PCF/PAP Kindergartens

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    888 Posts 230 Posters 503.1k Views 1 Watching
      kai

Hi Tamarind,

My ger is currently in N2 in oso PCF Pioneer, I read from your past postings that you supplement your girl with enrichment class on Phonics, able to share with me where you place her?

Appreciate your input πŸ˜„

tamarind

buds,

I remember that I only learnt A,B,C when I was in kindergarten. That is why I am constantly surprised at the things they are teaching children in kindergarten now.

My hubby was having a conversation with my girl a few days ago. My hubby was telling her that in Mars, there is no oxygen, so astronauts must carry oxygen tanks when they travel there. My girl's answer : \"Grow some trees on Mars lah.\" She has been taught in her kindergarten that trees absorb carbon dioxide and produce oxygen.

I think that by the time I have grandchildren, they may be learning algebra in K2.

I wonder whether it is really because primary school standard is high ? It could be that private kindergartens are teaching the kids so much more, so teachers at primary school have to raise the P1 standard.

My kids' PCF kindergarten teach the kids to read books since N2. Every child is given one to one coaching. They read one book a month. There is detailed and regular feedback to tell the parents how the child is progressing. They even have a word list and they record down which words the child can recognize. Parents are given a word list for every book, and they are asked to help the child to practice at home. This is the same for both the \"normal\" and \"premium\" PCF kindergartens near my place (opposite Jurong Point) My boy has been singing phonics letter songs at home, and when I asked him who taught him, he said his PCF teacher was teaching him. So they do teach phonics in school.

Every PCF kindergarten is different, so parents really have to choose carefully.

kai,
        I sent my girl to the Montessori phonics enrichment class near Lakeside MRT station when she was 3 years 8 months old.

http://www.modern-montessori.com/presch_centres_jw.htm

They accept children from 3 years 6 months old to 6 years old. It is an express course, where they teach the complete phonics course in about 11 months. The child should already know all the letter sounds very well before starting this class. This is because they take only 4 weeks to teach all the 26 letter sounds, then another 4 to 8 weeks to teach all the 3 letter words, then on to more complex words. I have heard some mommies complaining that their kids cannot follow up with the class, because they don't know the letter sounds very well. Note that it is not a \"fun\" class. The kids are expected to sit around a table and do worksheets for one whole hour.

For a more \"fun\" class, which goes at a slower pace, you can also try Zoophonics, it is near the market at ST 52.

My girl was at the N2 class at Pioneer PCF (Blk 665), and she was taught all the phonics letter sounds throughout the whole year. But then her kiasu mommy wanted her to know more, so I sent her to the Montessori phonics class πŸ˜‰ I learnt phonics from the Montessori teachers, then I teach my younger boy at home and save the money πŸ˜‰

Ya, me too Tam!

I remember my kindergarten years to be lotsa play.
          And repetition of ABC's writing and singing.
          I'm only introduced to official writing - compo, journal, etc
          at Primary One age. This means during our time, kindergarten
          was really supposed to play and learn thru play.

So the more kiasu parents are, the more gahmen will
          push the curriculum forward. It is already challenging
          as it is now compared to our time.

Hehee.. I remember having to read the reader series
          from Mr Wollie and Mr Yakki! πŸ˜‰

tamarind

buds,

I think I am much older than you :oops: When I entered P1, many of my classmates did not attend kindergarten. The P1 teachers have to start teaching from A,B,C, etc. That is why I am so shocked at today's standards.

By the way, I just learn about the STELLAR program in other threads. I just realized that both my kids' PCF kindergarten are using the STELLAR program from K1 ! Very similar to what they are doing at ACS :

http://www.acsjunior.sg/docs/Files/STELLAR%20Program%20Supplementary%20Handout.pdf

Doesn't matter the age..

Young at heart can liao.
              Hehee! πŸ˜‰

Thanks for the link!
              I kinda like it (STELLAR)
              oredi, its like ala speech
              and drama programme..
              Interesting ways to intro
              language to children. I
              have some of the props
              they feature in the link,
              used for my speech and
              drama lessons.

Looking forward to having
              the programme at my girl's
              school!

tamarind

buds,

I like the programme too, and I am looking forward to it.

I still remember having to memorize entire lists of present tense/past tense/present perfect tense etc of words from the very thick grammar text book. I am happy that they don’t use it any more.

• mum2twoM Offline
                  mum2two

what does yr child learn when in nursery? i suppose there are homeworks too? its a dream come true to have a pcf like that… plus the weekly reports to know what your child is doing in school…

kai

Tamarind,

Thanks so much for your reply πŸ˜‰ appreciate it!

Hmmm.. my girl is now 3yrs 5 mos so I think its about time too.. I found out some information on Zoophonics and was contemplating if should send her there or not too, maybe I should find out more on the Montessori phonics enrichment class near Lakeside MRT station first den do a lil comparison myself πŸ˜„

BTW u heard of Edufarm at 653A? They oso provide Phonics class and was wondering how good they are too.. hmmmm :roll:

kai

Tamarind,

Is the Phonics class the every sat one which ur girl used to attend?

tamarind

kai:
                        Tamarind,

Is the Phonics class the every sat one which ur girl used to attend?
                        kai,
                        Yes I used to send her there every Sat afternoon.

I have not heard of Edufarm.

Have you tried teaching your girl phonics yourself ? You can try the following free websites :

http://www.starfall.com

or use the Leapfrog DVDs.

Remember to also start a reading scheme with your girl, phonics alone is not sufficient πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 89

uu88betworldU
                        uu88betworld