdles to cross to get to the part. But fast forward 10 years.. it's finally mine. Things have never been better. And so i learn... and so i improve myself... and in doing so, i'm much happier. While moving on means more than meets the eye... i'd take it one step at a time hoping 10 years more down the road will see sweeter fruits to the years of perseverance. :xedfingers:
cwc:
Babe arh.. that's how i started out too. :hugs: Especially when i have a mother who teaches cooking in chunks and without any concrete measurements. :frustrated: But as time goes by, it gets better. Guess wanting to be good at it badly enuff does help. Since i was feeding a house of 7.Errrhhh..... :oops: , it's real. For the same dish, I verified with my mom 3x, tried it 4x, still each time different.
DD & DS went like this \"Mommy....is this supposed to be what PoPo cooked that day? How come yours LOOK and TASTE so different?!?!\"
While Buds came out stronger, a good cook now....I came out 100% convinced, me no cook potential, cos' tastebuds is insensitive, most of the time can only comment \"taste good, I like\".....can't really taste the ingredients used. But too bad, DH can taste quite well, hence dun really eat much of what I cook & plus he likes different food from the kids and myself. :frustrated:
These days with helper, will leave it mostly to helper....just tell her, cook this cook that....cos' I can't teach too. So far, edible to me....but MIL and DH will be complaining.....
As long as you have a tongue.. can differentiate nice and not nice.. got hope.. got hope.. jia you.. dun give up!
My husband has been opposing to the idea of having a full time helper in our house for the longest time. Even when i was still working back then. He has his reasons and after listening to some of them, i do and can understand where he is coming from. As for the part of getting helper to cook, he seriously doubts any helper doing so. He reiterated his mantra.. Whenever the helper is not happy about something, since she cannot retaliate in kind ie. screaming.. nagging.. reporting.. etc.. the only way she can hit back is thru' your food. Nuff said.
Like sleepy, i've been toying with the idea of the ideal tai tai status.. so been thinking seriously again abt the having helper issue. He says the helper if not up to my standard then how? Then have to like take care of another child leh? He doesn't mind though if the helper is someone we know or have worked with a family that we're close to.. like a takeover. :xedfingers: -
mummy of 2:
Wow. :salute:
Yes I'm very lucky to have lots of help. Mil cooks and helper does housework. So that leaves me plenty of time to.......erm surf KSPbuds:
Lucky you. :celebrate:
Must be nice to be able to be a SAHM and yet retain the helper... to go about the mundane activities (chores), so you can plan stuff for yourself to do or spend all your time with the children.
Aaaahhh... bliss. :please:
You take the cake, girl. :udawoman:
You are very blessed. :love: -
sleepy:
OMG! :rotflmao:janet_lee88:
So relieved I'm not burdened by a maid. Those few years when I had one as daughter was a bb and son in P1...stressed out bcos of the maid. It's much easier now...on days when I am in the mood, I'll use the vacuum cleaner for the areas where irobot can't reach.
Once, I asked dh should I get a maid to relieve my load? I rather fancy the idea of being a 'tai tai'.
Dh asked me 2 questions 'Are you going to eat what the maid cook?'
'Are you going to let maid handle the kids eg. bathe or feed them?'
Now try picture me frowning away. Dh concluded 'So why get a maid?'
Our two hubbies can go fly kite togedder-gedder.. :rant:
Mebbe can consider this reasoning, sleepy... :idea:
a. Get a maid to relieve me of my load and give me some time for myself.
b. To recover some of the time spent caring for the family all these years.
c. Or just point blank... it's about time i became a tai-tai. -
terry:
can i say life will get better as time passes? i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..but isnt tis pre teen transition period mre time comsuming and need mre attention frm parents?
It really depends btwn households and the nature of the monitoring involved.
