Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

mummy of 2:

Lucky you. :celebrate:

Must be nice to be able to be a SAHM and yet retain the helper... to go about the mundane activities (chores), so you can plan stuff for yourself to do or spend all your time with the children. πŸ˜„ Aaaahhh... bliss. :please:

Yes I'm very lucky to have lots of help. Mil cooks and helper does housework. So that leaves me plenty of time to.......erm surf KSP πŸ˜‰

Wow. :salute:

You take the cake, girl. :udawoman:

You are very blessed. :love:

sleepy:

So relieved I'm not burdened by a maid. Those few years when I had one as daughter was a bb and son in P1...stressed out bcos of the maid. It's much easier now...on days when I am in the mood, I'll use the vacuum cleaner for the areas where irobot can't reach.

Once, I asked dh should I get a maid to relieve my load? I rather fancy the idea of being a 'tai tai'.

Dh asked me 2 questions 'Are you going to eat what the maid cook?'
        'Are you going to let maid handle the kids eg. bathe or feed them?'
        Now try picture me frowning away. Dh concluded 'So why get a maid?'

OMG! :rotflmao:

Our two hubbies can go fly kite togedder-gedder.. :rant:

Mebbe can consider this reasoning, sleepy... :idea:
        a. Get a maid to relieve me of my load and give me some time for myself.
        b. To recover some of the time spent caring for the family all these years.
        c. Or just point blank... it's about time i became a tai-tai.

terry:
          can i say life will get better as time passes? i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..but isnt tis pre teen transition period mre time comsuming and need mre attention frm parents?

It really depends btwn households and the nature of the monitoring involved.
          As for attention from parents.. the school hours will increase as they children
          upgrade levels. More time spent in school. Quality bonding hours & attention
          should ideally begin right when they're home. Give them yer love.. :love:

terry:

buds is asking me what i do evday...i very shy to say leh :oops: ,sure kena stone here. Btw, im NOT a tai tai ok? i do my fair share of hsework even with maid. im juz very blessed in many ways. i will share next time.

won't be stoned lah... we'll just be very envious only. :laugh:

:celebrate: Yes, kabalevsky... very envious. :celebrate:

But we can try to imagine the blissful life we can have by reading yours. πŸ˜‰

[quote=\"smurf\"]Wah, u guys so fortunate, no need to cook...

Ya. No need to do housework oso. Waah..

Most of you are very fortunate.
              Either have own mom or mil or maid to help out.

Think I must be sadistic. After cooking, I like to clean the stove. I like to see it shiny that can see my reflection :rotflmao: Before I have part-time helper to clean house once a wk, I would clean the windows and I love it when it's so clear. Now no time to do such things, bb refused to let go of me and me not enough sleep nursing her. I still insist on ironing my kids outing clothes. Seem like if I let the part-time helper do, I'm losing something, weird right? Their kindy uniform is partly iron by me and her (as they only have 2 sets)[/quote]Errr... heng arh.. thought i was the only sadistic one. :laugh:

http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

I never had a helper of any kind not even part-time.
              Dunno if that even helps.. or is worth the $. :scratchhead:

cwc:

[quote=\"sleepy\"]Because kids of this age spend many hours in school. Besides regular school hours, most need to stay back in school for extra lessons or CCA. Some even have tutors to come in in the afternoon to do extra coaching. Little time left to bond with kids since they're so busy. Probably that's why some SAHMs return to work?

Agree.
                Actually, I would also hope to work part-time by then.....at least, get some pocket money & some outside life.

ya, since they'll be in school. i intend to go back too, but hopefully can arrange part-time nicely such that when they're in school, i am too, then i can be back at the same time as them.

i'm waiting for dd to reach 3yo, i'm planning to let her go nursery and then i'll return...

i can still be part of this club then, right? cos working part time, not FTWM? kekekeke[/quote]Of cos, can. Won't be that fun without you hanging around here.. that is if you still have time to come here after that. :evil: Aniwaes, with the extra time, you have on your hands.. can jolly well enjoy your herbal tea extra pearl even better. Or lagi best, have more helpings. Till it's time to go home and go back to reality. :lol:

terry:
                  i oso cannot cook. i love to watch cooking shows, they make it look so damn easy! i love jamie oliver and nigella's kitchen. i have many cookbooks, always telling myself..one day..

