Club SAHM
Emm I’m only SAHM for 1 month plus and already thinking about returning to work. I don’t really do much at home except spend time with kids, bring them to and fro school and supervise DS to read and do work. It seems a bit of a waste to give up working. But must say I feel more sane now that there’s no need to wake up early do the morning commute, rush thru the never-ending work and come home to coach DS, knowing that he has watched way more TV than I like while I was at work. Guess can’t have it all.
you have to keep reinventing yourself to keep sane. As my kids are fairly manageable (5 and 7), am going maidless in a few months’ time. Currently i like looking at gadgets that help with housework, do yoga and ad hoc PV events to keep sane. What do you ladies get up to amid the endless stream of things to do around the house and with the kids?
I know exactly what you mean. :celebrate: Human nature for you, always dream of greener pastures when we kinda get sick of our pale green ones. When u realize the million things u gotta give up or sacrifice for just a wee taste of that greener ones, you'd go naaaahhh. :dowan: I used to bitch abt staying home a lot after the initial novelty wore off during earlier days after sacking my boss. But now, not so much. But I still do. Especially since I never planned to have third child. I was kinda angry when I first found out I was preggie cos I oredi mapped out plans to return to the work force full time. I even called and went for a few interviews. Continuing to study was also in the works, to the point where I also planned out logistics and alternative care arrangement for the kiddies. My girls are big already leh. Independent too! Gg back to do this baby thingy all over again did make me somewhat upset and fed-up as it meant I had to shelve the plans AGAIN! :rant:
Now looking at buds_chubs soooo cute, okay, I give chance a bit. Won't force to put him in infant care!
You should have seen the look on buds_hubs face when I suggested infant care! :rotflmao: He can't bear the thought of his precious baobei er zi to be cared by someone else. :rotflmao: That tease sure was fun! 
ya ya, for me 5 and 7 yr age gap i already felt had to start over. i know yours age gap bigger.
abt buds chubs, ya, i think you're the best caregiver for him!
nvm they grow up so quick, soon you can go for interviews again, maybe 3 more yrs? -
sleepy:
where do u live now? east or west?
I plan to move, when we finalise dd's secondary school which very likely will be at the other end of Singapore. She's only p3 now so we can afford to wait a little while, hopefully property prices will stablize by then.
Now my 2 kids share the same room & it's like their hoarding ground ! Ideally they can each have a room in our next house & I intend to assign them a duty roaster
where is it? wow, those type with shopping mall below? :love:
Right now, I threw away my bed. We buy mattresses and lay on floor and sleep, 5 of us in a room. It's like camping everydaykabalevsky:
hey buds,
ya, i love being SAHM, but i like being at work too.
there are pros and cons for each lifestyle, and when you're in one of them, i think sometimes will think of the greener grass a bit...
but the kids grow up so quickly. i know once they are grown, i can go back to work.
i'd love to be SAHM forever, but if we need to upgrade (dd and boys can't share a room when they are older), we need more moolah, and so i think i want to contribute towards the upgrade too.
right now our 4rm is warm and cosy, but i'm pretty sure in couple of yrs' time, we'd need more space.
When the kids are older, the 2 girls will sleep in one room, DS will sleep with FIL, and the living room will be the study room,
We tried to move but our home here is just too convenient. No place, that we can afford, can win here. -
bboomer71:
you have to keep reinventing yourself to keep sane. As my kids are fairly manageable (5 and 7), am going maidless in a few months' time. Currently i like looking at gadgets that help with housework, do yoga and ad hoc PV events to keep sane. What do you ladies get up to amid the endless stream of things to do around the house and with the kids?
most times no time to do anything else besides the chores, cooking, kids-care...
except come see KSP or FB for a while.
Hi Kabalevsky,
When my maid goes, i will be like you too.
But I try to limit time online. Feel like it is such a strain on my eyes… old liao lah! -
My frus is chiefly with a hyperactive kid (he has his plus points but it’s tiring to have a kid who needs countless reminders and seriously jokes (oxymoron!) all the time, even if eventually things get done, and he is making good progress). And with hubby i guess. Good as gold as he is, guys are not intuitive and it can be incredibly frustrating when you need emo sppt. Guess these are the usu woes right?? Feel like really need to chat with girlfrens. Maybe some gals are less sensitive. But ya, i need it!! haha. While I value quiet time very much, i can be quite extroverted and enjoy talking to pple. Type of person who tends to say hi first haha. Dont miss work, miss the social part of work… (let’s not get started abt money of coz!)
most times no time to do anything else besides the chores, cooking, kids-care...
except come see KSP or FB for a while.
Me too .... Find my circle of friends shrinking
mummy of 2:
That is already doing a lot! Staying at home in this day and age does not have to mean doing housework which prob would not justify the financial loss of women not working. I suspect the problem is that we may not value non economic contribution enough like raising kids with good behaviour.Emm I'm only SAHM for 1 month plus and already thinking about returning to work. I don't really do much at home except spend time with kids, bring them to and fro school and supervise DS to read and do work. It seems a bit of a waste to give up working. But must say I feel more sane now that there's no need to wake up early do the morning commute, rush thru the never-ending work and come home to coach DS, knowing that he has watched way more TV than I like while I was at work. Guess can't have it all.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.