Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

BeContented:

I fully agree, Pris. I can never over emphasize that it's the people.. the teachers who make the school.. and in so will determine if they can make the school good or not so good.

Likewise for us. We have the teachers' mobile numbers and we text one another when not sure if other party is convenient to reply and we do call directly if it's lunch time or after office hours. Other times, I just sms or leave msg with admin for them to call me back just like other parents.

Hmmm.......my kid's teacher borrowed a whole stack of Maths Magazine from me 2 months ago......I have asked for it back twice via SMS but been has not received any response so far. But my other SMSes got response worr..... I dun want to confront cos' wait my kid kena.....HOW???? But I want my magazines back 😒

what maths magazine you have ah? :rubhands:

Pris.011283tang

BeContented:

I fully agree, Pris. I can never over emphasize that it's the people.. the teachers who make the school.. and in so will determine if they can make the school good or not so good.

Likewise for us. We have the teachers' mobile numbers and we text one another when not sure if other party is convenient to reply and we do call directly if it's lunch time or after office hours. Other times, I just sms or leave msg with admin for them to call me back just like other parents.

Hmmm.......my kid's teacher borrowed a whole stack of Maths Magazine from me 2 months ago......I have asked for it back twice via SMS but been has not received any response so far. But my other SMSes got response worr..... I dun want to confront cos' wait my kid kena.....HOW???? But I want my magazines back 😒

u can drop hints subtlety. I also wonder what maths magazine is that ar?? My kids school providing venture in Maths magazine that one quite good lei.

Anyway since my kiddos schools using my pals are here for maths i even bought the maths extra pratice for my DS he says it helps him alot.

Pris.011283tang

Staff turnover cannot be helped but sigh... it really affects the children's development.

My DD told me last yr she really cannot understand what shes learning reason being all 9 teachers got different teaching style and sometimes when 1 tell hers like this can the next one comes and says like this do is wrong it causes CONFUSION to the child.

End up i and dh becomes the teachers i coach english he coach maths using their tetbook. Then DS becomes the chinese teacher.:rotflmao:

DH is a optimist he can still laugh and say lucky only DD teachers like that and at least we 3 can help her if both kids like this we can :stupid: :stupid: .

sleepy

sleepy:

I never scold my dd over grades. She's a perfectionist & can be overly sensitive so I refrain from making any comments. My dh always said I 怕ε₯³ε„Ώ πŸ˜“ Not 怕 la, I just don't want her to be upset if she's not satisfied with her grades.

perfectionist has pros and cons ah.
            last year my boy 'perfectionist', shedding tears over marks <90.
            this year he bochap~! he realised that it is not the end of the world so long he hits his personal target. simple math test also cannot get full marks (careless mistakes!!!) :stupid:

A recent test she was expecting certain marks (her own expectation) but she made some careless mistakes. Although she never cried over her marks but a simple remark from me such as 'are you satisfied with your grades?' will surely trigger tantrum because she already δΈηˆ½γ€‚ So I have to be very tactful around her, cannot 'hiam' or even being perceived as 'hiam' her grades. Otherwise I will kanna all the outburst.

If I bother to be tactful or willing to ηœ‹θ„Έθ‰² when I was working, I think I would have climb corporate ladder many times faster. Who knows my dd is the one who gave me plenty of training at home :slapshead:

BeContented:

Easy peasy.. BeContented, tell her I'm waiting to borrow. After my confinement, I go Jurong Point have lunch n take from you. πŸ˜‰

Deal?