smtimes, i really did make it to the supermarket to buy ingredients with a list. then will always fail to find a certain ingredient/herb or whatever, then will gv up, complain say singapore cannot make it, always no fresh ingredients like in Australia..so hw to be like jamie oliver!?

my mum used to cook frm stratch,eg assam fish. but nw she oso play cheat, will buy pre package sauces n stock. itz quite convenient actually..once a while i shop in NTUC and realise wah! so many food nw comes pre package..i can oso cook like chef! but i do worry abt the MSG content tho.

last time when ds was starting solids, i very hardworking will cook for him only. Follow recipe books like annabel karmel. but my sis always look at the food and say look so yucky,pity my ds must eat wat i cook.

aw, the gist is i CANNOT cook well enough for my hb to depend on me 3meals aday. i make my mum teach the maid hw to cook simple dish. so nw maid will cook for ds and me. when my hb ard we usually eat out to gv me a break frm maid's cooking.

buds is asking me what i do evday...i very shy to say leh :oops: ,sure kena stone here. Btw, im NOT a tai tai ok? i do my fair share of hsework even with maid. im juz very blessed in many ways. i will share next time.
                  Actually, i think you are a tai-tai. But will wait for more juicy details. :rubhands:

But seriously tho, you are already blessed in many different ways from how i see it in this just one post.

Pssst.. by the way.. i cook mostly from scratch.

i get my boys to be in charge of smelling dd, if she needs a change of diaper, they will let me know. πŸ™‚

ok seriously, they can entertain her when I'm busy, so when they are at home, it is not too bad. the worst is like now, when i want to eat supper or do something on the comp and she doesn't want to sleep on her own, only want to sleep latched on, so i sit and surf with one hand while nursing lor
                    :hi5:

Only for buds_chubs we don't require special allocation of poo-smeller.
                    Anyone of us can smell him a mile away. Yes. THAT powderful! :imconstipated:

terry:

[quote=\"terry\"]

won't be stoned lah... we'll just be very envious only. :laugh:

im blessed cos for ds1 the CL stayed with me for a yr to take care of him. when he turned 1yo i handover to my mum while i go out to work.

so even tho im a mummy,i really have no experience taking care of bb or toddler. i dun noe the hardship of nite feedings except the days when nanny need to return to msia for a sort while. imlucky to skip the initial period of taking care of a very young bb.

nw expecting ds2 and the CL not free to help me. so nw really πŸ˜“[/quote]Wow... :scared:

You are really really really super blessed... very very very fortunate... plus i think you must also be quite rich leh. You have more resources to outsource quality resources. Other than mummy of 2, you're also another who takes the cake. :udawoman: With this sharing, i affirm your tai tai status is real. Wow. Really good life. I can sure maintain like crazy if i had your life. Ok, that's evil envy talking.. :politebleah: I squeeze time to maintain even with my already busy lifestyle.. 😞

What does a CL do actually? Never had one. Just recently with buds_chubs, after hubs helped me be confinement manny for 2 weeks... i already began my usual wife and mommy duties. Yes, including stove scrubbing. πŸ˜„ That one can't be helped. How to cook on dirty stove, tio bo?

[quote=\"terry\"]
                        im blessed cos for ds1 the CL stayed with me for a yr to take care of him. when he turned 1yo i handover to my mum while i go out to work.

so even tho im a mummy,i really have no experience taking care of bb or toddler. i dun noe the hardship of nite feedings except the days when nanny need to return to msia for a sort while. imlucky to skip the initial period of taking care of a very young bb.

nw expecting ds2 and the CL not free to help me. so nw really πŸ˜“

wow, your CL is a gem! such a good CL!

can understand, but don't worry. once thrown into it, you will get the hang of it. you can do it!

It's not that difficult. Bbies are like us but in smaller package and more or less dependent on us. There's no mystery. Just be careful of the neck and attend the pre-natal class[/quote]Yeh boi.. she is one helluva gem! I agree! :celebrate:

Btw, i never attended any pre-natal classes. All three.. never.
                        Learn what arh?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 114 / 357