Club SAHM
No lah, depends on how the couple handles their expenses. Previously, DH & me maintain our own expenses account, just contribute to joint for whatever family expenses. Now, he just transfer to joint whenever it's low, and i just withdraw whenever required. But of course, we trust each other not to go overboard and only spend on necessary and those agreed upon. But frankly, it's partly cos' I cannot tally my $. While i cannot work within budget, I also won't overspend too much...... :oops:Angelight:
Hi mummies, any of your hubbies give you a monthly allowance to manage the household? Or some lucky ones ;), his whole pay and you hold the purse string?

My DH gives me a monthly allowance to pay bills, kids' school fees and stuff. For myself, I hardly buy anything for myself because once I have kids, I seem to be only shopping for them.
I thought, it's the norm that DH will give allowance once become a SAHM?
But hor, lately he has been asking....is our savings growing? what is our monthly expenses like? I'm like :nailbite: not sure leh.....
But one thing for sure.....I cannot be in ACCOUNTING. -
Angelight:
Hi mummies, any of your hubbies give you a monthly allowance to manage the household? Or some lucky ones ;), his whole pay and you hold the purse string?

whole pay :evil: -
Angelight and SAHM_TAN - Thanks for welcoming me to the club.
Buds - Been a long time since we \"chatted\"
you can take a look at my introduction to find what happened this past year. If you want to know more PM me okie?
Preparing DS for P1 next year is one of the reasons
Btw dd just started learning ballet
Angelight:

Mine gives me a personal allowance (which he gave me even when I was working
) and pays for all household expenses. I give my mother an allowance from my personal allowance and DH also pays for my insurance.
cwc:
Now, he just transfer to joint whenever it's low, and i just withdraw whenever required. But of course, we trust each other not to go overboard and only spend on necessary and those agreed upon. But frankly, it's partly cos' I cannot tally my $. While i cannot work within budget, I also won't overspend too much...... :oops:SAHM_TAN:
[quote=\"Angelight\"]Hi mummies, any of your hubbies give you a monthly allowance to manage the household? Or some lucky ones ;), his whole pay and you hold the purse string?

For myself, I hardly buy anything for myself because once I have kids, I seem to be only shopping for them.
But hor, lately he has been asking....is our savings growing? what is our monthly expenses like? I'm like :nailbite: not sure leh.....
But one thing for sure.....I cannot be in ACCOUNTING.[/quote]I cannot handle money...he makes payment and handle accounts of family expenses. Hardly buy anything for myself now. Have headache when I face numbers :frustrated: Expenses mostly on the kids, home, education (Popular Bookshop) and tuition. -
cwc:
No lah, depends on how the couple handles their expenses. Previously, DH & me maintain our own expenses account, just contribute to joint for whatever family expenses. Now, he just transfer to joint whenever it's low, and i just withdraw whenever required. But of course, we trust each other not to go overboard and only spend on necessary and those agreed upon. But frankly, it's partly cos' I cannot tally my $. While i cannot work within budget, I also won't overspend too much...... :oops:SAHM_TAN:
[quote=\"Angelight\"]Hi mummies, any of your hubbies give you a monthly allowance to manage the household? Or some lucky ones ;), his whole pay and you hold the purse string?

My DH gives me a monthly allowance to pay bills, kids' school fees and stuff. For myself, I hardly buy anything for myself because once I have kids, I seem to be only shopping for them.
I thought, it's the norm that DH will give allowance once become a SAHM?
But one thing for sure.....I cannot be in ACCOUNTING.[/quote] :rotflmao: your DH conducting audit? Then you must use your womanly wiles to direct his attention elsewhere :evil:
sleepy:
Woman, you power!!!Angelight:

whole pay :evil: -
mummy of 2:
So nice of him, gave you allowance even when you were workingAngelight:

Mine gives me a personal allowance (which he gave me even when I was working
) and pays for all household expenses. I give my mother an allowance from my personal allowance and DH also pays for my insurance.
sleepy:
So he splurges on golf got to ask your permission first? :evil:Angelight:

whole pay :evil:
When DH's golf not going well, then he will think of changing clubs. Alamak really expensive. -
Woman, you power!!!
Actually, I see myself as the secretary who issues cheques to settle all household bills. Any balance I hold in trust and stash somewhere, dh doesn't bother about financial.linden2000:
He charges green fees to credit cards. No need my permission la. He's the principal card holder, I only have suppl cards le. He would inform me before he booked to make sure I don't need car on those days he's playing golf.So he splurges on golf got to ask your permission first? :evil:
When DH's golf not going well, then he will think of changing clubs. Alamak really expensive.
Change clubs - that he will ask for permission because considered big ticket. My default answer is always NO. But he would eye that set of clubs longingly, keep going to golf shops to check out, like I deprived him, so after a few such trips I always εΏθ½― & gave in.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.