Pris.011283tang

sleepy:

[quote=\"sleepy\"]
                I never scold my dd over grades. She's a perfectionist & can be overly sensitive so I refrain from making any comments. My dh always said I 怕ε₯³ε„Ώ πŸ˜“ Not 怕 la, I just don't want her to be upset if she's not satisfied with her grades.

perfectionist has pros and cons ah.
                last year my boy 'perfectionist', shedding tears over marks <90.
                this year he bochap~! he realised that it is not the end of the world so long he hits his personal target. simple math test also cannot get full marks (careless mistakes!!!) :stupid:

A recent test she was expecting certain marks (her own expectation) but she made some careless mistakes. Although she never cried over her marks but a simple remark from me such as 'are you satisfied with your grades?' will surely trigger tantrum because she already δΈηˆ½γ€‚ So I have to be very tactful around her, cannot 'hiam' or even being perceived as 'hiam' her grades. Otherwise I will kanna all the outburst.

If I bother to be tactful or willing to ηœ‹θ„Έθ‰² when I was working, I think I would have climb corporate ladder many times faster. Who knows my dd is the one who gave me plenty of training at home :slapshead:[/quote]Wah sleepy your dd like this u got to sit her down and talk to her tell her in life got ups and downs tell her dot be so easily discouraged and this time maybe did not meet her expectations next time she can try harder BUT u must emphasize to her you are already proud of her achievement ask her dont be so hard on herself.

sleepy

Pris.tang:

Wah sleepy your dd like this u got to sit her down and talk to her tell her in life got ups and downs tell her dot be so easily discouraged and this time maybe did not meet her expectations next time she can try harder BUT u must emphasize to her you are already proud of her achievement ask her dont be so hard on herself.
                  She's not discouraged at all, more like she's hard on me rather than herself le. I think she values my opinion very much so if she perceived that I 'hiam' her for not meeting her own expectation, she will get mad at me instead. Very complicated la.... I'm not even sure if it makes sense to you, haha!

Luckily I don't have this issue with dd2. I set target for her since she has no target. She meets target, I told her well done. Doesn't meet target, both of us shrug it off as good try. No sweat, no tantrum, no tears.

Pris.011283tang

sleepy:
                    Pris.tang:

Wah sleepy your dd like this u got to sit her down and talk to her tell her in life got ups and downs tell her dot be so easily discouraged and this time maybe did not meet her expectations next time she can try harder BUT u must emphasize to her you are already proud of her achievement ask her dont be so hard on herself.

She's not discouraged at all, more like she's hard on me rather than herself le. I think she values my opinion very much so if she perceived that I 'hiam' her for not meeting her own expectation, she will get mad at me instead. Very complicated la.... I'm not even sure if it makes sense to you, haha!

Luckily I don't have this issue with dd2. I set target for her since she has no target. She meets target, I told her well done. Doesn't meet target, both of us shrug it off as good try. No sweat, no tantrum, no tears.

I get what u mean haha my DS also like this and i always ask him now u angry for what at me or at yourself his reply is myself but also abit at u because u not happy.

i told him i not happy cause u yourself is not happy how am i going to be happy i told u before as long as the effort is there the results is like this we just work harder next time then end of the episode till the next one comes lol best is ignore when tantrums comes.

My DD de youngest and the most stress free because she now like i say is already in holiday mood and she dont like her teacher so what can i do coach at home skip sa1 pray hard for sa2 if not transfer international school my :moneyflies: but shes happy dh happy an already.

BeContented

BeContented:

[quote=\"buds\"]I fully agree, Pris. I can never over emphasize that it's the people.. the teachers who make the school.. and in so will determine if they can make the school good or not so good.

Easy peasy.. BeContented, tell her I'm waiting to borrow. After my confinement, I go Jurong Point have lunch n take from you. πŸ˜‰

Deal?[/quote]Hello Buds & Jedamum,
                      I think the teacher read this post...... :nailbite: :scared: My child came home with the magazine just now...... :rahrah:

Aiyah, it's the same magazine many of you have lah...Maths Venture.....
                      However, there is another one called \"Maths Oasis\"....but in my view, too wordy and chiem....dun bother if your kids is not into Maths. I stopped subscribing after 1 year....cos' even DS (the one more interested in Maths) kinda stop reading it.

Pris.011283tang

yea my kiddos school using that and hor i myself using that to learn how to teach them keke.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 242 / 357