As for attention from parents.. the school hours will increase as they children
upgrade levels. More time spent in school. Quality bonding hours & attention
should ideally begin right when they're home. Give them yer love.. :love: -
won't be stoned lah... we'll just be very envious only. :laugh:terry:
buds is asking me what i do evday...i very shy to say leh :oops: ,sure kena stone here. Btw, im NOT a tai tai ok? i do my fair share of hsework even with maid. im juz very blessed in many ways. i will share next time.
:celebrate: Yes, kabalevsky... very envious. :celebrate:
But we can try to imagine the blissful life we can have by reading yours.
Think I must be sadistic. After cooking, I like to clean the stove. I like to see it shiny that can see my reflection :rotflmao: Before I have part-time helper to clean house once a wk, I would clean the windows and I love it when it's so clear. Now no time to do such things, bb refused to let go of me and me not enough sleep nursing her. I still insist on ironing my kids outing clothes. Seem like if I let the part-time helper do, I'm losing something, weird right? Their kindy uniform is partly iron by me and her (as they only have 2 sets)[/quote]Errr... heng arh.. thought i was the only sadistic one. :laugh:buds:
[quote=\"smurf\"]Wah, u guys so fortunate, no need to cook...
Ya. No need to do housework oso. Waah..
Most of you are very fortunate.
Either have own mom or mil or maid to help out.
http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php
I never had a helper of any kind not even part-time.
Dunno if that even helps.. or is worth the $. :scratchhead: -
ya, since they'll be in school. i intend to go back too, but hopefully can arrange part-time nicely such that when they're in school, i am too, then i can be back at the same time as them.cwc:
[quote=\"sleepy\"]Because kids of this age spend many hours in school. Besides regular school hours, most need to stay back in school for extra lessons or CCA. Some even have tutors to come in in the afternoon to do extra coaching. Little time left to bond with kids since they're so busy. Probably that's why some SAHMs return to work?
Agree.
Actually, I would also hope to work part-time by then.....at least, get some pocket money & some outside life.
i'm waiting for dd to reach 3yo, i'm planning to let her go nursery and then i'll return...
i can still be part of this club then, right? cos working part time, not FTWM? kekekeke[/quote]Of cos, can. Won't be that fun without you hanging around here.. that is if you still have time to come here after that. :evil: Aniwaes, with the extra time, you have on your hands.. can jolly well enjoy your herbal tea extra pearl even better. Or lagi best, have more helpings. Till it's time to go home and go back to reality. :lol: -
terry:
Actually, i think you are a tai-tai. But will wait for more juicy details. :rubhands:i oso cannot cook. i love to watch cooking shows, they make it look so damn easy! i love jamie oliver and nigella's kitchen. i have many cookbooks, always telling myself..one day..
smtimes, i really did make it to the supermarket to buy ingredients with a list. then will always fail to find a certain ingredient/herb or whatever, then will gv up, complain say singapore cannot make it, always no fresh ingredients like in Australia..so hw to be like jamie oliver!?
my mum used to cook frm stratch,eg assam fish. but nw she oso play cheat, will buy pre package sauces n stock. itz quite convenient actually..once a while i shop in NTUC and realise wah! so many food nw comes pre package..i can oso cook like chef! but i do worry abt the MSG content tho.
last time when ds was starting solids, i very hardworking will cook for him only. Follow recipe books like annabel karmel. but my sis always look at the food and say look so yucky,pity my ds must eat wat i cook.
aw, the gist is i CANNOT cook well enough for my hb to depend on me 3meals aday. i make my mum teach the maid hw to cook simple dish. so nw maid will cook for ds and me. when my hb ard we usually eat out to gv me a break frm maid's cooking.
buds is asking me what i do evday...i very shy to say leh :oops: ,sure kena stone here. Btw, im NOT a tai tai ok? i do my fair share of hsework even with maid. im juz very blessed in many ways. i will share next time.
But seriously tho, you are already blessed in many different ways from how i see it in this just one post.
Pssst.. by the way.. i cook mostly from scratch.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.