Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

terry:
      i seriously dun noe if i can do it. im afraid i cannot wake up at nite or last the whole day with little rest. really no confidence..smtimes will ask myself y look for trouble. altho i have a maid, but still cant trust them with young bbs/child.

I have had acquaintances with VERY good helpers who really care for the newborns like their own and it's extremely heart warming.. but yes, if you already have trust issues even b4 preggie days.. then of cos cannot trust them alone with bb. :scared:
      terry:
      one step at a time. praying ev nite for strength and faith.
      Dun worry. http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

One step at a time.. :love:

Strength & faith is in your mind. Coupled with love in your heart, you'd be on your way before you know it. Since you already shared you want a 2nd chance with motherhood experiences... is half the hurdle crossed liao.

Take care and enjoy your pregnancy. :snuggles:

BeContented

Babe arh.. that's how i started out too. :hugs: Especially when i have a mother who teaches cooking in chunks and without any concrete measurements. :frustrated: But as time goes by, it gets better. Guess wanting to be good at it badly enuff does help. Since i was feeding a house of 7. πŸ˜“
        Hmmm....come to think, I did enjoy cooking for DH & 2 kids during maidless and PILess time, was trying out recipes and saw a little improvement. But with all the invasion, back to square one again.
        Also, DH dun want seafood, DD loves seafood, DS wants veg A,B,C, DD wants veg A and meat, MIL wants sambal, bringjal, bittergourd.....kids dun want etc etc all the permutations. :frustrated: [/quote]
        As long as you have a tongue.. can differentiate nice and not nice.. got hope.. got hope.. jia you.. dun give up! πŸ˜‰
        My husband has been opposing to the idea of having a full time helper in our house for the longest time. Even when i was still working back then. He has his reasons and after listening to some of them, i do and can understand where he is coming from. As for the part of getting helper to cook, he seriously doubts any helper doing so. He reiterated his mantra.. Whenever the helper is not happy about something, since she cannot retaliate in kind ie. screaming.. nagging.. reporting.. etc.. the only way she can hit back is thru' your food. Nuff said.
        Totally understand. For my first 3 maids, none of them had to cook, not even make a cup of coffee for us, we quite self-reliant type. Guess we din trust them enough. Also, similarly to yours, my MIL THINKS she is the BEST cook for her kids, so she must cook......little did she know that on many occassions, they eat it to SHUT her mouth. But slowly, MIL started complaining maid so relax, they must cook for maids......but DH like yours, dead against....I also support.....esp. when there's young kids, the hygiene level won't be there too.

But with the latest helper, with no kids to take care only elderly who is now quite immobile, there's lots of time on hand. In addition, with my BIG biz chauffeuring almost everyone, sometimes I'm in & out of house every 30 - 90 mins, hardly time to cook properly (plus I perspire a lot, need to bath before I leave house) Guess....gotta just trust the helper......but I do observe her food intake just to make sure she eats what she feeds us πŸ˜‰ [/quote]
        Like sleepy, i've been toying with the idea of the ideal tai tai status.. so been thinking seriously again abt the having helper issue. He says the helper if not up to my standard then how? Then have to like take care of another child leh? He doesn't mind though if the helper is someone we know or have worked with a family that we're close to.. like a takeover. :xedfingers:
        Frankly, it's almost 90% sure that won't be up to standard :roll:
        I'm not a fantastic home-maker, there's a lot I'm so so....but when you look at their work, 🀷 what to do. I always tell myself, this is not their home afterall, can't expect sooooo much. The latest helper, very heavy handed....already told DH, I'm prepared to change quite a fair bit of my furniture when she finally go.......and also, started switching to cheaper housebrand, taking over some of the tasks cos' I really dun like to nag the same thing over and over.....less time-consuming and easier if I just do it myself. But of course, will still leave her with some so that she dun purposely do a bad job knowing that I'll take over.

