Raider of the Fruit Basket

40 Posts 12 Posters 5.4k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

With squirrels, it was kinda funny, they actually come into my house to hide their stash of seeds. DD and DS have found palm seeds under their pillows. I've found some in my file holder in the study as well. Dunno how to solve this problem aside from closing all windows.
      This is cute.

Chenonceau

Sun_2010:
        Pen88n:

Have u tried putting a bowl of nuts / small fruits like grapes nearer the window area for the squirrel to help itself so it will not need to enter the house???

Not sure if this is a great idea - :?
        What if the squirrel thinks it is a food trail ... :evil:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!! :faint:

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

Oh yes!!! I've had squirrels, bats, rats, birds and cats inviting themselves into my home. There were toads, snakes (see this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19097&start=130) and a huge lizard (DH says it is a si kar zua, whatever that is) that made a cosy home in my garden. Monkeys come and feast on my edible plants as well.

With squirrels, it was kinda funny, they actually come into my house to hide their stash of seeds. DD and DS have found palm seeds under their pillows. I've found some in my file holder in the study as well. Dunno how to solve this problem aside from closing all windows.

I have made it a point to clear all foodstuff from counter tops and tables. Fruits go into a covered basket and away from any windows or doors. No more fruit plants except for lime and chilli. Those the monkeys don't touch.

I love living so close to nature but what to do, we encroach onto their space so they invite themselves into ours.
          OMG.... I will freak out if something like that comes to our place. Seeing the picture from the link, i felt :yikes: :?: :imdrowning: :nailbite:

We do have toads coming into our pond to lay eggs. It was seriously not fun. But nothing more than those usual small insects. But to have a snake..... no no no... Fortunately, we are not that close to nature. It is not for the weak hearted.

• tankeeT Offline
            tankee

Oh yes!!! I've had squirrels, bats, rats, birds and cats inviting themselves into my home. There were toads, snakes (see this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19097&start=130) and a huge lizard (DH says it is a si kar zua, whatever that is) that made a cosy home in my garden. Monkeys come and feast on my edible plants as well.

I have made it a point to clear all foodstuff from counter tops and tables. Fruits go into a covered basket and away from any windows or doors. No more fruit plants except for lime and chilli. Those the monkeys don't touch.

I love living so close to nature but what to do, we encroach onto their space so they invite themselves into ours.
            kawaii !!!!

this is really living with nature !

MummySTay

I like this thread! :love:

Very entertaining!

Sorry, can't help much, though.
              My worst encounters are...snails.
              And they aren't that bad...
              Can easily get rid of them. šŸ˜‰

• tankeeT Offline
                tankee

OMG.... I will freak out if something like that comes to our place. Seeing the picture from the link, i felt :yikes: :?: :imdrowning: :nailbite:

We do have toads coming into our pond to lay eggs. It was seriously not fun. But nothing more than those usual small insects. But to have a snake..... no no no... Fortunately, we are not that close to nature. It is not for the weak hearted.
                My previous place was next to some woods. Once we saw a small snake about 40 cm long, crawling on the exterior wall opposite of our kitchen window. And we were 7th floor up. :yikes:

I caught it with an improvised snake stick and released it into the woods.

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

My previous place was next to some woods. Once we saw a small snake about 40 cm long, crawling on the exterior wall opposite of our kitchen window. And we were 7th floor up. :yikes:

I caught it with an improvised snake stick and released it into the woods.
                  :yikes: that is just so intolerable for me. I cannot tahan the sight of snake at all. I hope that I never encounter one.... though recently we saw a 1m long black snake at bedok reservoir when we went for a walk. It really freaked me out. DH said I was like \"running for my life\" after that. Just so worried if there are more lurking around or it would chase after us. In any case, I will not be going there any more.

Did you read the news of man who found a snake in his toilet bowl and he is in a HDB flat dunno which floor (definitely not low). Every night, if i uses the toilet, i would check out the bowl first.

The lighting contractor told us that there was once during lights installation at one landed house, a snake slithered in. They were so scared. But guess what.... the house no. striked 4D after that :scratchhead:

jtoh

Ok... covered basket. Why didn't I think of that?!

I pray there are no monkeys. I am terrified of monkeys. I thought having a dog would help. My useless dog was snoring away a few metres from the fruit carnage.
                    :rotflmao: Let this sleeping dog lie.

jtoh

Sun_2010:
                      Pen88n:

Have u tried putting a bowl of nuts / small fruits like grapes nearer the window area for the squirrel to help itself so it will not need to enter the house???

Not sure if this is a great idea - :?
                      What if the squirrel thinks it is a food trail ... :evil:

That's what I was thinking.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Ever seen moths as big as 2 adult hands? Or spiders the size of an adult's hand? And flying insects so big you would think you have suddenly ended up in jurassic park? I don't mind all these and I think snakes are beautiful. Just don't give me cockcroaches and rats. Both of which I do have as well.

Toad on my garden chair
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/59677e29.jpg\">

Butterfly that we reared when we found caterpillars on my lime plant
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/a70a5f31.jpg\">
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/77b2eb14.jpg\">

RATS!!!
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/P1020769.jpg\">

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 4