Kabby

Of cos, can. Won't be that fun without you hanging around here.. that is if you still have time to come here after that. :evil: Aniwaes, with the extra time, you have on your hands.. can jolly well enjoy your herbal tea extra pearl even better. Or lagi best, have more helpings. Till it's time to go home and go back to reality. :lol:
          ooh! you're tempting me! i;m going to be so addicted!!

puff

terry:
            i seriously dun noe if i can do it. im afraid i cannot wake up at nite or last the whole day with little rest. really no confidence..smtimes will ask myself y look for trouble. altho i have a maid, but still cant trust them with young bbs/child.

Actually I find bb easier to manage than sch-going kids.
            Bb just need to make sure they eat sleep poo and clean.
            Schooling kids got to take care all the above plus sch work.

I got no helper for both kids after confinement .. Bb will more or last adapt
            to your style. I still remember for my dd2 at abt 3-4 mths when she cry at nite for feeding I will try to ignore (actually hoping DH will do it but he's like a stone) until bb stop. After abt 2-3days she dun ask for nite feed liao.
            I used to pat bb to sleep but there was once I got :frustrated: n left her in the cot n she fall asleep on her own. From then I dun pat her anymore. :evil:

Of cos, can. Won't be that fun without you hanging around here.. that is if you still have time to come here after that. :evil: Aniwaes, with the extra time, you have on your hands.. can jolly well enjoy your herbal tea extra pearl even better. Or lagi best, have more helpings. Till it's time to go home and go back to reality. :lol:

ooh! you're tempting me! i;m going to be so addicted!!

That's what i do these days if i do go out with buds_chubs, when the girls are in school. You know where all those pearls go rite..? No, not pearls of wisdom unfortunately.. it's actually slowly building up the tyre of pearls. Spare tyre. The one around the waist. Now pinch it a little bit. Like pearly effect right?

SAHM_TAN

[quote=\"buds\"]
                Ya. No need to do housework oso. Waah..

Most of you are very fortunate.
                Either have own mom or mil or maid to help out.

Think I must be sadistic. After cooking, I like to clean the stove. I like to see it shiny that can see my reflection :rotflmao: Before I have part-time helper to clean house once a wk, I would clean the windows and I love it when it's so clear. Now no time to do such things, bb refused to let go of me and me not enough sleep nursing her. I still insist on ironing my kids outing clothes. Seem like if I let the part-time helper do, I'm losing something, weird right? Their kindy uniform is partly iron by me and her (as they only have 2 sets)

Errr... heng arh.. thought i was the only sadistic one. :laugh:

http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

I never had a helper of any kind not even part-time.
                Dunno if that even helps.. or is worth the $. :scratchhead:[/quote]The part-time helper is $12 per hour for 4 hrs per/week. Helps to clean the house, iron clothes, etc. Like mini spring cleaning. The good thing is, if don't like can terminate without fuss.

SAHM_TAN

[quote=\"kabalevsky\"]
                  wow, your CL is a gem! such a good CL!

can understand, but don't worry. once thrown into it, you will get the hang of it. you can do it!

It's not that difficult. Bbies are like us but in smaller package and more or less dependent on us. There's no mystery. Just be careful of the neck and attend the pre-natal class

Yeh boi.. she is one helluva gem! I agree! :celebrate:

Btw, i never attended any pre-natal classes. All three.. never.
                  Learn what arh?[/quote]You learn how to care for your health while preg, when to know bb is coming, massage techniques that DH can do on wife. How to bath bb, etc. My fav part was the lesson on massage :evil:

LOLMum

as a sahm, i prefer my kids to be in school. school holidays especially june and nov/dec, i will go :siao: .

cant cook well, still have to prepare breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks in between........cannot ta pao all the time so got to cook................. :faint:

SAHM_TAN

Wow buds,

after reading your posts, you superwoman

And a hell lot more clothing to wash i find, LOLMum! :rant: It's like the clothes cycle doesn't end! :frustrated:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 115 / 357